Is Adelaide a backwater?

Yes
72%
 72%  [ 13 ]
No
16%
 16%  [ 3 ]
Don't care
11%
 11%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 18

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:54 pm

eddiesmith wrote:
sherrife wrote:
One word: Incest.

Hang on wouldnt that be the other way around, legal in SA Razz

sherrife wrote:
RE Pokies machines, they have actually been winding back the number of machines in the state, not relying on them for revenue.

This is a good thing? Shocked Obviously the minority whingers get their way in SA

how can pokies be a good thing? probably deserves its own thread.

i live in a pokie free town and it's refreshing.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:14 pm

Very pleasant place, yes.

Backwater, yes

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:35 pm
Post subject: Re: Is Adelaide a backwater?Reply with quote

Jock McPie wrote:
had to laugh at john brumby's comments re adelaide being a backwater. i have been there once on a work trip.

stayed at the ramada in glenelg, dropped in to the casino, drank at a belgian bar in the city and went for a meal at the penfolds estate. avoided everything else.

Well it's better than What some people say when there are Inbreads in South Australia

fan4collingwood Aries

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:57 am

GO RUPERT 10 wrote:
how come there are 1 carraige trains over in adelaide?

Cause thre is enough room for the passangers on some lines. But hey, peak hour and we have 3, yes 3 carriages!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:03 am

GO RUPERT 10 wrote:
how come there are 1 carraige trains over in adelaide?

From what I hear there are no carriage trains in Vic!
Zakal 

One Game, One Club, One Jumper

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:57 am

sherrife wrote:
Not at all. They have far more enlightened policies on a number of issues.

RE Indigenous Australians, they require the teaching of Indigenous culture in all schools, and are trying to revive and strengthen a number of Indigenous languages on the brink of extinction (eg. Kaurna Plains School)

RE School curricula more generally, they're a good 5 years ahead of Victoria or any other state in terms of breadth, content, and teacher support.

RE Pokies machines, they have actually been winding back the number of machines in the state, not relying on them for revenue.

I'm sure there's other examples, but I don't really care enough to research it. All I know is that on almost every issue governments attend to, they are innovators, and are ahead of the the rest of the country.

Yes....that means its not a backwater.... Shocked

In fact, it really makes me want to visit adelaide, i can see the blank spaces where the pokies used to be, and when im done soak up some quality school curricula.

...you reckon while im there i can arrange a day-tour out to that bank vault where they put all the chopped up bodies in acid so they can claim their social security payments?

my grandfinal sojourn to melbourne be damned...im going to Adelaide!

hehe, sorry omar. Wink
sherrife Scorpio

Victorian Socialists - people before profit

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:13 am

Haha, I guess I misunderstood what backwater meant! Razz

Hilarious post anyway

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:10 am

sherrife wrote:
One word: Incest.

you're evil Laughing

frankiboy wrote:

and, last but not least, SA is the only state where my relationship would be illegal Embarassed and yes, it is concerning that it's illegal anywhere Sad

I'm curious David, why would it be illegal?

It comes down to age of consent laws - although every state and territory has a slightly different interpretation, the general age of consent is 16, with a two year difference for anybody younger. (so it's ok for a 13 year old to have sex with a 15 year old I guess)

South Australia raises the general age to 17, and keeps the two year gap - which means that a 16 year old and a 19 year old (which happen to be the ages in question) couldn't be together.

It really makes you wonder why they don't just have a universal age of consent standard throughout the whole country.

Alec. J. Hidell 

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:13 am

Because we are a Federation of States
sherrife Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:01 pm

Because we like the idea of Dave and Tildy, fugitives from the law.
Zakal 

One Game, One Club, One Jumper

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:03 pm

sherrife wrote:

hahah. nice work.
sherrife Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:04 pm

Zakal wrote:
sherrife wrote:

hahah. nice work.

Wow, now I KNOW that I'm a member of the working class!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:03 pm

Give politics the flick Omar and take up comedy, working nicely mate! Smile

Thanks for clearing that up David, I didn't know what to think. You old dog, you Wink

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:07 pm

I don't have politics the flick Omar and take up comedy working nicely mate to give.
bwphantom Virgo

It's Better to Burn Out Than to Fade Away

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:26 am

Lived in modbury and Christies beach. Hey I even sojourned for some time in Whyalla. Backwater?? No.

Adelaide or SA is the type of place to go when you want to chill out but still enjoy some city comforts.

Jock McHale