WINTV

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:03 pm
Post subject: WINTVReply with quote

has any one from regional Australia noticed that WINTV is off the air,or is it just NSW.
We have been without WINTV since 7:00pm last Friday night and no-one can give us any answers.WINTV have got all their phones off the air as well and all their emails are coming back.
Just interested to see if any other states are off the air at all.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:05 pm

maybe they went broke

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:17 pm

Yeah,Eddie couldnt/wouldnt renew their license
zoia Virgo

didak's number 1 fan

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:23 pm

whats ur point mate, who cares

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:41 pm

PeterWH wrote:
Yeah,Eddie couldnt/wouldnt renew their license

I don't believe Eddie has anything to do with Win. He's the CEO of Channel 9 but there's no mention that PBL owns WIN.

Here's who owns it:

The WIN Corporation, a privately owned Australian company led by Chairman Andrew Gordon and Chief Executive Officer George Papadopoulos is headquartered in Wollongong.

The WIN Corporation has grown significantly by expanding its media asset base and seizing other opportunities in areas offering synergies with the core business.

So, Eddie should be off the hook now.

Here's their contact details: (yes, i know you said you contacted them, but maybe these are different ones)

http://www.wintv.com.au/contacts.php

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:26 pm

WIN is part on the nine network...only joking about Eddie,BUT PBL owns the Nine network which includes WIN...Oh ys we know how to get in touch with them BUT they havent answered their phones since Friday evening and there emails come back....Any way that have gone,they are the RURAL arm of Ch9
Magpies 1983...YOU may not care but there us some of us who do especially when we only have ch 2,7,10 & SBS.Thats the sort of answer we would expect from you any way

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:45 pm

PeterWH wrote:
WIN is part on the nine network...only joking about Eddie,BUT PBL owns the Nine network which includes WIN...Oh ys we know how to get in touch with them BUT they havent answered their phones since Friday evening and there emails come back....Any way that have gone,they are the RURAL arm of Ch9
Magpies 1983...YOU may not care but there us some of us who do especially when we only have ch 2,7,10 & SBS.Thats the sort of answer we would expect from you any way

They are NOT owned by PBL. PBL owns Channel 9, but it does not own WIN TV. And WIN TV is NOT part of the Channel 9 stable. It's privately owned as I posted.

Eddie is the CEO of the Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane Channel 9's.

The Nine Network has long been Australia's top-rating commercial television network. Its backbone is three television stations in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane that are owned and operated by PBL, along with agreements with operators in other regions.

It has 'agreements', not ownership.

http://www.pbl.com.au/businesses/default.aspx

Try contacting them during business hours.

Plenty O'Toole 

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:52 pm

Jimmy P pulled the plug.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:54 pm

PP I have no intentions of getting into a political arguement,BUT WIN is aprt of the Nine network.They may be a privately owned outfit BUT they are the RURAL arm of Ch 9.It is the same as PRIME is the RURAL arm of the Ch7 network,BUT Prime are privately owned as well.
These companies that you mention have nothig to do with the discussion.....Prime is the rural arm of Ch7 & WIN is the rural arm of Ch9....WIN is off the air,Prime isnt off the air,and there are alot of us out here in RURAL NSWwanting top know why WIN is off the air.

There is nothing political about it.....this is a pure and simple question.......

We shall wait til tomorrow and get some reasonable answers...I just thought that RURAL members of this site may have had some ideas,as I knowe that the metro people would have this problem

member34258 

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:35 pm

Peter, PP is correct. WIN is privately owned and therefore any broadcasting problems are not 9's concern.
WIN pay 9 for content only, the real losers here are the viewers and the advertisers who are not geting the adverts they paid for shown to your good self.

P.S. I noticed WIN off the air in my area this arvo, but it wasn't for long and I was watching the footy on 10 anyway!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 6:51 am

WIN is working fine in Ballarat, Victoria as is all the other regional stations. I think you might find this is an isolated thing as my folks are having no problems whatsoever.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:38 am

I put the wrong contact URL up before, but here are the list of contact details for WIN NSW

WIN Television – Regional Information

New South Wales
NSW OFFICES

STREET : Television Avenue
POSTAL : Locked Bag 8800, Wollongong NSW 2500
SUBURB : MT ST THOMAS NSW 2500
TELEPHONE : 02 4223 4199
FAX : 02 4227 3682

STREET :
SUBURB : Bathurst NSW
TELEPHONE : 02 6331 5867

STREET : 84 Wentworth Avenue / PO Box 4617
SUBURB : Kingston NSW 2604
TELEPHONE : 02 6234 5699
FAX : 02 6239 6644

STREET : 1st Floor, 64 Talbragar Street
SUBURB : Dubbo NSW 2830
TELEPHONE : 02 6841 9999
FAX : 02 6884 2116

STREET : 124 – 126 Endsleigh Avenue
SUBURB : Orange NSW 2800
TELEPHONE : 02 6361 4599
FAX : 02 6362 4676

STREET : 30 Hammond Avenue
SUBURB : Wagga NSW 2650
TELEPHONE : 02 6937 1199
FAX : 02 6921 2235

STREET : 161 Remembrance Driveway
POSTAL : PO Box 493
SUBURB : Griffith NSW 2680
TELEPHONE : 02 6962 4500
FAX : 02 6962 6921

STREET : 508 Swift Street
SUBURB : Albury NSW 2640
TELEPHONE : 02 6041 3233
FAX : 02 6041 3321

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:39 am

Huh. . . . Thats interesting

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:53 am

WIN has been working fine in Canberra all weekend. Just spoke to my sister and they haven't had a problem.

WIN TV is just like Channel 8 in Darwin - they are an AFFILIATE of Channel 9, and use the Ch9 feed to broadcast Ch9 programming.

Imparja TV is the same. They mostly use the Ch9 feed for their programming.

However, they both rely on their local transmitter not going belly up, which is not Ch9's problem.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 2:44 pm

I spoke to WIN this morning and the whole of central West NSW is off the air and will be for about another two-three days as they are having power problems and the only WIN that is OOO is Central West NSW....Oh well just think of all the revenue they are loosing.
Win acctually is the rural arm of TCN9 Sydney,they are privatyely owned,BUT operate under license from TCN9 Sydney....that is according to the Broadcast Australia site and also WIN themselves........