Value of the afl.com.au subscription??

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2002 4:23 am
Post subject: Value of the afl.com.au subscription??Reply with quote

G'day Magpies,
Some of you have had the subscription to the afl website last season, is it worth the $50?
the reason I ask is I am thinking of subscribing but $50 is a lot of cash for me and I don't like being ripped off.
thnx

COLLINGWOOD FOR EVER!

http://magpiemad.magpies.net/
Pies Premiers 2003 Aquarius

KEEP SEPTEMBER FREE

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2002 7:50 am

I say steer clear of the AFL and all their money spin offs....

THE PIES GO MARCHING ON
Harrysz 

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2002 2:40 pm

Take the $19.95 subscription. The CFC pre and post-match interviews are great.

Lorelei Pisces

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2002 3:30 pm

I reckon it is crap with them charging.

It should be linked up to Collingwood for example and if you are a paid up member you should get access to your teams stuff. If you want to know about all the other teams then maybe pay extra but otherwise the AFL suck with stuff like that.

Jen

--
BRING BACK NED!
"This is a man's world
But it would be nothing
Without a woman or a girl"

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 12:05 am

I though a bit about this one Mad, $50 ain't a lot in pounds, but the principle of the thing seems wrong. The AFL/Telstra also give NO guarantee of service, if you read their fine print (well, for o/s cutomers anyway...is Qld still considered O/S?)

Stick with the calls here mate, and hopefully two other Qld based members can continue their free service next year two. If the $50 (or most of it) was going to the pies, it may be another story, but I believe that it all goes straight into Telstra's pockets.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 3:02 am

I was adamant that I wasn't going to give the AFL even more money - but when I saw the number of interviews listed I ended up paying the $20 subscription and I think it's been great. Some of the Black & White TV interviews between the players are a laugh and there are also pre and post-match interviews and speeches from the GF dinner, post-GF day at Vic Park and the Copeland Trophy. If the price doesn't go up I'll probably join again next year.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 10:39 am

I reckon we should have a motion at the AGM giving all members (social club at least) free internet membership. If it gets up, it gets up.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 11:54 am

I second that

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 12:35 pm

Never fear London Dave, the two boys from queensland will be there n every matych day they can call....can't wait.....oh btw, just wanted opinions...FTO are doing a radio show each week and we were thinking of doing the same....thier show is far superior than ours would be but we also don't want to feel like we are ripping them off by doing it.

We are only considering it becaus eof the suggestions we have got....will be hosted on yahoo, so there will be talk back and will be in the same vein as the Dump by HG & Roy or The Fat but Collingwood focused...looking to do one every week during the season and specials in the off season.....if you would be interested in this please let us know here....sorry to steal the thread magpiemad mate.....oh everyone let us know if it is a good idea okay and when the bvest time to put it on would be....

"NEVER LEAVE, NEVER GIVE UP ON THEM AND ALWAYS BE THERE AT THE END TO CLAP THEM OFF THE GROUND. WE ARE COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS SON, EVEN IF THEY BEAT US, WE ARE STILL BETTER THAN THEM!"(quote from my mum when I was 8 years old)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 3:51 pm

If I remember correctly, Collingwood offer an Internet Membership, which I think costs about $20-$25. I guess with this package you get to listen to only the Collingwood stuff.

"We've never quit, and we won't."

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 9:19 pm

Joel, the $25 internet membership was with the old AFL/Collingwood site (run by sportsview?)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2002 3:17 am

Yeah, Sportsview took my subscription JUST before the website changed to the AFL - very nice of them! It was a bit of a struggle but I did get my $25 back.

I definitely think website access to OUR players interviews should be included in our Club membership - we pay enough as it is without having to pay extra to the AFL (for OUR website!).

I third that!!!