Nick Davis - Really good sign

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 2:37 am
Post subject: Nick Davis - Really good signReply with quote

Saw on the TV news last night the replay of Cornes providing us with a motivational tape for the next time we play the Power.

But I also noticed the first person to get stuck into him - it was Nick Davis. Good sign, very good sign......

"I am disrespectful to scum! Can you see I am serious!"

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 4:45 am

Considering Nicky had been on the bench all night, I doubt he would have run all the way to confront Cornes. From what I saw, it was Brodie that bailed him up and gave it to him.

"Racetracks are for racing, roads are for getting there."

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 5:19 am

Molloy got stuck into him as well. GOOD ON YA MOLLOY!!!

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 10:12 am

Davis was on the bench, with fraser, wakelin and molloy, who was still crook according to the commentators when he came on teh gorund in the last seconds for freeborns blood rule.

(so molloy was onthe ground at the end, but not for some of the game)

MarkT 

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 12:41 pm

Very happy to Nick show real emotion. Even happier to see him stick up for teammates and the jumper.

Magpie Gal 19 Pisces

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 3:47 pm

All I gotta say is "Thats my Boy" lol

GO NICKY!!!!! #19 kicks ASS

NICKY DAVIS KICKS ARSE!!!!!

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2002 2:12 am

I saw the footage last night on Talking Footy, and you were right, Phil. It was indeed Nicky that initially fronted Cornes, but he just seemed to brush past before Brodie came barrelling out of nowhere and gave it to him.

"Racetracks are for racing, roads are for getting there."

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2002 3:49 am

I didn't think my eyes were deceiving me - Nick and Brodie aren;t that alike.

And I agree - it wasn't exactly a king hit, but it was fabulous to see Nick fly the flag none the less.

"I am disrespectful to scum! Can you see I am serious!"

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2002 4:27 am

... and after the Bulldogs win, Nick was jumping all Molloy (in delight) as the players went down the race and into the rooms. A good sign, I thought, at the time.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2002 7:42 am

Todays H/S, Mike Sheahan, "Why wasn't Cornes caned for provocative finger"

"A CHEEKY Nathan Brown gives spectators an erect middle finger and gets fined $5000 for his moment of self-gratification.

An angry Kane Cornes gives exactly the same signal to an opponent and no action is taken.

I have said it before and, doubtless, I shall say it again: the AFL reporting system can be its own worst enemy.

The Cornes incident in the Port Adelaide-Collingwood thriller on Friday night was more inherently dangerous than the Brown case during the Bulldogs-Roos game in Round 2.

The atmosphere at Football Park was explosive and not just in the Channel 9 commentary box. The tension and aggression, which almost bubbled over at halftime, was palpable when the final siren sounded.

The Power won by five points after Anthony Rocca missed with a shot from 45m by the width of a cigarette paper.

While Cornes predictably and justifiably was delighted to hear the siren, he then proceeded to serve it up to Brodie Holland with what is known as "the bird".

As he ran off to join his teammates, gesticulating wildly, Collingwood's Nick Davis bumped him. Holland then chased Cornes, while Jarrod Molloy stormed in from another direction.

Naturally, the Port boys decided to side with their mate. Plenty of them. Damien Hardwick included; he's always enjoyed the physical aspect.

The scene was one excessive push, shove, sling or punch from a brawl.

What happened when Brown showed off? A couple of the Rooboys simply gave him a mouthful. No hint of an uprising on the terraces; no one moved to jump the fence.

To borrow from every second talkback caller, all we want is consistency.

While we're talking of blokes running the gauntlet, Nathan Buckley and Phillip Matera both seem to be tempting fate.

Buckley's sloppy attempt to tackle Matthew Bishop looked worse than it was, but the Buckley left arm that cuffed Bishop round the ear was a metre shy of the ball. It wasn't a long way removed from the attempted spoil on Andrew Thompson that landed him before the tribunal.

Matera looked to have ripped an elbow into the body of Hawthorn's Mark Graham at Subiaco Oval on Sunday.

Graham hit the deck as if cut down by a sniper, and his quick recovery indicated a touch of theatre.

The fact remains it looked far too aggressive. It was a stupid thing to do. Matera was lucky to escape the incident in which Collingwood's Tarkyn Lockyer was knocked out early in the season, and subsequently was suspended after tangling with an umpire.

He shouldn't tempt fate.

Buckley didn't need to make the motion of wiping his bottom during the Port game, either. He's better than that, although he was entitled to a level of frustration, given the attention he got from Josh Carr, the new Libba. "

The interesting paragraph is this one;
"As he ran off to join his teammates, gesticulating wildly, Collingwood's Nick Davis bumped him. Holland then chased Cornes, while Jarrod Molloy stormed in from another direction"

Should stop the argument.

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2002 7:56 am

ONYA Jarrod!
Line him up next time.

Magpies_rule19 

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2002 12:56 pm

Dont you just love Nick????

Lets just hope he sign's a 10 year deal>>>lol

I love Nikkie Davis

Go da pies

hoggy Pisces

Bristle

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2002 7:32 am

Very good signs all around at the club

We're forever blowing bubbles

http://hoggy18.tripod.com - Tarkyn's Territory