Carey at Collingwood? No thank you!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 10:20 am

I'm not defending carey's actions, but it takes two to tango, the other party was just as guilty as carey for consenting to the affair. unless carey put on a massive seduction effort, this would indicate that there were tensions or issues in that other relationship in the first place; you just don't have an affair because you feel like it. also, the whole thing blew up during a bender and as we all know, people under the influence are often not very rational in any case, this side of things is nobody's business and should not be used as an indiction of a player's worth. how that player can fit into another team's plans is another issue.

however, I do have a peeve about players deciding the future of their teammates or even coach; it smacks of unprofessionalism. what, so someone rubs you the wrong way so you all band up to get rid of him (player or coach)?? obviously, the carey thing was a lot more severe, but still, it stemmed from a personal incident that should not have impinged on the playing arena; last time I saw, carey was still doing the job for the roos. by making it personal, the club suffers. sorry, I can kinda understand the roos' feelings on this one, but I just detest the mob mentality (pardon the pun)

also, in a professional sport, players who hate each other's guts can still play well with each other. case in point: a few years ago, manchester united's then strikers teddy sheringham and andy cole loathed each other and never spoke off the pitch, but as pros they still helped the team to win the Premier League, the Champions League and the FA Cup in the same year.

"consectatio excellentiae"

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:02 pm

My opinion;

Carey has RETIRED. Don't fool yourself, the man has enough cash not to have to put himself into the limelight of AFL footy.

Why has he retired? Simple, put yourself into any other AFL players shoes. Football clubs, and football teams require a certain amount of socialising. There are fan nights, sponsor nights and team bonding trips. Would you let Mr Carey into the same social occassion that was attended by your spouse?

I wouldn't, and I cannot see any team of 39 individuals agreeing to have a man who could do such a thing TO HIS BEST MATE.

A warning to all AFL team management. Yes Wayne was a champion. Yes Wayne could turn a game. But any team that has Wayne Carey playing for it will be racked with disharmony. I seriously advise that you talk to your players before even trying to attempt to recruit him.

Having said that, I hope he goes to the Swans as the extre money required to pay him means they could not afford one Mr, Nick Davis!

We Are Collingwood and you're NOT!!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:23 pm

i havent had time to read everyone elses posts so if im repeating someone, well thats why.

i reckon he has lost all respect he had from his team mates when they found out what a low thing he did...

Rowdy4ever 

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 1:27 pm

Carey-once a tosser always a tosser. Ever since the tit pinching episode it was obvious something scandalous was going to eventually bring him down. He's arrogance was something even his team mates couldn't put up with. No, we don't need someone like that at Collingwood, don't give a toss how you could justify it. Calling him arrogant, sleazeball, egoccentric etc is common for someone like Carey - how could a million or so people be wrong? Because it's true - I've seen it off the field and now we all have seen/heard it. Yes, heaps of people cheat on partners and so what if it takes 2 to tango but like it was said it was with his best mates wife. That's sheer arrogance & nastiness.

All his football prowess isn't going to conceal this scandal & so it shouldn't!

Hiya-and-Higher 

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 7:10 pm

Nope to Carey.
Trust is the key.
Give me a team that will fight and bleed for each other, that's what the game's all about.
Winning Premierships is just the holy grail.
As a player, he is off the boil.
We don't want 'big names', we want fit young blood.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 7:18 pm

well said 'Hiya-and-Higher'
Carey at Collingwood?? Pi$$off
Eddie wouldn't do it, he wants a young futureistic team.
Although i wouldn't mind seein Carey play against north after whats happened. Just aslong as he dosn't play for the maggies!

Who loves ya Presti?
WE DO!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 8:31 pm

I would take Carey in a SECOND!

I wasn't a big rap when we picked up Dermie years ago. I hated him and thought he was over it. But the value he added once there, even for a year was amazing.

The King's not dead. Don't write him off.

Colours are an illusion. There is only black and white.
Rohan Coventry Tateson 

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 10:15 pm

Don't knock Carey because of his arrogance. Arrogance is what separates ordinary sportsman from great sportsman and most top class sportsman such as Lance Armstrong and Lyelton Hewitt have arrogance.

Football is a team sport. You get personality clashes in every business environment and sporting team. I'm sure when the Kangaroos were winning in the 90's there were a few people who had clashes with Carey. But on the whole I rate Carey as a team player and a very educated footballer. He would soon smooth these differences.

I am also sure people don't want Carey because we portray him as a wanker. I feel a lot of people are too harsh on Wayne and I loved how he gave it to the crowd each week. Many opposition fans also have the image of Buckley as a wanker but if they had the chance to recruit him they would take him.

Carey is professional enough to realize that personal differences with his teammates create disharmony (that is why he quit). If he had the chance at Collingwood there is no doubt that he would work on this side of his approach.

What also worries me about the general tone of this thread is that people are condemning Wayne’s character. Yes Wayne has made a mistake but dodgy characters don't lead teams to success like Wayne has.

I say recruit him. Someone promised a big recruit in their tenure and Wayne might just be that one.

In Skob We Trust

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2002 12:58 am

Don't think the pies should take Carey....I think MM has said somewhere they are looking for players with character...WC fails on that test me thinks.

Carey may find a year off gives him a chance to rejuvenate the body....he will probably play again imho,

(this thought comes from working with the murdoch press here a while ago)think of the ratings blockbuster his first game v North would be...Australia's first pay per view football game???

Mike, I think Bokka is in Noo Joisee.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2002 5:34 am

Hiya-and-Higher said it all when he said "Give me a team that will fight and bleed for each other, that's what the game's all about." and that folks is what it is all about. He has betrayed his team mates. forget all that other moral rubish, He has betrayed his team mates and what team would or could respect or even treat him as a TEAM member again??.
We as fans demand that our players bleed for us the jumper and each other, how could we ask them to bleed for him??? I know I wouldn't ask that of them.

Magpiemad

[This message has been edited by magpiemad (edited 15 March 2002).]

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2002 6:53 am

Since when do disharmonious teams win premierships?

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2002 7:50 am

At the moment he is the "rooting roo boy".

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2002 9:00 am

I am sorry that you felt about my comments the way you did Dr.Alf,BUT if the truth hurst out there,then let it be known.
I was only REPEATING what was told in th MEDIA in NSW when the POOP hit the fan.
Maybe you guys got a different side of the story,but we got what we got.
And It does take 2 to tango so why should the woman get off scott free.
If carey was caught with his pants down and she couldnt keep hers on.....it goes both ways.
Any way I thought that we were allowed to speak our own mind.
If I stood on any toes I am sorry,but its only what we get in the media....I guess that what you hear you shouldnt believe,so there for what Carey did wasnt WRONG.....come off the grass.
Catch you later

PeterWH
PIES FOR PREMIERS 2002

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2002 10:08 pm

It's not a space shuttle launch Vicky. It's just sex. 

Colours are an illusion. There is only black and white.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:52 am

Carey at Collingwood - NO NO NO AND NO!! The way I see it the sex is the least important detail - it is the lack of respect and the betrayal of those supposed to be most important to him that is the issue. Great qualities for someone who plays in a game where team unity and common goals are so important - NOT!
Oh and by the way the perception of him being an arrogant prick is in my opinion spot on , why - I had the unfortunate experience of being his neighbour. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE Don't do it Eddie!