1990 replica premiership medal

tassiepie 

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2002 3:37 pm
Post subject: 1990 replica premiership medalReply with quote

just wondering if anyone had any idea what one of these medals would be worth.i have been offered one but thought i would see what price i would expect to pay.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2002 7:48 pm

I wouldn't have thought it would have been worth anything, but then there seems to be a market for this sort of thing.

There are two reasons why I don't think it's worth anything:

1. It's a replica ... NOT an original.

2. Even though the original would probably be worth a shitload of money on the memorabilia market, in my opinion such an item would only have real value to the person that was originally presented with it, i.e. the premiership player himself. That's the only value I can see in something like that ... and it would be impossible to put a price on it because it is inextricably bound up in the experience of having played in a Collingwood premiership team. What use would (for example) Micky McGuane's premiership medal be to me? It would be priceless to Micky McGuane because he earned it ... but it would mean nothing to me because I didn't earn it.

Sorry to be such a stick in the mud ... but I reckon the memorabilia market is a load of bollocks. History is our heritage. It's not a commodity to be bought and sold.

floreat pica
My Ph.D. thesis, "Football: the People's Game?" is now available for viewing and/or downloading at http://alf.magpies.net
Magpie_Dan Taurus

The KING And I

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2002 12:07 am

Top theory DR!

The footy that I told everyone that I have is ladgit as they come!

Dan

Go The Richo!

UNLEASH THE TURBO!

tassiepie 

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2002 2:27 pm

no worries guys thanks for your input