Farewell #8 Trent Bianco

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 5:37 pm

Info and draft night interview https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2019-11-29/bianco-achieves-two-childhood-dreams

Nice write up pre draft https://afl.draftcentral.com.au/player/trent-bianco/

Trained with us early in 2019. Must have made an impression https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-draft-2019-trent-bianco-embraced-collingwood-life-as-part-of-afl-academy-placement/news-story/7419290e7f6a348e1497bd1a8b52fe62

Pre draft bio https://draftprospects.prod.afl/prospect/1009186

skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:03 pm

Probably gunna upset a few here, but he reminds me in kicking and moving style of Nick Davis. I see the Sidey resembalence too. Think hes gunna be a ripper.
skaman Taurus

One step beyond.......

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:04 pm

DP
makri Capricorn

PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 6:08 pm

Mentioned above, but from what I hear, MASSIVE pie fan from a pie loving family.
themonk 

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:00 am

Not if it's been mentioned elsewhere but why did we swap picks with Richmond?

Did we think they would pick Bianco? and if so why would they swap with us?

Question

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 9:18 am

I could understand and wasn't overly fussed when we overlooked him with our first pick as we are well stocked for sub 180cm players.

At our next selection however he was clearly the highest rated player left according to many in the media and a welcome bonus given he was rated around the 20 mark by some.

If the knock on him that lead to his slide was his height and the perception of him being one paced then hopefully his footy smarts and dual sided ability will give him the time and space required to make up for any physical short comings that could be exposed at AFL level.

The way it appeared to me watching on the TV was that we weren’t fussed whose name we called out first. It was a case of Hine wanting both players and Ned Guy manning the phones to make sure it happened.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:16 am

Very Happy From all the liinks, Thanks Stui. You get the impression Bianco could develop into a good player for us! Apart from being a pies supporterI like the way he has been judged leadership material being captain. and seems to be a worker, that should help develop his defensive game. So lets all cross our fingers, well some day we will be shouting. Black and!!! Bianco is white in italian!
barrackers 

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:21 am

themonk wrote:

Question

Worried about another club trading with the tigs, so that they held the pick before us?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 6:35 pm

barrackers wrote:
themonk wrote:

Question

Worried about another club trading with the tigs, so that they held the pick before us?

One way to look at it is that if Richmond weren’t overly interested in Bianco, then they managed to bluff a little something extra from us ( late future pick ?? )
I reckon the Tigers initiated the conversation and said something like we aren’t sure who were going to pick next but Bianco is on our short list. If you give us something a little extra for moving you up one spot, you can then have Bianco ( and they would know we want him ) and we will then go with our other option.
The tigers had already picked Dow with their first pick, so I doubt if they thought they needed another similar type. I’m only going from memory here but I think Ralphsmith was Tigers next pick and he’s a very different type to Bianco.
Win, win.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:08 am

Welcome to the club, Trent.

Nice to hear he's a Collingwood supporter Wink

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 1:42 am

Pre-draft, Ch.7 news:

https://twitter.com/7NewsMelbourne/status/1198872345416327169
themonk 

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:33 am

barrackers wrote:
themonk wrote:

Question

One way to look at it is that if Richmond weren’t overly interested in Bianco, then they managed to bluff a little something extra from us ( late future pick ?? )
I reckon the Tigers initiated the conversation and said something like we aren’t sure who were going to pick next but Bianco is on our short list. If you give us something a little extra for moving you up one spot, you can then have Bianco ( and they would know we want him ) and we will then go with our other option.
The tigers had already picked Dow with their first pick, so I doubt if they thought they needed another similar type. I’m only going from memory here but I think Ralphsmith was Tigers next pick and he’s a very different type to Bianco.
Win, win.

Thanks guys, it seems that whether it was us or them initiating the swap in the end we wanted him and made sure of it. Very Happy
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 8:07 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRjYUjrrnD4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:03 pm

Surely with a last name like Bianco his first name should be Tony?It just goes together so well.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:43 pm

doriswilgus wrote:
Surely with a last name like Bianco his first name should be Tony?It just goes together so well.

Tony? Hmm, I was thinking Cappa.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Page 2 of 5