stop bagging lica

hoggy Pisces

Bristle

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2001 7:21 am
Post subject: stop bagging licaReply with quote

Why is everyone bagging Paul Licuria?
I checked his season efficiency rate and it is at 93%, Bucks is at 94% and the only other players ahead of Bucks are Didak (hardly any touches though), Scott Burns and Freeborn. Licuria will not be traded and rightly so, he stood up when Bucks was struggling and would have cracked 30+ possessions about 5 times this year WHILE TAGGING SOMEONE!!!
I would also like to make a point on Glenn Freeborn. Before he went down last year he played on the half-forward-flank and played real good footy, now in the back-pocket he struggles to hold his opponent to small amounts of goals (Jarman, Phil Matera) and always trends to run backwards. Perhaps a move up forwadr this week will fix that and give him a chance to slot a couple because he is a good kick and a good mark. I would also like to push for the following changes this week.

IN
Adkins (kick start season 2002)
Betheras (why was he dropped in the first place)
Ukovic (if he's going at end of year get his price up)
Tuckey (give him a go!!!)
Shaw (all the experience helps)
Scotland (ditto Tuckey)
Stone (do we want a tall defender or not?)
Hill (has talent, kicked a ripper for willy last week)

OUT
Steinfort(not being handled well by Mick)
Tarrant (just drop him off at the Murray with his fishing rod)
Fraser (just let the man rest)
Diamttina(needs a haircut)
Lonie (ditto Fraser)

and 3 more, perhaps good players, see how the kids go.

That's my say!

RIP...My mate Jack
MarkT 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2001 7:32 am

The answer to your question? Lica can't kick as well as most senior footballers. I agree he has great heart, is a good tagger and a good ball getter when he is given licence to get it. The efficiency ratings are worthless. Depends on how much you kick v quick handball and distance of passes is not accounted for. Also, pressure turnovers and the like are not weighted. All in all though Lica is in our best team at present.

Your ins and outs are all reasonable but not all at once. Too musch disruptive change and dangerously inexperianced. Personally, I have given up on Stone and Uikovic.
I would play Josh at FF and give Tarrant a run at CHB for a bit of experiment and surprise factor. I'd also like to Hill get a game before the trading starts. I haven't seen much of him. What is his centre bounce work like and how about around the groung ruckwork?

hoggy Pisces

Bristle

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2001 7:48 am

i'm not sure if hill would be tall enough for a normal ruckman let alone matthew burton!!! how about we get luc longley for this week, he's not doing much now.

what i meant with the tips as well was that they were all options but there are some musts (scotland).

ps. why the hell is ben johnson playing vfl and why does essendon take all of our honours.

tarrant gets a great mark - ranga takes a better mark
willy gets in the finals - scum win last game to knock us out
we finish 9th-10th - they win the bloody thing
lonie looking good for the R.S. - mcveigh will probably take it
tarrant's kicked the most goals in a season - lloyd's doubled him
buckley's favourite for the copeland - hird will probably win it.

Let us win something!!!

RIP...My mate Jack
MarkT 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2001 8:08 am

Good question the Benny one. Roids had a lean patch but I would have though should get a game. I think he had a similar lean patch after a hot start last year? He seems stong and fit enough to get through a season so maybe it is mental application.

Re Essendon, they win everything because, unfortunately, they have sytematically built the best playing list in the comp. Put most of the credit down to Sheedy.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2001 3:35 pm

They gotta give Clokey a go. He is going to be a champ and he is a very cheeky and agressive player. Let him play, and the hunger will be there over the pre-season. Play him at CHB....at least roo-boy will not be there.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2001 5:07 pm

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Play the kids and give them a go. Tuckey has earnt the right to play senior footy. If need be move Molloy to the backline and give tuckmando a game up forward

APA

EVERYONE IS A COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE IN DENIAL