How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:50 am

Yep, she's a puppy (20 weeks old) and the beach sand, bitumen car park is too hot on her paws.

Soft!!! Laughing

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 11:06 pm

Well, it's been a good break. Rode 30k today, the diet has been sensational (lack of gunja has kept that in check) I'm 95kg, which is the lightest I've been for months.

Back to work tomorrow and really looking forward to the forecast 48 degrees, hopefully it'll only be around 45 by the time I knock off and do the 8k run around the airport.

have a great weekend, I'll keep ya's posted.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:35 am

It only got to 42 here yesterday. It was still 41 when I set off on my 8k run. Was setting a pretty good pace, around 5:15min/km until I turned and copped that warm headwind. The crappy sleep, early am flight to site & 12hr shift caught up with me. Last 3k was around 5:50min/km. But at least that one's outa the way.
I had a couple of boiled eggs and a heap of steamed asparagus that I'd grabbed earlier for lunch after the run. Man, doesn't that asparagus make your piss stink!
Had just 3 Coopers mild and crashed around 9.
Forecast is 44 today. It'll be a slow 12k tonight and an AFD.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 6:58 pm

10k in 42 degrees saw the captain and myself throw the AFD out the window!
The 'cold' water in the shower is 37 degrees ..... straight to the wetty, 6 pack of Coopers and a meat lovers pizza thanks.

Rest day today after 6 days straight going pretty hard. Birdys birthday carton tonight, it only got to 40.7 today. Feeling pretty thirsty, an hour til knock off.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:52 pm

A cool 37 at knock off time saw me punch out a fast 6k. My watch told me I set 3 new records; fastest k (4:41), fastest mile & fastest 5k since Christmas. Happy with that. Eating really good, tuna & salad for dinner. Had a few last night and on my 5th tonight.
It's a slow 12-14k tomorrow.
4 sleeps til home time, the weeks just fly by.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:56 pm

Last nights 13.5km went pretty well, avg pace of 5:41min/km in 38 degrees.
The guy who grades all the tracks around here was telling me that there's quite a few wild dogs around so the backpack now has a knife to go with the; snake bandage, 2 litres of water, half a roll of dunny paper and my phone.
I'll be looking like Rambo shortly.

6min/km x 6k tonight (it'll be about 40 degrees by knock off time). Then tomorrow I'm going flat out on my airport loop (7.5k) to see if I can set a new mark.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:45 pm

BOOM! Set a new best time for that course and ran my fastest 5k (24:01) during it.
Considering it was 39 degrees with a 40km/h breeze I'm stoked Cool
Pre fly out BBQ saw me slam, a steak, heaps of bacon and a couple of snags. 6 beers and a JD 'n dry for a night cap.

The slow 6k last night went according to plan, all is good.

Been a solid swing, eaten really well. Only shit I ate was a crunchie & an iced coffee on Tuesday. Think I'll be around 93kg when I weigh in on Saturday morning (was 102kg just before xmas).

Absolutely fanging for a cone when I get home tomorrow night and will be drinkin' puhlenty.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:43 am

Has the missus got your password?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:10 am

Nah Confused

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:42 am

Hmmm. That weekend is a bit blurry ...... did a 5k soft sand run on Saturday morning with a pretty nasty hangover. Cracked my first beer not long after, around 10am. Had plans to run 20k on Sunday but that became less likely as the day turned into a bit of a drinking marathon.

Dragged myself out of bed mid morning yesterday and did an hour on the pushy. Felt very average.

So, Monday is a new day Smile. I'm about to set off on that long run, not sure how far, see how I feel 10k in. Got lunch at the pub down at Scarborough today.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:01 pm

Well that wasn't too bad at all.
Did 20.35km in 1hr 55min, 5:40min/km, happy with that.

Running down the street, voices in my head asking me why, thinking how far should I go? Took a few k's to get into any sort of rhythm. Half way through the 2nd k, pushing up a decent hill on Wanneroo Rd heading north, I realised how cool it was. Cloudy with a moderate sou' wester blowing.
Got to Whitfords Ave and head into the breeze, it's a nice change from the 40 degree conditions of last week.
Feeling ok as I cross the freeway, then, as it does, the sudden urge to shit rears its ugly head. Just past Pinnaroo cemetery there's a good little spot to stop in the bush. I'm 7k in so figure I'll have a gel as well. All good, a quick drink and i'm just about to pull my skins up when, %$^£$%^&%%, there's a little nugget in them!! Not pretty, I make the best attempt possible to get rid of it but , as you can imagine, I'm running the rest of this trip with a skid in me skins Smile
Push it out to Marmion Ave and head South. The k's just seem to be ticking over now, I get to Hepburn Ave.... do I head home now or are we going down to Warwick Rd and making this a 20k? I'm feeling ok so we take the long way home. Head East down Warwick Rd, over the freeway, past the pub.... I'm nearly there! North up Cockman Rd, the last 2k.

Feeling pretty good now, change of plans. It's lunch at the Northbridge Brewing Co. Never been there before, it's meant to be ok.

Have a pretty day Smile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:29 pm

Lunch was good.
Tuesday - 25k bike ride.
Wednesday - 7k fast run.
Today - 25k bike.

Lunch today at the Kingsley tavern.

2 cartons of mids since the weekend, that's stuff all for me.
Been eating really well and a few mates have mentioned I'm looking like I've dropped a few kg's.

Other than a big one last Friday night I've smoked stuff all gunja.

Back to work in the morning and I'm pumped for a big week in the heat.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:57 pm

Time flies!
Did that week at work, had a week home and now I'm back at work.

Been clocking up some good k's. Ran 6 nights up here last swing, 50k's, which included some pretty freaky runs in wild thunderstorms.
The week at home, I did a 6k soft sand run, a 10k run, a 23k run and an 8k fast run. Also 2 x 25k rides on the pushy.

Been trying to lay off the piss a bit, but, it was a long weekend in WA so i still smashed a few boxes. Been having 2 AFD's each week and eating really well.

Tipped the scales at 94.5kg this morning. That's 8.2kg lighter than when I ran after my back injury just before xmas.

It's a 'maximus' salad (some mix they make up here full of lotsa greens) for dinner and an early night. Just dud a real slow 6k tonight, fly in day is a long sucker.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 10:28 am

10k in 38 degrees last night saw my running partner struggle. 20 years younger than me and was wallowing in my wake😂
Had 5 beers before bed. Feeling strong.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 1:21 pm

Getting serious now. 26.5k this morning in 2:20:55.

Yesterday/last nights prep for the run was; about 6 Coronas at the Veterans MCC after a fund raising run for the RSPCA (I bought a bloody kennel with solar fairy lights at the auction... ???).
Had about another 10 Coopers Mild, dinner was Fish'n Chips plus I jhad some battered mussels, 2 pineapple fritters and 2 potato scallops. Followed that with 3 Easter eggs. Was in bed not long after 9.
Up at 0430hrs, coffee and toast, then hit the road at 0600.

If that doesn't deserve a countery and a few pints I don't know what does!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 9 of 17