Welcome to Collingwood #45 Wil Parker

LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:00 pm

3rd degree wrote:
Parker's Pies. Is he related to the great Ted?

Let's hope he's as tough as them...

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 4:19 pm

Playing Big Bash a few months ago and now to debut against Freo.
That's as rapid a rise as I can remember.
Play well young man!

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 5:08 pm

All the best mate

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 5:31 pm

I coached him at Auskick. To be debuting so quickly is a surprise to everyone, especially him I reckon. Our injury situation is critical. There is no way the club would have envisaged him playing this year.

His old man was a pretty handy player at EFL level. His uncle Geoff Parker played Cricket for Victoria and footy for Essendon and most people don’t know that Dale ‘the flea’ Weightman is his uncle too. Not a bad pedigree.

Last edited by Damien on Tue May 21, 2024 5:49 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 5:48 pm

I coached him at Auskick. To be debuting so quickly is a surprise to everyone, especially him I reckon. Our injury situation is critical. There is no way the club would have envisaged him playing this year.

If he turns out to be a great player then it's obviously the result of your expert coaching Damien. We'll have you to thank.

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 5:51 pm

If he turns out to be a great player then it's obviously the result of your expert coaching Damien. We'll have you to thank.

I just added to my above post Rude. I think it’s the pedigree mate.

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 6:48 pm

His old man was a pretty handy player at EFL level. His uncle Geoff Parker played Cricket for Victoria and footy for Essendon and most people don’t know that Dale ‘the flea’ Weightman is his uncle too. Not a bad pedigree.

Also related to Neil Crompton, the man who broke Collingwood hearts in 1964.

Might become an option in future for players talented at both sports if they don’t want to head interstate, try cricket for a couple of years and try and make the t20 riches or go back to footy and choose you own team.

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2024 7:55 pm

Definitely didn’t see this one coming. Good luck, and hope he gets to sing the song in his first game!

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2024 6:41 am

Geez, some good highlights. Moves like a natural footballer and with our injury list, he's a huge bonus pickup.
LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2024 2:23 pm

I coached him at Auskick. To be debuting so quickly is a surprise to everyone, especially him I reckon.

If he dominates, I'm putting you forward to head up our scouting list...

Victoria cricket captain Will Sutherland knew his former state teammate and close friend Wil Parker would be able to make a quick transition to footy after joining Collingwood in February.
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2024/05/22/why-sutherland-pencilled-in-ex-teammate-for-pies-debut-so-soon-after-cricket/

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2024 5:02 pm

LaurieHolden wrote:
I coached him at Auskick. To be debuting so quickly is a surprise to everyone, especially him I reckon.

If he dominates, I'm putting you forward to head up our scouting list...

Victoria cricket captain Will Sutherland knew his former state teammate and close friend Wil Parker would be able to make a quick transition to footy after joining Collingwood in February.
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2024/05/22/why-sutherland-pencilled-in-ex-teammate-for-pies-debut-so-soon-after-cricket/

The little kid on the right in my avatar was in Auskick with him and he’s now 21. That’s how long ago it was.

Happy to attend any game the club wants as long as they supply the cans!