Common phrases now that you couldn't say in the 80's

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 5:22 pm
Post subject: Common phrases now that you couldn't say in the 80'sReply with quote

Bit of off season fun, I heard this as a phoner on MMM and thought it was a good topic.
What things do we say in day to day conversation now that just wouldn't work back in the 80's?

Some starting examples.

You watching that new series on Netflix?

My internet is so slow

I've ordered Sushi on Uber Eats

My Iphone battery sucks

He (sportman) is only 25, he's still growing up, give him time.

Lets go to Bunnings for a sausage.

Over to you. Lets keep it light hearted.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 8:02 pm

What's your pronouns?

I need a safe space

It's streaming on "insert streaming service"

What do you mean new homes have no gas connection?

There's a charging station for my EV

What do you mean "insert company" was hacked

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 8:16 pm

Back in the 80's I didn't know any houses that had gas connections until I moved to Melbourne. Any house that had gas appliances had big mofo gas bottles outside.

When I moved into a house in Camberwell in 86 with a mate from Gippsland and my GF at the time, us 2 boys spent ages trying to find the gas bottles outside before the Melbourne chick explained that Gas actually came through pipes not bottles. Shocked Embarassed

PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 10:15 pm

Your mate from gisborne was your girlfriend?

Not that there’s anything wrong with that!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2023 7:12 pm

If you said YAAS QUEEN in the 1980's, you'd get bashed.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2023 7:34 pm

Your mate from gisborne was your girlfriend?

Not that there’s anything wrong with that!

Laughing Laughing Laughing

My mate was from Gippsland, not Gisborne, my GF was from Melbourne. Wink

lazzadesilva Virgo

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2023 8:14 pm

I like to go to my happy place.
Zap/Nuke the snags for a few minutes.
I bought a new record from Brashes today.
Could I have a sugar free coke please?
Collingwood haven’t won a flag for 32 bloody years 😭🥲
I feel like having Tarcos for dinner tonight.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2023 9:27 pm

If you said YAAS QUEEN in the 1980's, you'd get bashed.

love that show!!!

slangman 

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2023 9:57 pm

Footy related:

How much time is left?
Yellow maggots.
Moore is a premiership captain
He’s been subbed out with concussion.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2023 3:47 pm

I met my partner on Tinder

I found a discount cigarette shop, a packet of Winnie Blues 30's is only $55

these fruity IPA's are great

I found a place that sells premium unleaded for less than $2 a litre

Smashed Avo goes great with Vegemite.

I'm concerned about Bill's mental Health

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2023 5:05 pm

You could reverse this thread with "things you said in the 80's but wouldn't say now", but I'd most likely get banned... or arrested Laughing

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2023 5:29 pm

I did think of doing exactly that and came to the same conclusion as you. Wink Laughing

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2023 11:48 pm

Im so triggered by that

ugh

Bucks5 Capricorn

Nicky D - Parting the red sea

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2023 6:20 am

Acknowledgment of Country or Welcome to Country.
Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2023 8:41 am

I'll have an almond latte

Have you tried that prosecco in a can?

Saw a funny video on TikTok

Do you follow 'enter name here' on Instagram?

Got a great deal buying it online with free postage

When do we play GWS/Gold Coast/Freo/Port?

Pies don't play well at Marvel