Maynard incident > Maynard rule > Brayshaw retirement

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 53, 54, 55  Next

What do you think Maynard will get when it’s all over?
Two or more weeks and season done
15%
 15%  [ 15 ]
One week – misses the PF but back for the grand final
10%
 10%  [ 10 ]
Nothing – he’ll get off, either by not being cited or on appeal
73%
 73%  [ 71 ]
Total Votes : 96

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 1:49 pm

IN 1977, Phil Carman smashed old Tuck in the head, Qual final, and got three weeks, both PF and 2 GFs, was far, far worse than what Bruzza did. Far worse. How the hell can Maynard change direction in mid air, he was trying to smother the ball, that is clear, its damn hard to change direction, in a split second. I reckon he gets one week, no more, if he does, we appeal, ala Carrrrlton, get a top KC, to speak eloquently and get it reduced to one week. Cripps nearly smashed a Lion into next yr, got off, Brownlow medal, so there you go.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 1:56 pm

Big news Corp article bagging us for chanting Collingwood while brayshaw was waiting for stretcher. “I’d be so embarrassed if Dees fans did that!” said one flog. Yes, let’s talk about Melbourne supporter reactions and the stuff they were screaming at Maynard for the rest of the game — absolutely atrocious abusive language, with kids around. Hypocrites.
piffdog 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:02 pm

IN 1977, Phil Carman smashed old Tuck in the head, Qual final, and got three weeks, both PF and 2 GFs, was far, far worse than what Bruzza did. Far worse. How the hell can Maynard change direction in mid air, he was trying to smother the ball, that is clear, its damn hard to change direction, in a split second. I reckon he gets one week, no more, if he does, we appeal, ala Carrrrlton, get a top KC, to speak eloquently and get it reduced to one week. Cripps nearly smashed a Lion into next yr, got off, Brownlow medal, so there you go.

You must be kidding linking a tribunal outcome from 1977 to today... Its even a stretch to compare it to last year given the way the laws and interpretations change. Cripps shouldnt have got off (was only on a legal technicality) - the League stated this after it was all said and done.

Also - he wont get one week. He'll get several or he will get off completely. Again, this is not a judiciary of 30 years ago.

I do agree, however, that we spend as much money as we need taking it as high up the legal ladder as we need to to get the man off (if charged - which I assume he will be).

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:15 pm

I've read some BS in my lifetime but this takes the cake. https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/utterly-disrespectful-collingwood-chant-sparks-outrage/news-story/a95772802c8a7aa2ba051ca64a7de0b6

Typical gutter journalism. The chant started after their scum players attacked Maynard.

We ALL stood and applauded Ashe left the ground.

This will be unpopular with many, but here goes.

I must admit, I felt uneasy hearing the chant as Brayshaw was assisted off the ground. There’s a time and place in my opinion, and that wasn’t the moment to do it even if it was triggered by other events around him.

More broadly, I worry that the Collingwood chant is becoming overused nowadays. It used to be brought out in very special moments but it seemed to become mainstreamed after the 2010 flag.

Being there, I can 100% back up that fans stood and applauded him as he was escorted out of the ground. That I can’t dispute.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:36 pm

Dammo's take on it:

IF ...
Bruz is suspended for that hit on Brayshaw ...

THEN ...
the game's rules will need re-writing before the 2024 season. This is my take, and I realise there are polar others. Bruz jumped to smother a kick, and that was his sole intent. I'd love for the "independent" MRO to clear Bruz. But history says it will take the soft option and let other "independent" bodies determine his fate. And history says the "independent" Tribunal will agree with the MRO. Then we'll be off to the "independent" Appeals Board, which history also suggests will clear him. This sport is promoted as controlled-brutal. Accidents happen in controlled-brutal. Here's my outlook on the next six days: Bruz will go through the "system", and be given a one-match ban, allowing him to play in a Grand Final.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:39 pm

The Pies will argue that Maynard could not have reasonably foreseen the incident and therefore it is not careless. When he launched to try to smother he could not have foreseen the possible impact.

You could probably put forward hundreds of occasions of someone jumping to try to smother a ball.

Here's the definition of Careless -

a Player will be careless if they breach their duty to take reasonable care to avoid acts which can be reasonably foreseen to result in a Reportable Offence.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:51 pm

piffdog wrote:

You must be kidding linking a tribunal outcome from 1977 to today... Its even a stretch to compare it to last year given the way the laws and interpretations change. Cripps shouldnt have got off (was only on a legal technicality) - the League stated this after it was all said and done.

Also - he wont get one week. He'll get several or he will get off completely. Again, this is not a judiciary of 30 years ago.

I do agree, however, that we spend as much money as we need taking it as high up the legal ladder as we need to to get the man off (if charged - which I assume he will be).

Actually, I only meant Carmans intent was totally too knock Tuck out, nothing else, Bruzza had no such intent. Phil did get 3 weeks, which was pretty harsh even back then, missed TWO GFs. Had he played, we would have won easy, Barassi was rapt he was out. But, thats history, like when Cloke got suspended for a GF, for doing far less than what Hall did to an eagles player, we always get the dirty end of the stick, usually. Surprised

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 2:59 pm

Gotta love all the negative, Pies bashing articles in Foxsports and Newscorp today. “Despicable chant,” “Mitchell slammed for embarrassing act” — please tell me again how there’s no bias in media against us?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:04 pm

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Gotta love all the negative, Pies bashing articles in Foxsports and Newscorp today. “Despicable chant,” “Mitchell slammed for embarrassing act” — please tell me again how there’s no bias in media against us?

I don’t care about the media.

Just posting my own thoughts on it.

shawthing Virgo

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:08 pm

neds elbow wrote:
Mr Miyagi wrote:
Melbourne/Goodwin saying everything to get Maynard suspended.

Goodwin just filthy because he had Brayshaw in his multi

Bingo! There's been a LOT said about Goodwin in the off season media. But still he seems to get away with murder.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:09 pm

I've read some BS in my lifetime but this takes the cake. https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/utterly-disrespectful-collingwood-chant-sparks-outrage/news-story/a95772802c8a7aa2ba051ca64a7de0b6

Typical gutter journalism. The chant started after their scum players attacked Maynard.

We ALL stood and applauded As he left the ground.

This will be unpopular with many, but here goes.

I must admit, I felt uneasy hearing the chant as Brayshaw was assisted off the ground. There’s a time and place in my opinion, and that wasn’t the moment to do it even if it was triggered by other events around him.

More broadly, I worry that the Collingwood chant is becoming overused nowadays. It used to be brought out in very special moments but it seemed to become mainstreamed after the 2010 flag.

Being there, I can 100% back up that fans stood and applauded him as he was escorted out of the ground. That I can’t dispute.

oh i do agree with that, i wasn't happy with it either, i didn't chant. i also dont like the over use of it. it was more pointing out they are picking and choosing their print!

shawthing Virgo

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:10 pm

No the one week is not an option. Either he's cleared or its three weeks. That is simply the way it works. Once the guy you've hit gets concussed the starting option is three weeks if guilty. I fear the AFL have stamped him guilty.

Geez Denis Banks' hit on Rhys-Jones would be a life sentence these days. I'm not kidding.

Last edited by shawthing on Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:13 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:13 pm

Mr Miyagi wrote:

I don’t care about the media.

Just posting my own thoughts on it.

Nah my last question wasn’t directed at you mate, just a rhetorical. And yeah agree with you. Hard to believe people get paid to write that crap

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:15 pm

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Nah my last question wasn’t directed at you mate, just a rhetorical. And yeah agree with you. Hard to believe people get paid to write that crap

All good Smile

Yeah it’s boring and predictable to hear these articles surface. The hate runs deep.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 3:15 pm

Goofy Goodwin is more of a sore loser than the bloody Scott Bros, and that is really a high bar to get over. Razz Razz

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 53, 54, 55  Next
Page 4 of 55