Doing a good deed

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 2:56 pm

^And there we were just talking about the old boy. Life can be a fickle damn thing sometimes. As TP said, hopefully the news is that you've still got a good block of time with him.
lazzadesilva Virgo

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 3:03 pm

There is just no easy way of dealing with this sad situation. Years ago I had to put down my lab that I raised from about 6 weeks and accompanied me by my side throughout my twenties. There simply weren’t any other options.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 3:17 pm

Well, our time together is now treated as special. Drove to Rye to make sure the camping spot is ready for the van to set up. We walked around and he sent many a PeeMail. We then drove to Mornington for some lunch and he enjoyed our chicken roll. I say ours as it's never mine, what I have he has (Excluding hot curries). So he's had a walk and a feed and he's put himself to bed. He really doesn't leave my side and I woke up in a sweat as he was laying along my back, no doubt to keep warm. It's like having a furry white hot water bottle.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 3:59 pm

Hehe love it! Enjoy mate

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2023 2:13 pm

Well, I purchased a few hard copies of my friend's book. I have donated one to my project's social club Christmas Raffle and the other to the Officers Mess Christmas Raffle. I helped my friend out and put in a couple of nice prizes for other people.win win

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2023 8:46 pm

That’s really awesome mate. I just bought one for myself xx

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2023 10:41 am

That’s really awesome mate. I just bought one for myself xx
Awesome, thank you.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2023 5:24 pm

An update on Lachie. The vets think it’s grown since they last saw him. Waiting for the results of testing of one tooth, a bit of his Jaw, and the growth. There is still a small chance it’s benign as all other tests are normal. Worse case it could be a few weeks. The Vet said looking at him and his behavior, you wouldn't know anything was wrong. Every day is being treated as special.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2023 5:48 am

^Fingers crossed for the poir little chap. I notice on the vet shows they cut out a lot of uncomfortable but benign growths, so here's hoping.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2023 9:49 am

I couldn't help myself yesterday, an elderly couple in the quick checkout at Woolworths were adding up their shopping as they went as they only had so much cash. They had about 4 items left and said to the Cashier to stop. I stepped in and advised the cashier to take them and I will pay. The couple was shocked and said there was no need. I said I was happy to pay and I want you guys to buy something special for yourselves and have a great Christmas. Now hubby was saying no, we don't need charity, and was getting upset. I responded with, this isn't charity, this is one person helping another, and one day, and that may even be today you may help another. It's not charity if you care for others. Well, he shocked me and gave me a big hug. The cashier was in tears and said I was a good person. FYI it was $34. I would have blown that at the pub. That was the good me, in the car park where I was parked all by myself miles away with spots everywhere so my car wouldn't get scratched/hit and you wouldn't believe it someone pulled up and parked right next to me. and I mean real close. Grumpy me yells, "Are you worried that your car will get lonely"? So my good deed was cancelled out. Embarassed

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2023 10:06 am

^Love it! You're a star. The grumpy you is just being ironic!

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2023 12:44 pm

^^

Ha, well done.

Friday morning I was out for my walk before coming to Toc. Went down a street I don't normally go down and saw the Garbo standing in front of his truck, scratching his head.

The power line to house had come loose and was hanging across the road about 6 feet in the air, blocking his truck. He went up in the front yard the cable was going to, pulled the cable tight to get it back in the air but there was nothing to fasten it to. So I walked up and said to him, " If I stand up here and pull it tight, you reckon you can get the truck under it?" Yep, he replies with a big grin. So I did that, he got under, and while I didn't save Christmas I saved Rubbish collection for the people on that street. Razz

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2023 1:42 pm

^^The lights stay on for Santa as well. You've saved Christmas for the kids.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2023 8:44 am

All of those are awesome,well done xxxx

Culprit that hugger will never forget you xxx

And I would have yelled a lot worse, I hatepeople parking next to me!!!!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 2:08 pm

Well, my young neighbor who struggled with depression this year has turned the corner. I knew the family was struggling during the year as I know the landlord. They were behind in rent as he wasn't working. I got a few neighbors together and we organized food and gift cards without being in their faces, just basically to help them out. I was washing my car and he came over with a cold beer for Christmas/New Year we had a chat and he said, "You guys are the best neighbors and with a tear in his eye he told me he appreciated the assistance and generosity". I had to hold back my tears as the moment was getting to me. I hugged him and let him know no matter how bad things get there's always someone to help and never be afraid to ask.

Page 5 of 8