Plans for the long weekend?

Arch@M32 

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2022 8:52 pm
Post subject: Plans for the long weekend?Reply with quote

OK, OK I know it's not really a long weekend as the public holiday is Tuesday but lots of us treat it as one and I wondered what you all do. I'm heading to Buchan, East Gippsland for some caving.
Who else is going away?
Where are you going?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2022 11:32 pm

/\ i just watched the 2 netflix caving shows about the 12 soccer kids and their coach! check the weather reports first!!!

off to the farm, lots of mowing and stuff to do!

Arch@M32 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2022 1:43 am

/\ i just watched the 2 netflix caving shows about the 12 soccer kids and their coach! check the weather reports first!!!

Only a handful of the caves in buchan out of the hundreds there that water becomes an issue.

What do you think of the docos?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2022 1:47 am

No long weekend here 😢😢

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2022 6:58 am

This is whyI love the FIFO lifestyle with an even time roster.

Long weekends, school holidays, even just weekends in general, I avoid; holiday destinations, Shopping centres, Bunnings, The Casino, the beach, the public pool... anywhere that will be packed with weekend warriors.

The only crowd I ever enjoy, is a packed footy stadium.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2022 8:47 am

Arch@M32 wrote:

Only a handful of the caves in buchan out of the hundreds there that water becomes an issue.

What do you think of the docos?

both are amazing. the 1.5 hour doco is excellent, i watched it after the 6 part series, and just wow, those kids, and the one political dude who would not take no for an answer! if he had, they all would have died. watch it, and dont forget the tissues!!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2022 2:40 pm

So I remembered yesterday I forgot to fill the chook feeder, so instead of tomorrow I came back today, lucky, it was almost out! Had fun on the ride on mower, having a rest before going home! It’s so peaceful here!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2022 3:41 pm

This is whyI love the FIFO lifestyle with an even time roster.

Long weekends, school holidays, even just weekends in general, I avoid; holiday destinations, Shopping centres, Bunnings, The Casino, the beach, the public pool... anywhere that will be packed with weekend warriors.

The only crowd I ever enjoy, is a packed footy stadium.

I'm not a FIFO worker but have been able to avoid those peak times and weekends for a few years now and it's the best! Every holiday is planned to avoid school holidays. Never ski weekends.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2022 11:10 pm

Now that the kids are adults it’s been the same here for a long time. Got the W/E off and a reasonable roster pattern. I’ve taken a fair bit of LSL in the last 1-2 years and have got two more for the Great Vic bike ride at the end of November.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2022 4:08 pm

Every weekend is a long one when you're unemployed, I'm heading back to Melbourne tomorrow, mum's been sooking it up so go home for a week then come back without her.