Sea / Tree Change and or Retirement

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 1:34 pm
Post subject: Sea / Tree Change and or RetirementReply with quote

Here you go Bruce Gonsalves, sea change thread!!!

So i just got a call settlement has gone through! going to pick up the peys in the morning! And then just go sit with my chooks and my sheep, and think of some names!!! might name the bloody big huntsman i saw in a shed the other day too! scary, but good scary! its 3 acres in Drysdale, not too big, ready made vegie patch, nice little farm house! cheers!!!

nomadjack 

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 2:01 pm

Good on you TP - I'm as jealous as hell! Would love to do the same thing but can't move until the youngest is done with school. Enjoy the serenity!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 3:26 pm

nomadjack wrote:
Good on you TP - I'm as jealous as hell! Would love to do the same thing but can't move until the youngest is done with school. Enjoy the serenity!

cheers mate, ta, will have to juggle for a while, still have to finish up our business, 1 more big project, plus we have to renovate the farm house (im spoilt!!) but ill spend at least 5 days a week there so the chooks are not locked up all the time, til we get set up for good. its an easy drive for us, just on an hour, so commuting will be no worries in the mean time.

really looking forward to the serenity!!!! cheers

Bruce Gonsalves Gemini

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 8:49 pm

Great idea for a thread T.P. Smile

We had a few issues with internet, cutting a long story short, we went with Skymesh. Compared to Starlink it's a no brainer.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2022 8:58 pm

Thanks for the tip,

Just checked and NBN is connected
Knew I forgot something!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 6:23 pm

Picked up the jets and got a surprise hamper from the agent! Spent some time with the chooks and sheep, gave the chook shed a really good clean out, lots of cobwebs, bits of string tied in weird places, and shit, I can’t believe how big chicken shit is! Cleaned up the water feeder and their paddock too,

Picked a heap of veggies and had them for dinner at the beach house, I tell you when I said goodnight to the sheep and they galloped over yo me, it was oh so very cool!
Cheers, totally buggered now!

Last edited by think positive on Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:15 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 6:42 pm

Picked up the jets

Do you have a runway?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 8:28 pm

Nice work Jo and great thread. enjoy.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:14 pm

Picked up the jets

Do you have a runway?

Hehe I really LOLed!
Keys!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:14 pm

Nice work Jo and great thread. enjoy.
cheers mate, I looked first because I thought you started one when you bought Toc!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:46 pm

Nah, great thread. I'm not sure what Toc is considered, I actually have bush land and roos closer to me here than in Toc, but it's the river and the lifestyle.

Apart from all the blow ins (and in the bush you're a blow in until you've either lived there 50 years or were born there) I'm still able to pass for a local. There's still a handful of people there I went to school with, which is about all we have in common.

That's where I'm retiring to. I'll be walking distance from full on bushland, the river, all the shops, 3 pubs, 4 licensed restaurants and a micro brewery still under construction.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:56 pm

sounds like Heaven to me, enjoy

I’m calling my sheep daisy and Ginnie!

this is daisy, she needs a haircut but is very content after realising she will never be chops!

this is Ginnie, so called because shes naughty and cheeky and tried to eat my gumboots! you can see it in her eyes!

bees, so many bees, love them!

tranquility!

yum!

the chooks dont take direction very well!

and back home! wonder if i can get them to follow me when we move!

life is indeed, good!

Bruce Gonsalves Gemini

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 10:39 am

I'm not great with creepy crawlys, biting and stinging things. I went through work life staring spiders in the face under floors and in roofs, hated them but survived.

Our first week at our new place we were confronted with massive [size of your hand] huntsmens, one in the letterbox and 2 in the garage. They survived, just shock the crap out of you.

Same week we ventured into our cellar which possibly was constructed as a bushfire shelter. It's an unused concrete water tank sunk into the ground. It's around 7ft in height and 14 ft diameter with a stairs leading down into it with a solid metal door as it's entrance. So, I've opened the door turned the lights on, walked to the far end and a mate who was following, yells SNAKE. I looked down, saw the bugger, leapted away from it, literally farted whilst in flight. I managed to get the hell out of there and slammed the door shut.

What to do? I've contacted a snake catcher, he turned up, bagged the Eastern Brown and left me $250 lighter. Fairly dangerous snake. Following week I'm showing the Satellite guy through the cellar. Guess what? Another fxcken E.B. also the carcass of another, not shedded skin but a dead snake with guts protruding. This time the guy with me was able to dispose of the snake a couple of empty blocks away, still alive.

I haven't ventured back into the cellar since but intend to make it snake proof when time permits.

Speaking with neighbours, they have rarely seen snakes and believe we were just unlucky as the property was vacant for 6 months or so. I've read up a lot about them recently so I'm not as freaked out now. Just leave the buggers alone and be alert.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 3:32 pm

Yikes Bruce, how da fug did snakes down there Shocked

TP, great pics and Happy Birthday young lady.

Bruce Gonsalves Gemini

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:50 pm

Yikes Bruce, how da fug did snakes down there Shocked

The little basturds had snuck under a primary door which has a rusted frame, then fallen down. From there they've slid under the solid door which has a small gap at the bottom.

I don't believe they could get back out. The cellar has an old 50-60's fridge in there which they would have felt quite safe to hibernate.

It's a brilliant cellar that I intend to use. Open to suggestions other than storage.

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 1 of 8