Reaching out to former Nicks BB posters

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
The General Aquarius

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2022 11:58 pm

There is also more competition now.

Not only is there Big Footy, which has been around for a long time, but there is quite a few Facebook pages that get a lot of input.
Given most people have Facebook, and check it regularly, it comes up in a daily feed even if you were not looking for it. This sort of reels us in. By the time you are done reading through these feeds, you can be over it for the day, so tend not to check Nicks as often (although I do).
Marvelos 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:04 am

The General wrote:

Not only is there Big Footy, which has been around for a long time, but there is quite a few Facebook pages that get a lot of input.
Given most people have Facebook, and check it regularly, it comes up in a daily feed even if you were not looking for it. This sort of reels us in. By the time you are done reading through these feeds, you can be over it for the day, so tend not to check Nicks as often (although I do).

I last about 5 minutes on Bigfooty, the anti Collingwood mods are rife.
The General Aquarius

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:14 am

Marvelos wrote:

I last about 5 minutes on Bigfooty, the anti Collingwood mods are rife.

Yeah, not a fan myself. 3/4's of the posts are the same people arguing amongst themselves.
On the March 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:54 am

FWIW I really miss the scoreboard chat - thought it helped stir the match day conversation!
Marvelos 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:14 am

I reckon the site needs a fundraising drive to upgrade the forum, it’s pretty old school, horrible to use from a phone.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 6:13 am

You might be right Marvelos, but tbh, I reckon Nicks is fine the way it is. Maybe I'm just old school, but it seems to work OK.

Btw, there do seem to be a few here who spend more time taking pot shots at each other than commenting on the Pies. However, I just find it rather amusing. This year I've been logging in from my base here in Paris, and am generally several hours behind everyone, but it's helped me feel connected to all things Collingwood. So thanks everyone. Go Pies!
blackmissionary Cancer

Lurker King

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 9:40 am

Social media has killed specialist forums. it's as simple as that.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 9:52 am

The General wrote:

yep, there's heaps of Collingwood related facebook groups, some set up by people who used to post here.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 9:59 am

It's good. My only beef is when things are relegates to the "Other AFL" thread, which to me is a bit of a graveyard.

I'd love to have a "Other Round XX matches discussion" sticky in the general discussion. Especially now with these games being so important.

The General Aquarius

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 10:35 am

Marvelos wrote:
I reckon the site needs a fundraising drive to upgrade the forum, it’s pretty old school, horrible to use from a phone.

I'm fine with this format while on a big screen. But Nicks is almost impossible to casually browse while on a phone. This is where the other forums have the edge over it. And I think most people probably use their phones for the net these days.

If it had a phone friendly version, I think the site may get a few more visits.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 11:14 am

Marvelos wrote:
I’ve had a few usernames, Intentcity, Defender, BobSugar, I’ve never been banned or anything, just lost log in details etc.
light bulb moment! Thought I recognised your turn of phrase!
23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 11:41 am

Like it back in the day the likes of Spook,sly and Gunner also the great JLC
23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:11 pm

Love Dave Hatley to come back he’s a champion best mate of mine

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 12:57 pm

and where is Hal?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:05 pm

Bring back Jack Spain, Mr Dapper Travis Cloke and Thompsoc,

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 2 of 13