I'm back!

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:01 am
Post subject: I'm back!Reply with quote

In trainning that is.
It's been almost 4 months since I tore my achillies doing a PB half marathon.
I've put on almost 6kg & really struggled for motivation.
It was nothing special, a very slow 7k, but I've pulled up well and can finally stsrt to follow a bit of a programme.
Next physio appointment is in 2 weeks, hopefully it's the last.

I'm sure i was verging on the edge of depression not being able to run. How easy is it to put weight on!?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 12:59 pm

Good to hear you are able to re-start training, it can be very easy to put it on, but hopefully everything will look for you there now that you are free to continue. Smile

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:25 pm
Post subject: Re: I'm back!Reply with quote

In trainning that is.
It's been almost 4 months since I tore my achillies doing a PB half marathon.
I've put on almost 6kg & really struggled for motivation.
It was nothing special, a very slow 7k, but I've pulled up well and can finally stsrt to follow a bit of a programme.
Next physio appointment is in 2 weeks, hopefully it's the last.

I'm sure i was verging on the edge of depression not being able to run. How easy is it to put weight on!?

It's easy to put it on, Skids - but after your "how a drinker trains for a marathon" thread, I suspect that you might have stayed "in training" while not running ! I've cut down to one drink a week over the last few months, and it's amazing the difference drinking makes to weight gain and loss. I was never heavy, but my tendency to gain stopped when the elbow did.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:27 pm

Where were you never heavy but his or her tendency to gain stopped? Since when.
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 11:45 pm

Nice one Skids!!
I'm over your side of the country at the moment visiting the out-laws, if you're keen for a run down to Bunbury I'll av a beer waitin' for ya! Very Happy

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:50 am

King Monkey wrote:
Nice one Skids!!
I'm over your side of the country at the moment visiting the out-laws, if you're keen for a run down to Bunbury I'll av a beer waitin' for ya! Very Happy

Mate he'll track you down like The Terminator:

"Are you King Monkey"?
"Your beers... give them to me..."

King Monkey 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:02 am

Laughing Laughing
2 odd hour drive from Perth to Bunbury, would love to see someone make that run!! Laughing Laughing
I suppose I could lend him my magic cloud..... Cool

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:03 am

King Monkey wrote:
Nice one Skids!!

Mate he'll track you down like The Terminator:

"Are you King Monkey"?
"Your beers... give them to me..."

Laughing

How long you there for KM? I'm back in Perth for a week tonight. Might take the old Stang for a cruise south.

King Monkey 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:15 pm

Ha!
We're heading home Monday night.
Was taking the piss with the run, but it'd be lovely to share a beer or 2 with you if you're keen.

About to head up to Perth to have a bit of a look around, etc.
It's an absolute must that I get a selfie with my cricket club hat on at the WACA ground. The boys started a ripping tradition a few years back, pack your club hat wherever you go and post photos of renowned (and not so renowned Laughing ) cricket grounds.
Gotta have a quick look at Subiaco Oval as well, the boy is keen as for that one.

We'll be in Perth when the Dogs v Hawks is on tonight.
Any suggestions for a pub to watch the footy where the missus and kids won't feel out of place?? And you up for that??

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:24 pm

I land about 6pm and have to head to my brothers place, he's in Wanneroo, which is about 30k north of the city, so I'd be pushing it tonight. I've been up since 2am so will be keen to hit yhe hay early tonight.
PM me your number mate and we'll definitely catch up b4 you head back.

A pub to watch the game ...... the Vic in Hay St Subi if your going to Subi Oval?
My local, The Greenwood is good, 15 mins north on the Freeway, Warwick Rd exit, turn right, it's 2k up yhe road on your left.

King Monkey 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:46 pm

Cool.
Thanks for the suggestions, will check those 2 out.

PM phone number on way.

Enjoy your sleep!!!! Very Happy

King Monkey 

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:15 am

Got back to Bunbury not long ago.
Ended up lobbing at The Vic around the corner from Subiaco Oval to watch the footy. (Can't believe how badly I actually wanted someone other than Collingwood to win. Shocked )
Great recommendation! Thanks!
Good feed, live music in one part of the place with footy on big screens and commentary in the other section.
$8 pints too. Very Happy

King Monkey 

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:18 am

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2023 8:10 pm

Instead of clogging the happy or sad threads, thought I'd float this one again.
Hoping the title is a sign Wink

We'll be heading to the hospital in just over 36hrs.

Had a rough night after the game last night. Woke up about 1am and the cogs in the brain were spinning out of control with crazy thoughts of what is ahead. I got out of bed and had a shower. Made a cup of tea and ate a small bowl of Greek yoghurt with; a diced apple, some paleo mix, chia seeds and pshylium husk mixed in it. Had an orange too.

Put fox footy on and replay of Port/Hawks was on, our game v wiggles to follow. Watched for a while, then nodded off for about an hour, woke up, our game was on... remember watching bits of different quarters in-between naps. 7am I got back into bed and slept until nearly 9am.

Felt heaps better/rested. Took the dog for a walk then went to the Uncles for lunch.
Staying strong but getting pretty tense about it all as the operation gets closer. So grateful to have Kelly, she's been amazing and support from.some of my friends and family has been priceless.

Nearly there... now it's time to eat some ribs. Wild weather setting in here now.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2023 10:07 pm

^Hang in there, Skidster. The op itself will be a routine day at the office for the surgeon, then they'll morphine you up and you can rest easy for a bit. That's great you've got so many good people around you. We'll be thinking of you and awaiting an update when the silly drugs wear off 💪

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 1 of 11