Coronavirus 5 - Last Blood

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 33, 34, 35 ... 60, 61, 62  Next
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2022 10:10 am

Oh bugger David, not good for you. The government doesn't seem to care along with a lot of the general population I'm afraid.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2022 1:32 pm

Bugger, best wishes Ken and David.

I see that Albo has put back the $750 Covid payment for casuals and others without sick leave, Ken you should check if you or the family are eligible

KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2022 1:35 pm

Bugger, best wishes Ken and David.

I see that Albo has put back the $750 Covid payment for casuals and others without sick leave, Ken you should check if you or the family are eligible

Yeah I did just see that, I will check it out.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2022 1:36 pm

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-16/anthony-albanese-covid19-pandemic-payments-reinstated-nat-cab/101244402

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2022 4:13 pm

KenH wrote:
My wife felt unwell on Thursday so I couldn't go to work she tested positive on Friday, my son and i both felt unwell yesterday and have now confirmed we all have Covid.
So as we are all in the same business (our own) no income coming in for not sure how long. As we mainly work in hospitals and nursing homes I'm guessing we won't be allowed in for 2 weeks.
Hopefully some of the other work places might let us in.
Feeling very crappy at the moment.

That’s terrible mate.
I’d certainly talk to Centrelink

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2022 4:15 pm

Sorry to hear, Ken. I can sympathise – I tested positive again yesterday, too!

It's a pity the government got rid of JobKeeper. They really should have some system for ensuring that small-business owners and sole traders can be compensated for lost wages. Even putting questions of fairness to one side, you need people to have an incentive not to turn up to work sick.

Bugger, are you crook?

The incentive thing worries me too. We are qld but wear a mask in every shop we go in

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2022 12:54 am

Still waiting for the free RATS that Albo demanded when in opposition…

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2022 7:08 pm

My bosses son has tested positive yesterday, now the Boss is feeling like crap despite testing negative. Different symptoms, he has a chesty barking cough and she has like a bad head cold.

Pretty much working from home for the next month. If I do go into the office I have to wear a mask while I'm there, which doesn't turn me on.

I see the government is now "strongly recommending" masks in indoor settings but falling short of mandating it. Wonder what the number of people complying will be?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2022 11:18 pm

Our office has done the same thing, ‘strongly recommended’ but basically mandated it.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 12:19 pm

It’s starting to look a little like pandemic-January again. 423 deaths in Australia in the past 7 days - so we’re just above 60 deaths per day. The trend is up.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 7:19 pm

I don't know why they're bothering to publish case numbers, they would be woefully under reported.

PCR testing stations have been closed, RAT's are hit and miss as to accuracy and most people who have a few cold/flu symptoms wouldn't bother testing anyway.

My employer went back to WFH where you can and masks in the office where you can't, partly for OH&S reasons for employees but also with clients in mind.

We provide face to face support services to vulnerable people, work best done office based where possible. Without precautions, one infected person could take out a team of 10 for a week or more leaving over 100 vulnerable people without support.

Schools enforcing mask mandates on children is bullshit, they aren't the cohort most likely to get infected or ill. It's the 20-40 demographic spreading it and the over 80's dying from it

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 9:53 pm

I don't know why they're bothering to publish case numbers, they would be woefully under reported.

I can give you an example of OVER reported. A lot of employers (nearly all in the mining sector) gave their employees a bonus 14 days 'special leave' to accommodate covid cases at the start of this flu season in 2019.
I know people who have sent in pics of others positive RAT's prior to their shift, then having 2 weeks off with full pay. The numbers would astound you.

I bombed out, living with a school teacher and a day care centre worker, we had to be very stringent with our testing at home... even though we all tested negatives on the RATs, dozens of times, the PCR confirmed we were all in fact positive, right at the start of my 2 weeks R n R.

Then I thought, at least I get this exemption card now and don't have to line up at the airport on fly out day for 3 months. Get my fancy, yellow exemption card and what do they do, change it to 4 weeks Laughing . No wins for me.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 11:43 pm

mandated masks indoors has to happen, its common sense
and really, its not hard!
and thats from a lipreading deaf person!

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 8:03 am

mandated masks indoors has to happen, its common sense
and really, its not hard!
and thats from a lipreading deaf person!

You'd think so. Amazing how quiet the so called political leaders are this time 'round. Where's our 11am grandstanding briefing?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 12:11 pm

We know that the Victorian CHO recommended this about a week ago and Cabinet rejected it. That is because we are getting too close to November. The only way it could happen is with bipartisan agreement - but the LNP in Victoria has nothing to run on except opposition to anything the ALP does that may be unpopular. It's all a rather cynical political calculus in which the appropriate public policy aim is sacrificed at the altar of election-posturing.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 33, 34, 35 ... 60, 61, 62  Next
Page 34 of 62