Hey Hey It's 50 Years

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 11:32 am
Post subject: Hey Hey It's 50 YearsReply with quote

Found myself strangely looking forward to it.

Watched it. It wasn't that great. Can't see it coming back in any form, unless they bring in a completely new cast with occasional cameos from the originals.

Did you watch this show back in the day? Would you like to see it come back?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 1:08 pm

Only very vaguely recall it from early childhood. My general sense is that it was already pretty stale in the late '90s let alone when they tried to resurrect it a decade ago, and that at this point any nostalgia is ... somewhat misplaced.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 2:54 pm

Um no David, it was a smash hit in it’s time! Everyone watched it! It started Saturday morning then went adult in the evening! It was brilliant for a few years!

Not misplaced at all, I forgot it was on or I would have watched it. I only realised when I flicked over from the block.

Red faces was a crack up! And chook lotto! .

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 3:23 pm

Perhaps it's one of those "you just had to be there" things!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 3:55 pm

Back in the late 80's it was a ritual to watch Hey Hey before going out on the town Saturday night. It did become pretty much a self caricature towards the end though.
KenH Gemini

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 3:59 pm

Enjoyed it in the 80's but was pretty ordinary in the 90's lost it's way and couldn't be bothered watching it the other night and wouldn't watch it again.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 4:21 pm

Back in the late 80's it was a ritual to watch Hey Hey before going out on the town Saturday night. It did become pretty much a self caricature towards the end though.

yep exactly!!!!
the end wasnt pretty, but hey hey, when is it ever!!!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 4:23 pm

KenH wrote:
Enjoyed it in the 80's but was pretty ordinary in the 90's lost it's way and couldn't be bothered watching it the other night and wouldn't watch it again.

i think they got too try hard in the 90s, it was starting to become a different world with th internet, 8.30pm safe dirty jokes didnt cut it anymore!!!

everything has a use by date, it was fun while it lasted!!!

those 20 to 1 shows can be funny but also cringeworthy!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 6:14 pm

You can watch it on 7+.

As the cast got older, I think they just lost their flow. But it was very good in its time. I remember when The Footy Show was looking for a new host, Darryl Somers name came up. Laughing Imagine that, Hey Hey It's The Footy Show.

We haven't had a good variety show in years, but is there still a market for it?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2021 6:33 pm

Good question, I think there could be a market for a good variety show but I don't think the numbers would work out. Live Variety shows can be expensive to produce ( I believe) and with all the streaming services available, you'd have to pitch to a market that would attract good advertising revenue.

The FTA stations have a fetish for reality TV which seems to rate highly across different demographics so is fairly low risk and good ROI generally, I can't see any of them taking the risk until that bubble bursts.

Anyway, where will we be in 50 years?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lm5tsUjYVjk

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:37 pm

OMG I absolutely loved the show. Enjoyed the Saturday night ritual of having a few drinks at home before going out raging. I thought that the 50 year shows was alright and I hope they continue with it because they have years of great material. I’m probably now one of those really boring people I used to ridicule and wonder how they could stay home and watch hey hey and not go out afterwards! Those were the days I guess when life was a bit simpler.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:42 pm

OMG I absolutely loved the show. Enjoyed the Saturday night ritual of having a few drinks at home before going out raging. I thought that the 50 year shows was alright and I hope they continue with it because they have years of great material. I’m probably now one of those really boring people I used to ridicule and wonder how they could stay home and watch hey hey and not go out afterwards! Those were the days I guess when life was a bit simpler.

truth mate, right there with you!