Cricket !!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
couragous cloke Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 4:23 pm
Post subject: Cricket !!Reply with quote

YAY!!! SPORT!! thank god i can barrick for some sort of sport! who's gunna be tuning into the cricket this summer??

what a crappy first day, too bad the poms cant catch!

footy ROX!
molloymagic Aquarius

*Thanks 4 the great memorys Jarrod!**miss ya*

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 4:44 pm

There's not much competiton to the so called superior aussies!!.

Used to have a fav batsman but hey he got given the sack and hey he retired!!!!!. You were a great cricketer Mark Waugh. I finally met mark plus slater,ponting,steve,glenn mcgrath about 6 yrs ago.It was at a Tassie vs NSW game. Was cool! The day i mean,not the weather *rofwl*. Anyway,its not nearly as brilliant as seeing the mighty magpies play AFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Cricket for me is just something to fill in the gaps till the next afl season rolls around!!!.

AUSSIE AUSSIE AUSSIE OI OI OI!!!!!!*ROFWL*

Jarrod Molloy RULES!!!!
*2003:The injury free season for Molloy!!*
*2002 Joint V.C*

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 4:48 pm

Can you believe that English captain ??!! Did he read David Gower's book - 'How To Lose The Ashes When You Play The Aussies'.
The first chapter goes something like this: In the first, vitally important, Test, when you're fortunate enough to win the toss, it's a hot day, your strength is your batting, it's a good wicket and they have the best opening combo in world cricket and near best first drop, a bloke named Gilchrist batting as low as 7, you invite them to BAT !!!!!!

Clokey, m8888888888. What was he thinking.

GO THE MIGHTY WOODSMEN !! ALL THE WAY IN 2003 AND BEYOND !!!!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:13 pm

Actually i think it was Atherton's book "I'm McGrath's Bitch and Other Tales of Torture."

excerpt...

Chapter Two "The Confrontation"

"Hey Athers you ##$$in limp piece of #$#" said McGrath

"Who me Glenn?" I replied.

"Yeah you, you #$#$#in w#@$#er. You hold your $#%# as tight as your holding that bat. Stop choking it," he mocked.

"Now Glenn, is that really necessary?" i calmly responded, wondering how he knew about my hotel room habits.

"Here it comes, bottoms up" cried McGrath on his way in, ball clenched in his sweaty palm, his chest glistening with an afternoon's work, in the hot, steamy atmosphere of the ashes test, the heat making me, jumpy, fidgety, horny even.

"Plonk!" [off stump now lays flat on the ground].

"Thanks Glenn, i was here for a good time, not a long time, cheerio, see you next innings what." i said after he disturbed my furniture.

"@#$@# off pommy!" was all he said as a trudged off.

I think he's playing hard to get.

Hard at it. The Collingwood way.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:19 pm

Loved that, Cam. Lol. Lots.

Abi 

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 3:08 am

Nassar Insane, it's a pity there isn't more competition. I would like to see our batsmen really tested but their bowlers wouldn't even crack our Pura Cup teams.

Pie fan forever

Murray 

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 4:09 am

Ah - again, excellent stuff Cam, very funny.
You really should consider writting material for somebody.

DARE TO STRUGGLE - DARE TO WIN

Blanch Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 4:53 am

Bloody beautiful Cam! Nothing better than having the world say that we are no longer as good as we used to be and then trouncing Pakistan and now the poms. Love it!

My oxygen is Collingwood. Without it I die.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 1:07 pm

thanks for the encouragement people, i really appreciate that you apprectiate my work. cheers

Hard at it. The Collingwood way.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 1:17 pm

I go for Australia but i think the following:

Hayden, Langer, Gilchrist and Ponting (to a lesser degree) are carrying the Australians batting wise. Hayden is the only player who can face quality spin bowling.

The bowlers are doing a great job and its a good even effort.

By the end of the summer i think Martyn Lehmann and maybe Steve Waugh will be dropped. I would be inclined to keep Waugh as he is a good captain and great competitor. Martyn and Lehmann i dont mind if they get dropped.

I also hope they get rid of the rotation with their one day team!! They need to focus on developing Andrew Symonds and Shane Watson and Ian Harvey. Its about time these two players take their opportunities and realise their potential. Their batting in the one dayers needs to be strengthened, too often it is prone to collapsing especially against quality spin.

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 2:38 pm

haha lol funny stuff cam.

yes hayden is a gun!
i like watching langer the best, dammit he went out 4 22!

TARKO TARKO MAN!
I WANT TO BE A TARKO MAN!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:16 am

'Hayden, Langer, Gilchrist and Ponting (to a lesser degree) are carrying the Australians batting wise' Ponting (to a lesser degree) ?? What does this mean, JLC ? He's only hit 4 tons in the last 6 Tests !! Compare that to Gilly's record over the same period.

And why do you think Martyn will be dropped ? He's averaged near 60 since he came back into the team. And what's your problem with Lehmann ? Surely a batsman who averages 57 at first class level, over many years, deserves his chance.

Often, commentators say similar to you about dropping certain players without much thought of replacements. You mention completely dismissing the middle order. Which 3 batsmen would you bring in ?

[This message has been edited by MAGFAN8 (edited 10 November 2002).]
MissMagpie_20 Capricorn

BUCKS SIMPLY THE BEST!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 7:51 am

U GO DONNY!!!!!

Ricky Ponting is an absolute legend and i have no idea how u can say 'to a lesser extent' JLC. Just look at his recent records. He's an absolute gun.

'RICKY RULES THE WORLD'

Floreat Pica - May the Magpies prosper

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 8:07 am

Well against quality spin bowling he struggles. Below is his record against India overseas. I think Ponting is a good player but to be a great he has to play better against spin bowling as well. Hayden is the one player for Australia who is capable against all attacks on any conditions.

Runs W/R Ct St I R Match

14 - - - 1 L Only Test v Ind in Ind 1996/97 at Delhi
- DNB 3 0 2
13 - - - 3
- DNB 0 0 4
- DNB 0 0 1 L 1st Test v Ind in Ind 1997/98 at Chennai
18 - - - 2
- DNB 1 0 3
2 - - - 4
60 - - - 1 L 2nd Test v Ind in Ind 1997/98 at Calcutta (Kolkata)
- DNB 0 0 2
9 - - - 3
- DNB 1 0 1 W 3rd Test v Ind in Ind 1997/98 at Bangalore
16 - - - 2
- DNB 1 0 3
DNB - - - 4
- DNB 1 0 1 W 1st Test v Ind in Ind 2000/01 at Mumbai
0 - - - 2
- DNB 2 0 3
DNB - - - 4
6 - - - 1 L 2nd Test v Ind in Ind 2000/01 at Calcutta (Kolkata)
- DNB 2 0 2
- 0/41 1 0 3
0 - - - 4
0 - - - 1 L 3rd Test v Ind in Ind 2000/01 at Chennai
- 0/2 1 0 2
11 - - - 3
- DNB 0 0 4

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues
MissMagpie_20 Capricorn

BUCKS SIMPLY THE BEST!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2002 8:30 am

Lol u just love to try and prove someone wrong dont u JLC, hmmm.

GO RICKY UR A LEGEND MATE! Spin bowling should be banned when Ricky bats

Floreat Pica - May the Magpies prosper
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 1 of 11