Grand Final. Demons v. Bulldogs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Other AFL

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 17, 18, 19  Next

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2021 7:47 pm

90 nice wrote:
Dogs can not play against teams that just flow and keep kicking goals either they prefer it a tough slog and low scoring too thats their style.
The conditions suited Melbourne a heaps more due to their run and flow like game.
Dogs might have preferred a wet weather game.

I don't agree that WB prefer a hard slog. But I agree they might have preferred the wet. The problem is they're a tall or two short. Their defence has just Keath holding it together. Melbourne have talls across the ground.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2021 7:57 pm

90 nice wrote:
Great to see Melbourne win their premiership and is a real relief too and a hell of a lot better then those dreaded tiger flags days they remind me of the Covid lockdowns too much and covid in general. I hate the tigers.
Congrats to the DEES.
Well Done.
Its a great feeling.

Dunno about great feeling... But, yeah, Richmond's success was bad for footy. Melbourne may be the first worthy premier since Hawthorn. It's good to see a flag decided by more than just fitness and lack of injuries. (You still need a good injury run to win the flag, but it shouldn't be the only thing.)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2021 11:09 pm

Jordon gets a medal for sitting on the pine all night.

And the night GF and half time show gets the arse from me.

23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:09 pm

Agree K richmonds success 17,19 and 20 was bad for footy but the 21 dees win is great for footy
23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:38 pm

Turning point when caleb dumped gawn on the floor i felt was a cheap shot the dees fired up from then. Was the tinyest player decking the tallest player. Dees said how dare you. Dees tore the dogs apart from that point onwards.
Thought Caleb daniel was lucky not to get reported too.
Was a low act and cost the dogs the cup i think.
Dees ran all over them from that point.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:46 pm

Don’t think that incident was the reason the game was lost to the Dogs

For mine Dees had the tank for 4 quarter game whereas Dogs may be 3 quarter game tops.—- you could tell once Dees hit the accelerator Dogs were 5 steps behind in every chase and bodily drained at every contest

Last qtr they almost were onlookers as against participants—-the road they took to the Grannie took its toll

But I feel who ever played Dees would have been pushed to beat them

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2021 6:48 pm

AFL Coaches Association Votes for the Grand Final:

10 Christian Petracca (MELB)
8 Bayley Fritsch (MELB)
5 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
3 Caleb Daniel (WB)
2 Christian Salem (MELB)
1 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
1 Angus Brayshaw (MELB)

Finals leaderboard:

25 Jack Macrae WB
23 Christian Petracca MELB
19 Clayton Oliver MELB
17 Bailey Smith WB
11 Marcus Bontempelli WB
11 Max Gawn MELB
10 Tom Hawkins GEEL
10 Isaac Heeney SYD
9 Travis Boak PORT
8 Bayley Fritsch MELB
8 Tom Liberatore WB
8 Christian Salem MELB
8 Zach Tuohy GEEL
7 Ollie Wines PORT
6 Aliir Aliir PORT
6 Caleb Daniel WB
6 Josh Kelly GWS
6 Luke Parker SYD
5 Charlie Cameron BL
5 Mitch Hannan WB
5 Jack Henry GEEL
5 Hugh McCluggage BL
5 Cody Weightman WB
23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 10:37 am

Only real Dogs player worth votes was the Bont the rest were spectators lucky for daniel to get any votes he just did kick ins thats it and decked Gawn.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 11:20 am

^ Daniels had 26 disposals to halftime (not including kick-ins, because those aren't generally credited as disposals). He was scarcely a "spectator". He didn't get involved in the game as much in the second half - but that was partly because the ball was kicked over his head through the goals, repeatedly.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 10:13 pm

Bontempelli conceded Melbourne's star onballers, including Norm Smith medallist Christian Petracca and Clayton Oliver, had been allowed to get out the front of stoppages far too easily when the game was on the line.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/682147/-it-just-wasn-t-us-bruised-and-battered-dogs-stung-by-gf-thrashing

browny totally agreed with you, on the footy panel he played those three centres which led to the demons getting on top, in the second clip Treloar drops his head, and he knows he cant chase

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2021 10:20 pm

I believe the Bont was carrying that leg injury from previous final

Sure they should not play injured players in finals but they rolled the dice

A fit Bont would have run the game out

Treloar did some good things but apart from that his usual accumulation of pocessions didn’t tally with effectiveness

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2021 2:10 am

browny totally agreed with you, on the footy panel he played those three centres which led to the demons getting on top, in the second clip Treloar drops his head, and he knows he cant chase

As I mentioned in the "Whither Treloar" thread on Sunday morning (here: https://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?t=88496&start=300 ):

The move to put him in the centre square with 8 minutes and 40 seconds to play in the third quarter to give Bontempelli a breather after Melbourne's 6th goal was a masterstroke. From that moment, you knew Melbourne could not lose. Never have so many goals been kicked from direct centre breaks by so many against so little physical opposition. Melbourne went at better than a goal every 2 minutes of elapsed playing time for the remainder of the game. The magnificent drop of the head with 8 minutes and 23 seconds to play (no seriously, how do you lose two centre clearances in 17 seconds in a Grand Final?) in the third summed up his style - "When the going gets tough, the tough get going. When the tough get going, you really, really, really, need someone else."

"Why the sudden turnaround? Is there a reason for it?", asks BT. Here's a hint BT - during the last 9 minutes of the third quarter, Treloar was in the middle for a total of 1 minute and 25 seconds of elapsed time, during which Melbourne scored 5 goals.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsOmizjm0Xw
23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2021 2:41 pm

Surprised Treloar did not feature in the votes though he played a good game and started to kick goals and got a run on in the dogs forward line

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2021 3:49 pm

he got a brief run on that got them 2 goals, and kicked the last, i focused on him as im sure most collingwood fans would, for me i saw what i always did with him, he stands back and waits for the ball to come out, and i was always yelling "get in there son!"
they reckon he was equal 2nd for the dogs, meh. he played ok, but he was in no way going to be the mesiah for them.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 9:52 pm

According to the AFL's official player ratings, Treloar was 2nd-best on ground, behind only Petracca.

But y'all know what I think of player rating systems...
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Other AFL All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 17, 18, 19  Next
Page 18 of 19