What made me laugh today... Pt 2

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2024 4:30 pm

I often see how soft this generation is and boy oh boy, had a classic example of it last night.

Plane flies to site from Perth, it's a 55 minute flight. 100 seat plane and 40 were scheduled to fly out.

About 15 minutes before the pilot advised me that boarding would commence, 2 of the hosties started heading toward the terminal. I thought they must be going for a smoke or to use the dunny.
Next thing, the plane shuts down and pilots disembark.

The young hostie isn't feeling very well. She couldn't just suck it up and get through a 55 minute, that was only 40% full.
So, due to CASA protocols, the plane can't fly, they must have 3 hosties.
The 40 people had to wait for the airline to fly another plane up, with 1 fresh hostie on board to enable the crew to go home.

She didn't look to crook to me when she boarded her personal flight on the other plane to go home.

Weak.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:28 pm

Mate, to be fair, a 55 minute flight one way, then a refuel and 55 minute flight back, that's suddenly 2 hours of feeling crook before you can start the trip home.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2024 8:59 am

She only had to last the 55 minutes back to Perth.

40 people, plus the pilots and other crew didn't get back to Perth until 9pm because the precious petal (our site nurses words) couldn't tough it out for an hour.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2024 3:22 pm

Do you actually have any idea of what her problem was (or the extent of it), though? I tend to prefer not to automatically assume the worst of people, and my guess is that most flight attendants would rather push through a bit of pain and discomfort than inconvenience others. What we see on the outside may not always reflect what's going on.

Also, attendants ultimately need to be able to assist in emergencies. If one is unwell enough, they may not be able to do that – so the instructions from above may well be for them to stand down. It's no good hanging that on her if so.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2024 4:25 pm

she might have got awful news they described as "ill"

however, with 40 people on board, and 2 other hosties, i agree, hide her somewhere and fly back like that! I mean she had to wait too!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:24 pm

Made the grandson a double cheeseburger with chips (from a packet) on the side and a milo for dinner.

Mum looked at it and told him "that's huge, can you eat all that?"

He replies, "yep, when I go to McDonalds I always get a double cheeseburger, not a single one"

I piped in, "Is mine better than McDonalds?"

He replies "Of course, you're like Picasso just with food"

Mum says "What's Picasso?"

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22
Page 22 of 22