The Nathan Buckley I Know

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:21 pm
Post subject: The Nathan Buckley I KnowReply with quote

Really good article in a Adelaide online news sheet - not really about his coaching so thought it needed a new thread

https://indaily.com.au/sport/football/2021/06/11/the-nathan-buckley-i-know-isnt-the-one-you-think-you-know/

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:34 pm

A great read. Thanks TP.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:39 pm
Post subject: Re: The Nathan Buckley I KnowReply with quote

Thank you TB. Great to hear something straight from someone who knows him and his whole history so well.

"Throughout his career, Buckley’s football excellence, brought about by deep commitment and an intense drive to succeed, was misinterpreted by those who envied his talent".
I suspect envy and jealousy is behind many people's attitude towards Bucks. Wink

The final line sums it up for me perfectly:
"Thank you Mr Buckley. It’s been amazing".
winpies Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:39 pm

Great to hear of this perspective on a Collingwood great. Thank you.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 3:02 pm

Just re-reading this excellent article and came upon this statistic that I was not aware of:
"was awarded a Brownlow vote or more in one third of the matches he played".
That's pretty incredible. As the author says, to go from a skinny kid to that is fairly damn impressive.

A Bulldogs supporter on BF summed him up as a champion player, champion coach and champion bloke. That's how I'll always view him. What a privilege it's been to see him grow into a Collingwood legend.
the fuzz 

Fuzz loves Bruzz

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:30 pm

The Nathan Buckley I met was at the start of the 2019 season.
We went down to training with my Dad who was unfortunately suffering from MND. We got to meet a lot of the players who were all fantastic, but the one who really stood out was Bucks.
The genuine care and respect he showed towards Dad was amazing. He was asking questions and had all the time in the world for us. It made our day. He said to Dad before he left, "Lets get you a another premiership mate". We didn't quite get there, but Bucks, you did everything you could to get it.

Thanks Bucks.
kymbo5@yahoo.com.au 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:36 pm

Thanks so much for posting this article. Terrific read.
orie Cancer

A MADPIE FOR LIFE

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 4:48 pm
Post subject: the bucks I knewReply with quote

Perhaps Sly and Sook should read this article.
I was enjoying watchign their you tube podcast but the last month it has been terrible to hear the amount of negative talk and disrespect shown to Bucks. I won't be watching them anymore.

Lord Maximus Farquaad Aries

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 5:10 pm

Seems like a rewriting of history in relation to the Figjam name. I heard about that name in the pre internet era and before there was any media reference to it at all. My source? A player that was at Collingwood when Buckley arrived and then played into the next century, not all at our club though. I can't name him for obvious reasons. There didn't appear to be any real malice in it though, it was just one of those footy club things bandied about in a group which didn't include Buckley.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 5:28 pm

Living here in Maroochydore, I saw Collingwood come here a few years in a row to do a summer training run here on the coast basically doing a February training session in each of the 3 main clubs and some junior clinics generally lasting a week. The night they trained at Maroochydore there were literally thousands of people there to see the boys and after the training session was basically a greet the fan’s session with photo ops and autographs. Every player gave their time and the line up to get an autograph and photo with Bucks was literally hundreds. Nathan was prodded me poked and kissed and hugged and photographed with everyone and right at the end, well over an hour later, closer to 2 hrs, a couple of the boys, who had all showered and changed and had to get on the bus to another night time engagement in Caloundra about 30 Kms away, literally grabbed bucks and dragged him onto the bus as he didn’t, want to disappoint anyone. All done with a genuine smile on his face. I certainly will not forget that day.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 6:14 pm
Post subject: Re: the bucks I knewReply with quote

orie wrote:
I was enjoying watchign their you tube podcast but the last month it has been terrible to hear the amount of negative talk and disrespect shown to Bucks. I won't be watching them anymore.

This has been my experience too orie, over recent weeks, with regard to the Collingwood Rant.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 6:16 pm

Fuzz and mudlark, thanks for sharing your positive personal experiences with Bucks. Smile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:04 pm

Good article, thanks for sharing.
orie Cancer

A MADPIE FOR LIFE

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:37 pm
Post subject: Re: the bucks I knewReply with quote

PyreneesPie wrote:
orie wrote:

This has been my experience too orie, over recent weeks, with regard to the Collingwood Rant.

That makes 2 of us.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:02 pm

Look I'm going to say it straight up - great player, sure he's loyal, total blight for the club... felt that way ever since he arrived and well here we are today.