The Backward Right Are Dragging You Down

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 4:19 pm

Is it possible you overestimate the identification that voters feel for these parties? My understanding is that the low regard in which politicians are held is actually pretty consistent across the political spectrum, and I suspect many Liberal voters know full well that they’re voting for used-car salesmen and simply don’t care. So while there’ll always be a few partisan diehards who base their identity around being a Liberal voter, there’s no real ScoMo personality cult that I’m aware of. It’s more the case that people have certain things they believe a Liberal government is more likely to provide (say, upper-middle-class tax cuts), and certain ideological preoccupations that they feel will be reflected by policy. We can rage all we like about the Iraq War and Manus Island, but neither of those things ever hurt them one bit – at least, not that they can see.

Americans have a much more worshipful and uncritical relationship with their presidents (the ones on their side of the fence, that is), and even a great many Trump supporters were quite pragmatic about their support for him: they could see he was flawed, but recognised him as a tool to get what they wanted (conservative supreme court justices, more restrictions on abortion, low taxes for higher income earners, saving them from the invasion of the foreign hordes, etc.). That kind of transactional relationship is not actually such an insane approach to politics, and maybe those of us on the left and centre-left could even learn something from it, incidentally (we tend to worry far too much about personal virtue; as the old saying goes, the right looks for recruits and the left looks for heretics)..

Pretty much spot on. I think people who get overly wound up over politics like a sporting team, need psychiatric help.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 7:01 pm

Unfortunately, deflection won't cut it at this scale of wreckage, which was carried out through extremist politics of just that very sort.

Trillions of wasted dollars due to grossly negligent decisions; extremely worrying economic decline; misery upon misery visited on the world and environment through disastrous policy; helplessness for those trapped in rubbish jobs in a neglected economy; housing unaffordability for the young; planning going nowhere; destructive view after destructive view — all aggressively pursued by the Glibs and to hell with the next generation.

Of course the people who cheered it on are hoping no will remember the details, all the while doubling and tripling down on the mess to save face, as if that's all that matters here.

There is no way Australia can take another two decades of reckless and irresponsible decisions like that. It's beyond time for people to take responsibility and rectify things.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 8:53 pm

^ You got it.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 9:21 pm

"Not overruling" is Eddie-speak for "being begged for help by fire experts and fire services all over the country and flatly refusing to do anything at all".

This is why the recent fires were so very, very bad: everybody knew that a firestorm was on the cards but Morrison refused to listen. Only AFTER the national disaster did he agree to provide basic services like a national large air tanker system to be shared on an as-needed basis between the regions. And, of course, after bagging the easy photo-opp and making the grandiose announcement, he quietly reallocated the money to other things. As usual. Never in the history of this nation has one man "spent" the same dollar so many times in front of so many cameras.

lol, the political action group of greenies were offered meetings with the relevant minister but refused because they only wanted to go straight to the top. Why should the PM meet with every political action group? What's the point of ministers and portfolios if people will only talk to the PM?

Also Australia has had LATs for years that are shared by the states based on who needs it at the time.

Besides nothing this government could do that would have made any difference to the fire season, just compare the Ash Wednesday and Black Saturday fires to see all the resources in the world mean nothing when the conditions are bad.

Fact was that fire season was nothing but Morrison bashing for things he had no control over, like the dumb bogans whinging that he wasn't funding the NSWRFS...Or complaining he went on holidays instead of more photo ops. The Federal Government had been providing assistance for months yet the second the he leaves the country people cried foul, because when it's not accompanied by big announcements and they just do the job, no one notices. It's funny people complain about the photo ops and announcements, yet then complain when they're not doing photo ops and announcements.

Perhaps he should have followed Albos lead, big photo op cooking breakfast for the firies, just happened to by chance get snapped buying water in a shop...That was fantastic, except those firies who went hungry because they weren't able to be served until the stage managed photo op began, so if they finished before Albo arrived, bad luck, they had to go to Maccas to get a feed!!!

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 9:37 pm

^ That would be the twenty three former fire and emergency chiefs who begged Morrison for a meeting to discuss urgent needs for the upcoming fire season, notably the large aerial tankers which would have saved so many lives and properties.

Morrison, the scumhead, would not even meet with them. Twenty three former fire and emergency chiefs. Cold-shouldered by our do-nothing, see-nothing Prime Minister because he didn't want to admit that climate change was real and fires burn hotter and longer than they used to.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 9:54 pm

^It's incredible to think: 23 former fire and emergency chiefs talking practical, real fears on the ground and handing the government the solution. Add that to the entire consensus of science warning of worsening and extreme weather events, often using Australia as a textbook example, year after year for over a decade.

Eddie, I'm afraid you don't seem to understand how risk management in any serious organisation works, nor even how backyard morality functions. People with higher authority always try to scapegoat lesser authorities, but the deciding factor is none of that trivia, but rather what was known by whom and who had the power to implement risk management actions.

Blame whoever else as required; no problem there. But you don't seem to be aware that it is basic knowledge to anyone vaguely interested in comparative world democracies where the power to get things done resides in Australia. It's in introductory political textbooks the world over. It's your own country, FFS.

The growing risk was accepted scientific fact for over a decade, and was clearly understood by every seriously qualified scientist on earth and vaguely sane person who realised they couldn't even do the maths to get into an entry-level climate science degree, so they'd best shut up and listen.

Clearly known and understood. Repeat: clearly known and understood. There were clear risk mitigation strategies anyone serious with national authority might have taken for the national interest. 23 experienced former fire chiefs even zeroed in a known effective short-term fix and handed it to them, meaning they had even more knowledge, thereby heightening the negligence.

Can you imagine the heads that would roll in any company or major organisation where something comparable to this occurred. In fact, nothing comparable to this would occur because the scale of destruction is monumental. People in normal organisations are dismissed with haste for far, far less than this chaos.

This was gross negligence of the highest and most despicable order. An utter horror that the guilty will once again attempt to sweep under the carpet to save face, as they did two lost wars and dead Iraqi children. Vile, immoral, repulsive, reprehensible. And making you and the nation poorer by the minute.

Last edited by pietillidie on Sun May 23, 2021 10:12 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 10:11 pm

No, the greenie activists refused a meeting with the minister to share their information and only wanted a meeting with the PM. That is a clear sign of grandstanding activists not actually interested in real action.

But you continue to ignore the part where the LATs were there, they were utilised when they were able to be utilised, there was no magic fix they could have done that would have made any difference.

Australia already has hundreds of fire fighting aircraft available every single fire season. The fact the states want the Federal government to take over the cost of it wouldn't have made any difference.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 10:15 pm

^So you're now down to: 'but there's nothing that could've been done' after a decade of warnings because as you know they're utter clueless dimwits and you shouldn't expect more from them.

True on the clueless bit, yet they could mobilise to invade Iraq and wreck an entire region at your expense for nothing more than dead children, but they can't do anything to mitigate fire risk in a known country of fires, full of fire and forestry specialists, over a decade or longer. Sorry, you're being wilfully silly.

Face it: it's gross and criminal negligence.

As an aside, how can so many people wilfully encourage their own poverty and decline just to prove a point? It's a really disturbing situation. As I say, a cult.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 10:22 pm

Yeah a decade of warnings, what did Krudd do to stop Black Saturday?

The fact you want to blame the Federal government for the failures of state governments to make a point suggests you're clutching at straws.

In Australia fire services are a state issue, fire management is a state issue, vegetation management is a state issue.

The Federal Government paying for the same aircraft the states already utilise wasn't going to make any difference at all.

The argument we need a national firefighting fleet seems to indicate that the current fleet isn't available nationwide, they currently go where ever the fires are, doesn't matter which state actually pays for them.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 10:31 pm

^Here's a book on the subject published in the 1960s that used to be read to children in early primary school. It is a stark reminder that in a land of fires, particularly under worsening conditions following a decade of growing alarm, you take responsibility and do everything in your power to implement careful risk management plans, bringing all the known specialist advice and technology on the subject from across the country and world to bear on the problem, to avoid burning your own nation to a crisp:

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2021 10:45 pm

It's astonishing to watch: Iraq and Afghanistan catastrophes, NBN ruining, climate science denial, green tech wrecking, tech industry choking, job and career crushing, mining industry servitude, Abbott and Trump wreckage, unplanned China lurching, Asian region offsiding, catastrophic national fire carnage, and on, yet still they defend the decline that is making them poorer and less secure by the day.

It's worse than I ever imagined, mistakenly believing Brexit and Trump are as bad as governance can get. But it seems there might be a whole new level of stupid evolving down south.

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2021 12:13 am

So did the states that are actually responsible go to the Feds and get turned down? Or did they get on with their responsibilities? When the states needed Federal assistance it was provided, not on what greenie activists wanted but what the actual agencies involved needed.

At the end of the day when the situation is bad, there is nothing you can do. It’s why I compared black Saturday and Ash Wednesday. In that time the amount of resources has grown, technology improved and lessons learnt and we still had a catastrophe like no other.

We live in a fire prone country, blaming the federal government for any fires is the kind of stupidity you expect from left wing cheerleaders.

You can do all the warnings you like, on Black Saturday people didn’t listen, on New Years Eve 2019, people didn’t listen. The Premier of Victoria didn’t even bother cutting his holidays short based on warnings but only when shit actually hit the fan. To say the greenie activists were right when they predict the worst fire season ever every single year is like a broken clock being right twice a day.

Fact was it was horrible on NSW but on a national level it was far from the worst fire season in most other states. Even in Victoria it was a bad fire season but far from the worst and one of the shorter ones.

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2021 1:20 am

^Okay, we can find common ground there. Note I haven't mentioned Greens and it's not my focus as they only represent the tiniest fraction of Australian political power. Look to where the great bulk of the wealth and power resides, is all I would say.

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2021 9:13 am

The cluelessness and bile necessary to describe 23 dedicated, experienced, expert former fire and emergency chiefs as "greenie activists" is beyond my comprehension.

Eddie, you have just blown the last shreds of whatever credibility you ever had.

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2021 10:34 am

^Thanks for clarifying. I didn't pick up that Eddie was referring to the former chiefs and instead thought he was talking about generic fringe greens carrying on.

Eddie, you can't call a 23 former fire and emergency chiefs fringe greens or left-wing cheerleaders. They're not part of any fringe; they're experienced, knowledgeable and mainstream. I don't share that view with you, no.