Nathan says “I will walk”

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 47, 48, 49  Next

What will be Nathans fate this year...?!??
What are you talking about? Nathan is the messiah and will lead our club to its next flag!!
16%
 16%  [ 14 ]
Nathan comes to the realization that the club is bigger than him and that he needs to fall on his sword and resigns.
40%
 40%  [ 34 ]
Nathan finally gets the sack after another bad season.
42%
 42%  [ 35 ]
Total Votes : 83

shawthing Virgo

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:54 am

If you watched Buckley's presser last night he couldn't inspire a gnat. The man is obsessive and really by now quite mad. If he hasn't already lost his players he surely will in the next few loses. Basically said last night that Grundy's job is overrated. So WTF did you over pay him then madman?!
Haff Capricorn

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:03 am

To quote myself from another post...

Haff wrote:
I’m so very over Buckley’s press conferences. Case in point the ruck stats being irrelevant and it’s easy for teams to setup well if you’re going to lose them. Really? What a bs piece of misdirection, we have an advantage and we didn’t take it because they knew it was going to be an advantage? Just FO.
This season is going to be frustrating as hell. The lack of leadership will tell, Buckley won’t blood kids, he can’t, he has to win games to keep his job of which he has been nothing but a failure. If we had some leadership the direction would be prepare for a future with Daicos at the centre of it, get games into the kids and if he doesn’t, he should be removed, but it won’t happen because Eddie couldn’t make the hard call and the complete lack of leadership now won’t either...

shawthing Virgo

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:23 am

^ You said it all there. What I don't understand is why anyone is left on Nick's who still wants Bucks. This man couldn't win premierships as a player because he didn't know how to be a good team mate. And he can't win as a coach because he fooled everybody into believing he was an intelligent footballer. No, he was a grunt player, and he's a grunt coach.

Does anyone seriously believe another club would be interested in him after he is finally sacked from Collingwood?

There was a lot of poetic justice last night. The kid denied the freekick from the Lions in the last seconds against Geelong, got to take that shot after the siren last night. And Buckley lost again to the team he threw under the bus to come to Collingwood. Geez it must eat him up at night knowing that he missed at least three flags with the Lions by coming to Collingwood.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:30 am

Nope,and tdoesnt make me happy. I so wanted him to succeed.

But I have to say, ever since he said it’s not his job to motivate the players....I mean **** me, it’s a whole chapter in any manual! No wonder we look so bland and uncertain.

Even a ‘good kick mate, next time try and put it in the direction of our team’ would be a start!

I didn’t watch, just can’t do it, even when we win, and please what does nutted at the clearances even mean???

Now Mick, even when we lost was good entertainment value!

Asfor poetic justice, that’s $$%^%%$ scary. (Also smacks ofAFL conspiracy!) if he’s our jinx then say goodbye now, save a black cat, smash down ladders, don’t walk on the cracks, but godamn how do we get an ounce of luck?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:38 am

Buckley made a good point about hit outs. Melbourne is in the same boat and can’t capitalise either.

Last edited by Mr Miyagi on Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:40 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:39 am

To quote a very oft used phrase by Ross Lyon “ you don’t get beaten by what you know “
The Lions knew they weren’t going to win a hit out all night, so they simply sat on the Pies midfielders at every stoppage. ( Pendles / Neale ) ( Adams / Lyons ) etc
The net result is that Collingwood players got first touch of the footy often enough but it wouldn’t equate to anything like a clearance because the Lions were hanging off them . All their inside work was done under immense pressure, so even if we did clear it, it would go to an opposition player much more often than not ( statistically its two out three times acrossq the league anyway )
You can read into his conference however you like but he is simply saying that Fagen was at least in a position to identify a game trend before it unfolded and then pre plan accordingly. Buckley would have known that too but you can’t counteract that plan because the whole premise of footy is to get the ball before the opposition. We did but we were then jumped on and coughed it up accordingly.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:41 am

Exactly why Buckley said they play Grundy as a midfielder.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:46 am

Why why why though, when we free called from five goals up, didn’t we make changes? And how did we so badly muck up the last minute? How hard is it to play kick to kick for 30 sec? It happens every game, why bomb to a forward line with no forwards in it? It didn’t work all game, so why then when your in front and you only have to hold it? Why not just play defence?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:01 am

Actually, I agree with the gist of what Bucks said about hit outs. They don't really mean a thing, because it's what happens immediately after on the deck that's important. Pies2016 has described last night's situation really well, I reckon.

Ruck contests are the method used to start or restart the game. That's all they are. The only stat that really means anything from a ruck contest is a direct clearance ie ruckman knocks ball straight to one of his mids, who then clears it from the area.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:04 am

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Exactly why Buckley said they play Grundy as a midfielder.

Yes, that's his true value - turning from ruckman to a giant mid within a second of contesting the ruck..

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:04 am

To quote a very oft used phrase by Ross Lyon “ you don’t get beaten by what you know “
The Lions knew they weren’t going to win a hit out all night, so they simply sat on the Pies midfielders at every stoppage. ( Pendles / Neale ) ( Adams / Lyons ) etc
The net result is that Collingwood players got first touch of the footy often enough but it wouldn’t equate to anything like a clearance because the Lions were hanging off them . All their inside work was done under immense pressure, so even if we did clear it, it would go to an opposition player much more often than not ( statistically its two out three times acrossq the league anyway )
You can read into his conference however you like but he is simply saying that Fagen was at least in a position to identify a game trend before it unfolded and then pre plan accordingly. Buckley would have known that too but you can’t counteract that plan because the whole premise of footy is to get the ball before the opposition. We did but we were then jumped on and coughed it up accordingly.

Perhaps we could have planned better for it though. Grundy could have tapped the ball clear in random, but planned, directions which we were expecting and Brisbane had no way of predicting, for example.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:13 am

Just a wild guess, but clearly Buckley was dirty on himself and losing the game by a kick on the final siren, and wasn’t in the mood to talk shit with people pretending to be journalists. We’re all human. 🤷‍♂️

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 11:58 am

Magpietothemax wrote:

Perhaps we could have planned better for it though. Grundy could have tapped the ball clear in random, but planned, directions which we were expecting and Brisbane had no way of predicting, for example.

"Random, but planned". Laughing

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 12:05 pm

I think we do need to be unpredictable though. Several times Grundy could have just belted the ball to our half forward line — but then there’s the risk it’d go straight back over his head for a Brisbane goal.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 2:03 pm

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Buckley made a good point about hit outs. Melbourne is in the same boat and can’t capitalise either.

So why are we paying Grundy so much and for so long? Again he's making excuses.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 47, 48, 49  Next
Page 14 of 49