Heath Shaw

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 6:14 pm

Heath will always be universally loved by supporters. Though, I don't think bringing him back for 2021 would be the right move.

The club needs to focus on finding some good midfielders and forwards.

dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 9:34 pm

dalyc wrote:
2008 was the year of the great lie. Burns was captain and he was lied to by Shaw and Didak. Burns and the Club publicly went into bat for them only to find out later they’d lied to everybody. That’s probably the context for Burn’s comment.

Burns said the same in his press conference at the time. That was a huge mistake. Defend the guy publicly. Privately, do what you want. Take Heater out the back and beat the **** out of him if you're really so angry, but don't throw him under the bus publicly.

Nah. Heath was a brat who probably got away with a lot of shit because he was Ray’s son and a very good footballer. His behaviour in 2008 was an indicator of future behaviour demonstrated in the Port QF.

Premiership player .. not the Messiah. Couldn’t lick Buckley’s boots.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 10:46 pm

Heath will always be universally loved by supporters. Though, I don't think bringing him back for 2021 would be the right move.

The club needs to focus on finding some good midfielders and forwards.

Not me. Champion footballer. But a complete knob. I said as much before he was a premiership hero, and afterwards. Great player. Great Collingwood player. But F me, watching his antics from afar (in his GWS guernsey) showcases just how much a twerp he was.

No disrespect, Heater. It takes all types in this world.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 11:06 pm

Rhys admitted he lived off his old man’s name to get away with murder at the pies (not literally!) and going to Sydney was the wake up call he needed. Suddenly no one cared about his surname, he was just another player who had to work hard to get a spot (and he did work hard). He was always the sensible brother though, hence why he’s coaching. Heater’s best mate at GWS was Mumford, which says all you need to know.

Champion player, but yeah nah, thanks for the memories and good luck with your post footy life. Let’s look to the future, not the past.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2020 11:17 pm

Heater was a magnificent Collingwood champion. His brother was the guy who fell over for us in the 2003 Grand Final.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 12:04 am

^ Agreed, easily one of the best players to play for the club in the last 20 years - regardless of what people here think or his off field issues.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 2:23 pm

If we had a more complete side and were in the window, then yeah I think it'd be possible to bring him back.

But we are just in need of too many other positions and need to find much younger options.

Current Over 30s:
Dunn(33)
Varcoe (32)
Pendles (32)
Mayne (31)
Greenwood (31)
Howe (30)
Beams (30)

Many of them will be gone next year. But do we need to add veteran experience? Would probably prefer to hold on to Levi or Varcoe. Still, he'd be more handy right now than having Beams on the list.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 2:50 pm

dalyc wrote:
2008 was the year of the great lie. Burns was captain and he was lied to by Shaw and Didak. Burns and the Club publicly went into bat for them only to find out later they’d lied to everybody. That’s probably the context for Burn’s comment.

Burns said the same in his press conference at the time. That was a huge mistake. Defend the guy publicly. Privately, do what you want. Take Heater out the back and beat the **** out of him if you're really so angry, but don't throw him under the bus publicly.

Nah. Heath was a brat who probably got away with a lot of shit because he was Ray’s son and a very good footballer. His behaviour in 2008 was an indicator of future behaviour demonstrated in the Port QF.

Premiership player .. not the Messiah. Couldn’t lick Buckley’s boots.

I'm not defending Heater's behaviour in '08. I'm saying that whatever his behaviour (and we know what that was), Burns and the club should not have thrown him under the bus. The president also caved in to media pressure. Not Collingwood's finest hour.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 5:10 pm

Heater was a magnificent Collingwood champion. His brother was the guy who fell over for us in the 2003 Grand Final.

Reece fell over, and the other squib sidestepped...

Ronnie McKeowns boots 

Ronnie Mckeowns boots

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 5:21 pm

One slip and you never hear the bloody end of it, he wasn't the reason we lost that game

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 5:41 pm

He wasn't the reason we won it, either, just quietly - which is the bit I tend to focus on.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:04 pm

maybe we should talk about that A Rocca goal that was a goal but then wasnt....

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2020 7:45 pm

^^^^^

That was 100% blatant cheating from the mongrel of a goal umpire.🤬😡

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Page 6 of 6