What made you happy today? Part II

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26 ... 101, 102, 103  Next

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2020 7:02 pm

Year 9? I started behind the counter of mum's milk bar when I was 7 years old, serving lollies. By age 10 I was weekend and school holiday cook making hamburgers and cooking fish and chips. But I digress.

Had the daughter and her partner over for an early dinner today. Her partner is a new cop, fresh from the academy. She did the first couple of weeks of duty manning the ring of chicken wire and has just come off her first week of night shift at the station.

Great to have them both over. Cooked a Thai green chicken curry with cauliflower rice and a lemon cake with ice cream and double cream (OK, the cake I grabbed from IGA)

Gave both of them hugs, damn it was good Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2020 9:37 pm

^ well I was going to get her to sweep chimneys earlier but you know....

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2020 9:37 pm

^ Nice one Stui with ur family 👍👍

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2020 1:30 pm

Gees it’s good to log in and see Happy People!
Well done to both of you and your daughters!

The inspector just left and our beach house is now officially certified! We modified a couple of things, all we had to do was explain what we changed and provide details and certifications of materials! Both inspectors commented on how well it’s built! Gotta be happy with that!we still have a bit of work to do, the gardens for a start, but WOW, pretty proud of us! Jax the raven is back again, so I fed him some chicken breast tenders! Life is good! Cheers! I’m celebrating with a jimmy and coke before I get stuck back in!

Also my FIL is doing better, his blood pressure is finally up. Though to be honest I’m not sure if that’s good or bad in the scheme of things.

Hope everyone is enjoying their freedom!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2020 5:41 pm

Freedom starts for me in 2 more weeks, once I can cross into NSW.

The old computer desk has been refurbished and is in the shed, with the spare computer chair, ready to go on the ute to create the home office space.

Both an aunt and uncle have driven past the place recently, it's still standing and apparently looks great but they've both half blind so I expect about 3 cubic metres of weeding to be done.

Taking the old girls mobility scooter up so she can do her thing, just so looking forward to being able to get back up there

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2020 9:01 pm

The good son! Sounds great

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 2:20 pm

Freedom starts for me in 2 more weeks, once I can cross into NSW.

Not sure about that. Their numbers aren't great so we may have to close our border to NSW folk.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:54 pm

Let me get across the river and Dan can do what he likes. I'm happy to stay there and I'm very comfortable that I'd be able to get back down here whenever I needed despite what he did Wink

Today I'm happy, beautiful weather finally.

Painted the brick chimney yesterday arvo, then got outside this morning and got more paint on the west side of the house where I replaced weatherboards months ago. Got the whole thing done top down so what I need to finish I can do without a ladder.

Then cranked up the smoker, got a brisket and some pork ribs been going for a few hours, pull them off shortly. Lay down in the hanging lounge, read a book and had a few drinks while it cooked. Brilliant.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 7:27 pm

You’re lucky Stui, my freedom ends tomorrow 😢😢

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:08 pm

You getting married?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:26 pm

Worse, back to Melbourne

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:47 pm

You getting married?

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

how good is this weather
and freedom to go places!

celebrated the occupancy permit at the local golf club,
they have built a huge new extension with viewsof the course,
had cheesy garlic bread, calamari chips and salad,
and 'shared' a sticky date pudding - which means i ate the sauce cream and strawberries and left him the cake!

i decided to get up early and go take some sunrise shots, i hit the snooze button and then sat bolt upright and got out of bed, hubby is like WTF!!
turns out it was 4.30am and i dreamed the alarm went off! so then i woke him again at 5.30am!!got some good shots though i think!

hope you can get up the bush soon Stui, and enjoy! cheers guys,
its amazing the lessons from this year in hell!!

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 7:53 pm

Just a good day.

Went out for brunch this morning, had toast with the eggs etc and orange juice, bad bad bad but damn tasty. Still kicking around the 93kg,

Swung past Aldi to check the specials, snagged a microwave oven that also does grill, convection and air fryer for $200. I was scoping similar items at Harvey Norman 2 weeks ago, much more expensive

Old high school mate rang me to ask WTF is going on with Collingwood. He lives north of Byron. We had a great chat.His eldest turns 16 next year, my eldest turned 30 this year.

Daughter called over with 2 bags of DVD's from cleaning out her storage unit. I'll have a look through, take some up bush and give the rest to the op shop.

Got up on the roof yesterday and painted the chimney. Apparently you're not advised to go up ladders once you're over 50 but I was shit out of pixie dust and struggling to materialise happy thoughts post trade debacle so ladder it was. Comes up really good.

Had an interview during the week with a recruitment agency, Looking positive. Had a professional haircut the day before after cutting my own hair for months, I did a better job Evil or Very Mad

Kids birthday party tomorrow. Is it socially acceptable to swing a machete around to enforce a 1.5m distance?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 10:15 pm

Absolutely.

If you don't want to get stains on your best shirt, just use a hammer.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 11:25 pm

Just finished 6 days in a row, on Thursday worked a 15.5 hour day 4.5 hrs overtime and Saturday worked an 8 hour overtime shift finishing at 22:30.
Gotta be on the bike and leave by 6:30 to do my ride to Seaford and back ( about 64km’s. On the way back I meet up with others who left an hour later. We meet at Mordialloc for a quick coffee and ride back together.
I might end up sleeping in & not go .....

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Victoria Park Tavern All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26 ... 101, 102, 103  Next
Page 25 of 103