What made you happy today? Part II

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 100, 101, 102  Next

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 5:22 pm

Ingmar started playing football for the first time this year, for the Hampton Rovers U10s. He’s starting a fair way back and still hasn’t mastered some skills, but he’s enthusiastic and good at following the coach’s instructions. This morning he played his third match, and was named captain (they rotate the position every week). Played two quarters in defence and did a great job for the most part staying tight on his opponent and laying a couple of tackles.

I thought his team were going to get smashed today – they trailed 2.5 to 0.1 at half time and had barely managed to get the ball past halfway. Unsure precisely how it happened, but after a rev-up from the coach they turned it around completely in the midfield in the third quarter, evening up the contest and finally getting a goal on the board before running over the top of the opposition in the final term for a narrow, hard-fought win. It was pretty exciting watching from the sidelines, and Ingmar was really happy afterwards. Not a bad way to spend a cold early Sunday morning!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 6:00 pm

^ Slay!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:06 pm

Nice work there David, getting up in the cold and taking the kids to sport on the weekend is like a rite of passage.

Whenever we kick the footy I have to pester my grandson about his ball drop. If he holds it properly, his wrists come up and he flats it like a mung torpedo. I'm trying to get him to kick like the kid next door who is a brilliant little footballer but holds the ball pointing down with hands across it. When he does it, he can kick a drop punt, when his concentration invariably lapses it could go anywhere.

Do you get outside and kick the footy with him? Work on his marking and skills?

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:57 pm

Yeah, we do a bit of kicking to each other and marking in the local park around once a week, but not as often as I'd like to as I'm pretty busy with work. Would definitely be good to do that more regularly.

Ingmar kicks the same way as your grandson – can get some decent distance and it goes surprisingly straight, but he needs to learn to kick proper drop punts. Marking is a bit hit and miss. Handballing is probably the area he needs most work on: he tends to stop and think before doing it rather than completing a pick-up and handball in one motion like most of the boys in his team. But he's done hardly any Auskick and wasn't even that interested in football until last year, so I see all of this as a positive learning curve – and thankfully U10s is still at a level where you can work some of this out through playing rather than needing a baseline skill level to begin with.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 8:40 pm

^That's awesome, David. By geez time flies!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 9:50 pm

Yeah, good stuff. The grandson watches F all sport on TV, just enough to pick up bad habits when he tries to play, but he has a go at everything.

I reckon Cricket will be his go, he can bowl properly with pace and hit to all areas.

PostPosted: Wed May 01, 2024 7:57 am

It’s been 17 months…
Finally my RAV4 is in production!

Hopefully my new personalised Collingwood plate will get here first!

Wooohooo!

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2024 5:48 am

^Is this the one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5OCAA_xob-8

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2024 9:04 am

It’s been 17 months…
Finally my RAV4 is in production!

Hopefully my new personalised Collingwood plate will get here first!

Wooohooo!

In production? How much longer do you have to wait?

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2024 12:52 pm

pietillidie wrote:
That Willy Wonka thing was hilarious. Real (miniature) Fyre Festival vibes!

It has now officially attained legend status, with a petition somewhere demanding it be opened again! It even has its own 'scandal' documentary:

https://www.channel5.com/show/wonka-the-scandal-that-rocked-britain

(If you can't get that in Oz it's probably on YouTube by now).

The poor bloke probably did genuinely do his best. If he can get past the shame and embarrassment he could properly cash in!

LA now has its own tribute event!

Behold, Willy’s Chocolate Experience LA:

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2024/may/01/los-angeles-willy-wonka-pop-up-experience

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 5:31 pm

pietillidie wrote:
^Is this the one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5OCAA_xob-8

nope thats next years, guessing the wait will be 3 years!!!

its this one, in silver, the GLX model.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqZ3Z-lQG7w

and these just came today!!

Stui the ive been told about 6-8 weeks so 6 to go!!!

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 6:15 pm

Nice plates. I thought about going for the Magpie theme when I got mine but I didn't want the ute to get keyed in carparks. Razz Wink

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 6:53 pm

Nice plates. I thought about going for the Magpie theme when I got mine but I didn't want the ute to get keyed in carparks. Razz Wink

yeah that does worry me!!!!

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 7:54 pm

Get the front and rear dash cams from the dealer, at least then you can put video of any arsehats up on social media. Wink

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2024 8:00 pm

thats a plan!!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 100, 101, 102  Next
Page 101 of 102