Something about Rantall

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 8:32 pm
Post subject: Something about RantallReply with quote

I was not a Massive Fan when he was Drafted but after 3 Games(I know Pre-Season) he is Growing on me.

Big Ball Winner,Good Speed, Great Feel of the Game and Good Size.

Could become Something and Reckon he could play AFL this year

He seems to get a lot of the Ball and gets in the Right Places.

Not the Best Kick but not Terrible either. Handballing is Damaging

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 8:45 pm

Dave, you have a good eye for talent.
This is pleasing to hear.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:11 pm

Not a bad tank either 😉
Some “ experts “ did have him going in the twenties, so it’s not like he wasn’t rated or hidden away.
Hopefully, he goes on to be a bargain pick for us.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:28 pm

Woods Of Ypres wrote:
Dave, you have a good eye for talent.
This is pleasing to hear.

Thanks Mate

Not a bad tank either 😉 
Some “ experts “ did have him going in the twenties, so it’s not like he wasn’t rated or hidden away. 
Hopefully, he goes on to be a bargain pick for us.

He does have a Big Tank and Total Pro

Last edited by Dave The Man on Sun Mar 08, 2020 12:41 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2020 9:30 pm

... Total Peo

Question What is Peo?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 12:41 pm

... Total Peo

Question What is Peo?

Meant Pro in Professional

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 10:01 pm

If the kid is deemed good no reason why he can’t get a round one game

And why not Stevo did and proved a good decision

Likewise Sam Walsh at Carlton—- It can and does happen

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:09 am

Good call DTM
I wasn’t overly excited when we drafted him thought it was a speculation pick but wanted to see more
Like what I’ve seen
His a likely type just seems to be footy smart something you can’t rein into them
Reckon he will feature in the early rounds

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:16 am

Is it Rantall or Bianco who was captain of 2019's top two draft picks?
88MPH 

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:21 am

Reckon he won't.

We all get excited at the sight of new talent in the Club but give the boy a chance. He's fresh out of Under 18's where he was good, but not a star. He will be given time to develop.

A few years ago the Club payed Peter Yagmoor (remember him?) before he was ready and he had such a terrible game, and was so out of his depth that his spirit and confidence were absolutely smashed by the experience. The Club struggled to rebuild his self-persona but to no avail and he was lost to the system.

Now, nobody was saying that Yagmoor was going to be a superstar but the lesson is well learned - youngsters will be played when they're ready, and not before. There will be no speculative selections. Stevo was a TAC Cup gun who was ready to play the day he was drafted.

On what I have seen this young man has got a fair way to go before he makes his debut. I'm not talking him down by any stretch. Just saying that enthusiasm needs to be bridled.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:17 pm

Mr Miyagi wrote:

Bianco captained chargers where both Rowell and Anderson played.
Don’t read to much into who captains a TAC team because the TAC clubs tend to overlook the quality private school kids for captain because their APS footy commitments come first.
Rowell is close to best TAC pure mid fielder I have seen in a while. Will be a serious talent for many years to come.
Rantall was easily the Rebels best player in 2019 ( he won their B and F )
It’s just that they weren’t very good as a team. They don’t get many drafted compared to others but Appleby is also a former Rebel.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:24 pm

88MPH wrote:

Reckon he won't.

We all get excited at the sight of new talent in the Club but give the boy a chance. He's fresh out of Under 18's where he was good, but not a star. He will be given time to develop.

A few years ago the Club payed Peter Yagmoor (remember him?) before he was ready and he had such a terrible game, and was so out of his depth that his spirit and confidence were absolutely smashed by the experience. The Club struggled to rebuild his self-persona but to no avail and he was lost to the system.

Now, nobody was saying that Yagmoor was going to be a superstar but the lesson is well learned - youngsters will be played when they're ready, and not before. There will be no speculative selections. Stevo was a TAC Cup gun who was ready to play the day he was drafted.

On what I have seen this young man has got a fair way to go before he makes his debut. I'm not talking him down by any stretch. Just saying that enthusiasm needs to be bridled.

Tend to agree here.

It’s also not a bad team he’s trying to break into. It’s not like he’s trying to cement a spot in the Suns best 22.

These days, with all the game scenarios, set plays and match sim drills that need to be perfected, anything less than genuine U18 standouts have a fair bit of “ blackboard learning “ before they play seniors.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:32 pm

I think they may go the Josh Daicos route who was lightly exposed to AFL
Spent much of his time in the magoo,s but his Marsh form IMO is a direct result of not rushing him headlong into AFL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 11:58 am

Bianco

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 9:39 pm

Rantall ain't quite Mark McGough with his kicking but definitely no Daicos.