Vale #1,#19,#20,#21,#24,#2 Captain Lou Richards (1923-2017)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:09 pm

RIP Lou

You're not an AFL Legend because you are an AFL God.

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:10 pm

^ yeah, Dave, I reckon you're right. It cannot have been easy for a man with such a love of life to be so reduced.

Farewell, Lou. You represent a tougher, much more honest age.

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:18 pm

RIP to one of Collingwood's favourites sons and one of life's great Larrikins.

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:25 pm

Thanks Lou for some of my earliest memories in life. Watching collingwood
V Carlton on a Saturday arvo and hearing the steady and familiar voice which
was a comfort for me. RIP

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:30 pm

He was the heart and soul of the football club, unmatched by very few.

It's truly an end of an era!

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:36 pm

It's a very sad day for us all, but I'm relieved in one sense that his physical suffering in the nursing home he was at is over and he gets to be united with Edna in heaven. I'll remember him for his sharp witty humour on WOS for over 30 years and his contribution to his Thursday night show Team Selections, with Jack Dyer and Bobby Davis. The king is dead. Long live the king. I wish he had been nominated to the AFL legends of the game, because he truly was a legend.

Last edited by MatthewBoydFanClub on Mon May 08, 2017 7:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Monco Matt Aries

Do it to THEM before THEY do it to YOU

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:37 pm

RIP Lou. What a legend you are and were. I'll remember you not only as a Collingwood Premiership Captain but a superstar media man, especially on the Sunday Footy Show with Lou's handball, I was a bit young to see you on WOS. Maybe yesterday's result was too much for the great man to bear. If the AFL don't induct you into the AFL Legends club then they know nothing about what an AFL Legend really is.

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:38 pm

Farewell Louie, probably the most recognised name to come out of this great club. True champion.
BEAMER09 

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:39 pm

RIP Lou.

Grew up with League Teams and now they are all together again for League Teams II.

Still get a laugh out of 'you don't say...'

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:46 pm

They broke the moild when they made Lou. From an era when footy was even for the players. Socials, Pies, beers, and no social media following your every move so a nobody can feel clever. WOS was a boys clubs with setting fire to script sheets, blokes dropping the dacks behind cameras, where you could criticise umpires and players for mistakes and they didn't need a phsycologist. Uncle Doug, Bob, Jack, Teddy and now LOU all gone. After a ffew days with Edna a leave pass to have a few small beers with the boys is on the cards. RIP champ. Floreat Pica

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:47 pm

Vale Lou. Very sad. Condolences to his family. "What a (he) man".

Last edited by watt price tully on Mon May 08, 2017 7:48 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:48 pm

Vale Lou.

For a kid growing up in the NSW bush who's only access to the VFL was via media, Lou was a staple and cemented my love for Collingwood.

Legend.

Captain_MyCaptain Leo

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:51 pm

WhyPhilWhy? wrote:
I can't remember a time when he and Collingwood were not synonymous.

A very sad day for the Club and all Collingwood supporters - vale Lou.

X 2. Long live Lou. Legends never die.

Mountains Magpie 

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 8:17 pm

Vale Lou.

For a kid growing up in the NSW bush who's only access to the VFL was via media, Lou was a staple and cemented my love for Collingwood.

Legend.

Ditto, except I grew up in the inner western suburbs of Sydney.

Rest easy Lou - by golly you've earned it.

MM

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 8:29 pm

RIP to a true legend!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours

Page 3 of 7