How a drinker trains for a marathon.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 15, 16, 17  Next

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:31 pm

You walked 40km? Shocked

I walked the best part of 5km on Sunday morning (caught a bus for about 1km in the middle) after I dropped the truck back at the depot and shanks's pony was all I had to get home on.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 8:46 pm

Well you'll be a healthy looking corpse at least.

That amount of alcohol can't be good for anybody long term.

Nick - Pie Man 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:13 pm

You walked 40km? Shocked

And, just now, I fainted.

Should I be worried

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:09 pm

You should see a doctor and a psychiatrist.

How fkn long did it take to walk 40km? Thats gotta be 6 or 7 hours if you're pushing it hard.

Nick - Pie Man 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:26 pm

Can't argue with you there.

The better part of ten hours, but that includes break times.

Again - how the f do people run that? I thought I had done well being able to run five ks. Got a way to go yet, jeez

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:05 pm

Nick - Pie Man wrote:
Holy crap

I walked forty today. Two less than a marathon. And I am completely ruined. How anyone can run that distance is beyond me

Goal time is 3:45 .

We're addicts Cool

If you want to know how far you're going to walk, run or ride this http://au.mapometer.com/ is a great tool Smile

Last edited by Skids on Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:37 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:22 pm

Well you'll be a healthy looking corpse at least.

That amount of alcohol can't be good for anybody long term.

That was my first few days of R & R, catching up with mates, footy games etc. I don't drink everyday, well most days I do .... I have at least 1 alcohol free day on break and at least 2 when I'm at work. Days at work that I do drink are generally only 3 or 4 Mid strength stubbies.... except for Thursday, we have a BBQ the night before fly out day, might have a max of 8 mids then.

I will be trying to cut it back, at least up until the Marathon. Smile

Hmmm Surprised . Knocked a few back yesterday too. Did 2 jobs for mates and we hooked into the Coopers Pale Ale. We had a four pints at the pub with a feed. I had chicken and salad then shared a carton. I stayed there the night, just got home. The only other food I had yesterday was a bowl of mini-wheats for breakfast.
Today will be an alcohol free day (2nd rest day after the 30k) before my casual 5k jog at a slow pace tomorrow.

Todays tucker has been 2 fried eggs on 2 slices of multi grain and a fried tomato. 1 cup of tea & 1 cup of coffee (white no sugar)
Plus. Small tin of salmon, glass (300ml) of 100% OJ, can (375ml) of 100% Coca Cola and about 3 litres of water so far. Looks like a T-Bone on the BBQ again tonight with some veg (spud, broccoli, cauli 'n beans). Smile

Hmmm had a coupla billies which led to; a vegemite on Multigrain sanga, Bowl of vanilla ice cream with Milo sprinkled all over it & I found the last chocolate rabbit from easter hiding in the fridge. Shocked

Last edited by Skids on Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:33 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:44 am

Well that alcohol free day saw me bounce out of bed this morning at 5:45am (crashed about 7 last night), a quick coffee and went down the beach. Met my brother and we did 5k on the soft sand at a nice leisurely 7:45/k pace. We finished off by running to the top of a sand dune and doing some of his Kung Fu breathing exercises.

Breakfast now is ; Low Fat greek yoghurt, a banana, Chia seeds & honey. Black tea.

Lunch - 2 x 150 odd gram pork sirloins thrown on the BBQ. That was it for me, I cracked a Carona.... 12:30pm, not bad Wink Got the tri in the 4th at Warwick Farm Cool only paid $180 but, added to the little each way I had on the 2nd horse saw me pocket well over $200 Smile .... time for Corona #2.

Busy day working on my bathroom/laundry reno, knocking tiles off the wall at present. Maybe a few Coronas later this arvo.

Last edited by Skids on Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:18 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:47 am

Everyone is so busy nowadays.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:20 pm

HAL wrote:
Everyone is so busy nowadays.

Tell me about it HAL.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:24 pm

Enough about me, let's talk about the Pies.
Nick - Pie Man 

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:16 pm

Thanks Skids, that tool is awesome.

Officially 42.2 kilometers. My first marathon.

8000kJ. Twice the amount of energy I normally would burn

Why the f am I having such trouble pushing below 75 kilos. %$^£$%^&%% Sad

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:20 pm

Why would you wa t to be below 75 kg unless your really short

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:16 pm

Lets just say he's not tall. David would have Nick comfortably by 2-3 inches.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:29 pm

Laughing Laughing yep Wink

Drinking my sixth Corona rite now.^6pm update... 3 x Coopers pale Ale and just cracked a mid.
Dinner is ; Crumbed fish fillets, garlic potato, brocollini, brussel sprouts & beans.... this 'should' be my last beer.... 10 in total (15 standard drinks... and I feel great!)

Hope it's ok to have this thread here? It's actually a bit of a motivator for me, making me track what I eat and just how much I actually do drink and choof Very Happy

I'll keep going with this, if that's ok mods??? But mainly a weekly thing and then just edit the daily stuff as it unfolds Confused 27 sleeps and I fly to Brisbane.

This will be my second Marathon, I've done 16 half marathons. Pulling on an old T-shirt today, 21k finisher GCM 2012, reminded me how hard it is to get to a marathon. 2012 was going to be my first. Injuries during training made it one of my slowest halfs (1:55:43) but still one of the more memorable. I've done 16 of those, once, after watching a Pies V Cats Friday night game, I ran a half. That night I drank the best part of a block of 4 X watching the win. I woke up feeling like absolute crap and contemplated not going. I dragged my hungover arse out of bed and went. Got there and felt like throwing up.... a coffee van, sweet, 2 strong flat whites.

Long story short I ran a PB (1:40:41) that morning. 6 weeks later I did my first marathon.

Travelled to Melbourne 3 days prior. A joint in the airport carpark at 8am prior to departure set the scene.......

Last edited by Skids on Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:59 pm; edited 1 time in total

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 2 of 17