Standing up for Maxwell!!

warburton lad 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:59 am
Post subject: Standing up for Maxwell!!Reply with quote

Was driving home last night listening to SEN and a caller asked Finey about how Maxy was travelling.

Finey said that Maxy was now fit, but playing fairly poorly.

I'm imploring Magpie fans to get around our captain and give him a cheer showing our support.

Why??

He's a good sport, a Premiership captain, doesn't use PED's, stands up for his teammates, put the team first, is not a flog and is a credit to our club.

I'm not naive enough to suggest that he's a gun player, or will be captain of our club for years to come, but,at the moment, he's our skipper and we need to stand side-by-side with him.

Although we may get upset when he misses a spoil or grubs a clearing kick he's still the Collingwood captain and the man we all hope will raise that cup in September.

I still believe in the boys and remain one of Maxy's biggest fans.

Floreat Pica one and all.....!!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:03 am

When you're at the game and sit high in the sdtands you can see why he is always beaten by his opponent. He never stands next to an opponent, always points fin fingers for others to pick players up, and generally stands 10m off ANYONE. I thought his game was ATROCIOUS last night.
thebaldfacts 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:15 am

Maxwell always points fingers because he is directing players where to go etc. he is the general who organises the defence. Yes he is not the greatest player, but we at this point are better with him in the team.

Also like that he is now taking the defence on and carrying the ball 20 metres before kicking it long. It may well be to a contest, but the opposition then need to make that 70 metres up.

As for last night, full credit to Adelaide their delivery into the forward line was first rate.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:18 am

I'm aware of his 'directing' traffic, but sorry, half the time he points when it should be HE who picks up the player. He was terrible, even as third man up he didn't influence the contest and generally fell to ground.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:20 am

we are off to a good start in the defence of our captain. good work Laddy.
McMonkey 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:30 am

Defenders and forwards live and die by the mids.

Nick has been exposed due to the ball coming into the backline with minimum pressure up the ground. Happened last night a couple of times.

He also took the game on many times and gave us some great run through the middle going the other way.

In the draw of 2010, he just would not let us lose, when we went down on the scoreboard, he lifted us back up, we wouldn't have that flag without him.

Maxy is a champ.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:10 am

McMonkey wrote:
Defenders and forwards live and die by the mids.

Nick has been exposed due to the ball coming into the backline with minimum pressure up the ground. Happened last night a couple of times.

He also took the game on many times and gave us some great run through the middle going the other way.

In the draw of 2010, he just would not let us lose, when we went down on the scoreboard, he lifted us back up, we wouldn't have that flag without him.

Maxy is a champ.

Although I think the time has come for us supporters to move on from any 2010 heroics when assessing players, I very much agree with your 1st three paragraphs.

MattyD 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:34 am

I've had to defend Maxwell at every game this year.

From supporters around me and from my 18 year old son who has played a bit of footy.

It's getting harder to defend Maxy.

Adelaide played patches of good footy last night and really wanted the win. And Maxwell can only do so much on his own.

Some perspective is needed though. After quarter time I thought the defence was pretty good. Only gave up 2 goals a quarter from there on.

We joked about whether it's part of Bucks' game plan to play lousy in first quarters...

I can see where the criticism is coming from though and I am hearing a lot of people saying Pendles or Luke Ball should be captain. Is Maxy just getting past it or is it the team as a whole that is simply rebuilding?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:36 am

I think both.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:41 am

Thought he was serviceable last night, we've seen him play worse.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:44 am

I love how people like to think they know more than Bucks and the rest of the coaching staff and match committee, they rate Maxy and they know what is asked of him, that's enough for me.
daics aka the ruckman 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 12:13 pm

Thought he was serviceable last night, we've seen him play worse.

Correct. He is not top ten for skills but he is the captain that does so much on and off the ground as leader of the team. We need him out there every week.

woodys_world69 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 12:47 pm

Pendles captain next year.
OEP Pisces

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:46 pm

If he ever wears another teams guernsey then I'll stop supporting him, but that'll never happen so he'll always have my very vocal support.[/u]
BHPIE 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:58 pm

zeros ,you call him precious ? yet you have a SOOK about being called a dick ?
Getting back to Maxy ,one of the top captains in th AFL, an organizer out on the ground and very handy player.