Where are all the knockers coming from?

Sly Leo

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2000 6:22 am
Post subject: Where are all the knockers coming from?Reply with quote

Sorry, but I'm getting a little tired of that (so far) 66-post thread entitled, "Where have all the knockers gone?" Also, the question itself has become a little redundant, prompting this new updated question - "Where are all the knockers coming from?"

Well, I'll tell you.

If the Roos fell over in a heap, do you think there'd be knockers?

Hell no, because for there to be knockers that would mean somebody would actually have to care about the Roos. Considering their meagre and pitiful supporter-base and the fact they're being sent to Sydney, I would say nobody actually cares about the Roos, least of all their own Administration who are simply reactive in the face of ongoing survival.

They're a faint amusement - an interim-Team for interim-Seasons.

And you know what that means?

Seasons comprised of a successful Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon and even (consistent) Richmond elicit support and rapture from the masses. Hell, we filled Colonial to 34 thousand when we played Fremantle there. Roos got 12 thousand against the same Team.

So you might argue it was Mother's Day.

Who cares?

Backtrack - 34 thousand? That's a bigger crowd than the Roos would get against most other Victorian-teams.

And this is where all the knockers are coming from.

Collingwood exist on the pinnacle of Football-omniprescence. You know why we're great? - even when we're having poor Seasons?

Because we actually have supporters who give a damn. As for non-Collingwood supporters, well they just love to see us fail. One way or the other, we elicit emotion from the masses.

Roos (and this goes for quite a few teams), you don't elicit emotion when you're winning. Let's recall the debacle of your 99-Premiership celebrations eclipsed by the celebrations of a two year old Melbourne Storm Rugby Team also reveling in Premiership Glory.

The knockers come from envy and wretchedness, so empty in their support for their own Teams that the only comfort and security they can find is in a Collingwood-loss.

When you knock, all you show is that you care about the fortunes of Collingwood and, subconsciously, there's this hidden fear, this dread and insecurity, that you have to revel in current woes because you know it won't last forever - so get your shots in now.

Where have all the knockers come from?

They come from Collingwood being the Greatest Team on Earth.

Sly LeKoupa.
The Last Remaining Bad Guy.
The Collingwood Rant.
Don't believe the Facts until you've read the Rants!

The Unofficial AFL Ranting Board.

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2000 8:16 am

Sly

I think you're just trying to start another thread even longer than the previous one.
Good luck.

Incidentally, does anyone know how to close a thread? I've tried to close that damn thing twice now without success. Then every time I think it's just about died a natural death someone opens up the can of worms again with a new comment (which is usually just some inane variation on all the old comments).

Actually, I'm not so sure that we've got as big a following as we like to make out. We allegedly pulled 29,000 the other day. That's pathetic. I also think it's an inflated figure. It sure didn't look like 29,000. And a few thousand of them were Weagles supporters. We were easily outnumbered and out-barracked at the Richmond game.

I hate to sound like the Devil's advocate here but I think we set ourselves up to be knocked by clinging on to some worn-out mythology that we are somehow better than the rest because we won a string of premierships in the 1920s.

The fact is Collingwood in 2000 is a very sick club and football in 2000 is a very sick game. Ten years from now no-one is going to give a toss about Collingwood, Essendon, the Kanga-whatever-they're-called's or any other club. Because the more elitist football becomes the more irrelevent it will be.

Frankly I'm looking forward to the AFL going broke and putting us all out of our misery.

CJ 

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2000 11:30 am

The only way to close the thread would be to get Nick (the owner of this site) to permanently remove it and make it so you have to register . At least that way Rooboy, Sally, Larry and all the other UNREGISTERED users won't be able to keep posting crap. Hopefully then, they will piss off and start posting messages to people that give a shit.

"Good Old Collingwood Forever"

Larry 

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2000 3:25 am

so if the Kangaoos a crap, Collingwould must be ??

Nice to see the buddy system, working out at Collingwould, Mal and Chris go hand in hand to the Casino, for a bit of carry on following in their Captains footsteps, and as if I care about a glasshouses.

slmfao.aa.

^*Cl|T*^ 

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2000 12:36 pm

Tazza and Mal didn't do any worse than ur boy Pikey. Least they left when asked to.
Larry 

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2000 4:07 am

and as if I care about Glasshouses, how dumb are you?

slmfao.aa.

Rooboy 

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2000 10:20 am

Sly, have a good read of AlfAndrews posting, you might learn something.

The fact is the 'North Melbourne Kangaroos' as know in Melbourne and the 'Kangaroos' as know in Sydney are here to stay for good. Don't know where you have been hiding, it is a National Competition.

Take nothing away from our ever-reliable Administration, they do a mighty great job. Unlike the so-called leaders Vic Park has had running the show for the last 5 decades. With idiots like Eddie & your favourite son T.Shaw, have a good look who's the next Melbourne based team to head north.

Consider the fact the 'North Melbourne Kangaroos' will be well know around Australia and look forward to ensure they stay around for many years to come. We are leaders in the pack, off and on the field.

You sit on your eggs and wait for them to hatch, in the meantime were miles ahead!!

Catch up or miss the boat.... Hammer'em ROOS!!

Nick's BB veteran

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2000 11:28 am

Hey Larry and Roo Boy,
are you guys ****ing losers? You have no friends and there no good HOMEBUSH Kangaroos web sites so u say to your self "i'll be cool and piss people off on a collingwood website. Go back to where you came from you pack of losers! I bet they will reply because they have nothing better to do
CJ 

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2000 11:36 am

Rooboy,

Firstly, who gives a shit what North are called.

&

Secondly, How on earth can you call it a *QUOTE* "National Competition" *UNQUOTE* when there isn't a team from either TAS or ACT or NT?

Get a life ya drip.

Sly Leo

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2000 6:37 am

Rooboy,

I've been one of the harshest critics of Collingwood's respective prior Administrations, so don't try and enforce a view I often expound myself far more eloquently than you.

As for the Roos being miles ahead...

In what?

Did the 99-Flag count as 10?

Otherwise, I still count the Roos as 10 Flags down on Collingwood.

And before you spout the ever-reliable, "Yeah, but what have you done lately?" rhetoric, a Football Club is the sum total of its history - not the last couple of years.

The Roos are a Carey-ahead of Collingwood and that's about it. Were one of the Roccas to kick a bag against you, then you'd find your advantage - whatever advantage you may consider it - to be greatly diminished.

In actuality, this was proved over the weekend. Koutafides kicked 5, Carey was held...so where were the rest of the Roos? Similarly with the 98 Grand Final. Jarman went beserk. Where was the Pete Sampras of Grand Finals?

I heard Dennis Pagan say that he's going to have about 5 more years in this {quote}"coaching-caper" before calling it quits. To me, it sounds as if he's timing his retirement to coincide with Carey's eventual retirement.

I acknowledge Carey's a Champion, but if you think the likes of Adam Lang and company are going to be able to eventually replace Carey and supplement the Roos, then you're sorely deluding yourself.

Miles ahead in what? Really?

Lesser Flags, lesser members, lesser overall attendances, butchering the Club-identity, acceding to a relocation merely out of necessity for survival - if this is miles ahead in your own little world, I'd recommend Thorazine. I hear it does wonders in reinforcing reality.

But then again, if I barracked for the Roos, I wouldn't want to concede to reality either.
Larry 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2000 3:14 am

CJ, you just can't give up on Tassie can you?

Is it seven on the trot now, "Collingwould the team taking over from where the Handbags were last year"

This thread should be renamed where are all the defenders now?

Mt Hotham would be a good guess.

CJ 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2000 2:59 pm

Larry ya dip shit,

I wasn't talking to you. Since when was your name Rooboy?.

Anyway, why should I give up on Tassie having a team? If we did have one, at least we would be able to draw a crowd. Have you got something against Tassie do ya?

Larry 

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2000 8:33 am

CJ

If they couldn't draw a crowd maybe they could at least win, (unlike Collingwould) when the other real teams start playing footy, after round 5.

The Kangaroos, know them 2 day and 2 night Premierships in the last 5 years very rarely win in the first four weeks of the season, but then Collingwould rarely win after the first four weeks.

slmfao.aa.

Nick's BB veteran

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2000 10:20 am

Hey Larry,
are u still coming on this board? Why don't u go to some HOMEBUSH Kangaroo sites? Oh yeah, there are none!!! U have no life so u have to come on a collingwood site and talk about shit!!! Your big and tough on the internet, but i bet in real life, your a loser with a small dick who gets his arse kicked by everyone! so **** off u bandwagon supporter!
CJ 

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2000 12:06 pm

Larry,

Don't even start bragin' about premierships, because none of us could, would or should even give a FLYING **** how many flags Norff have won. Until Norff pass THE MIGHTY PIES who have 14 flags, (I bet you carn't even count that high), then you can brag as much as ya like.

As for YOUR comment "If they couldn't draw a crowd maybe they could at least win, (unlike Collingwould) when the other real teams start playing footy, after round 5"
What the bloody hell is all that crap surposed to mean???????????

Go back to where ever it is ya came from ya wanker.