I hate the Olympics

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 23, 24, 25  Next

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:02 pm

rocketronnie wrote:
The Olympics are a meaningless and monumental waste of money. I'm sick to death of parasitic athletes, good blokes or not, living off the public purse for no public benefit of any consequence. I could care less if they get up and train at 4am. They don't do it for the people, they do it for themselves and the benefits they receive from it. The faux national pride that are loaded on achievements of "excellence" in meaningless activities is sickening to behold. Meanwhile worthwhile achievements that promote social good are by and large ignored - and unfunded.

So what if you are the fastest runner of the 60 or so that compete in an event? That doesn't mean you are the fastest runner on Earth, nor is there any real benefit to anyone if you are: being fastest is quite frankly pointless. Its not like any of us need to run like that anymore. Billions of dollars etc are sunk into this media fueled circus every year that quite frankly could be spent on better things all around the world. The striving for bigger and better circuses every Olympics creates a few jobs during the construction phase and then creates a massive deficit that the unfortunate host countries are saddled with for years.

As you can probably guess I won't be watching this absurd circus -not even one minute of it if I can help it. I'm going to find something more interesting to do. I don't expect anyone at all to agree with me on this issue, but to me its a social good just airing alternates to the dominant paradigm.

My sisters sport was badminton. Very little funding. Yep got up at 4 to train, the. Went to work all day, then more training. In between there were school visits, stadium vista to promote the sport. Raising funds to travel around the world for competitions etc. To be the best in Australia she had to live and breath it for about 10 years. Then she had to grow up, get a job and start her life, at the age of about 30! but it was worth it to her.

She was the first outsider ever to be invited to train with the Chinese and spent. 3 months at their academy for elite sports children. My parents had to find the travel money and expenses. But what an incredible experience.

I've tried so many sports, I went in every event at school, played netball for years, and got to A grade , and that was such a thrill for me. But it was the best I was capable of. I still dreamed, I still tried. Much like your average suburban footy player watching AFL and dreaming of kicking that winning goal.

What's the difference? You watch the Brownlow, that's meaningless to your average golf fanatic, or running star. But we want to see who is considered the best at the highest level of our favorite sport

Most of the funding comes from advertising such as nutragrain for most athletes. Only the very few are lucky to get enough funding to live. They are not living of the public purse. Yes they get their uniforms, air fares and food for the games, but not for things like world championships etc. That. Comes from private funding, advertisers, sponsors etc. I know a couple of netball Olympians, same story, mostly self funded.

Is it an age thing? It seems to be the younger posters bagging the games ( I have no idea how old you are Ronnie! Not even a ball park guess!)

I have no interest in the voice, but I wouldn't say I hate it it, I just don't watch it saying you hate the games, I just don't get it.

Why such strong emotion?

Tp, I fully agree with you here.

This attitude that "If I am not interested it must be garbage" shows a complete lack of tolerance, worldliness or life experience and is really a major byproduct of the selfish "ME" generation.

Love the one you are with, apperciate and enjoy what you have and show tolerance to others are what khama is all about.

rocketronnie 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:23 pm

Member 7167 wrote:
rocketronnie wrote:
The Olympics are a meaningless and monumental waste of money. I'm sick to death of parasitic athletes, good blokes or not, living off the public purse for no public benefit of any consequence. I could care less if they get up and train at 4am. They don't do it for the people, they do it for themselves and the benefits they receive from it. The faux national pride that are loaded on achievements of "excellence" in meaningless activities is sickening to behold. Meanwhile worthwhile achievements that promote social good are by and large ignored - and unfunded.

So what if you are the fastest runner of the 60 or so that compete in an event? That doesn't mean you are the fastest runner on Earth, nor is there any real benefit to anyone if you are: being fastest is quite frankly pointless. Its not like any of us need to run like that anymore. Billions of dollars etc are sunk into this media fueled circus every year that quite frankly could be spent on better things all around the world. The striving for bigger and better circuses every Olympics creates a few jobs during the construction phase and then creates a massive deficit that the unfortunate host countries are saddled with for years.

As you can probably guess I won't be watching this absurd circus -not even one minute of it if I can help it. I'm going to find something more interesting to do. I don't expect anyone at all to agree with me on this issue, but to me its a social good just airing alternates to the dominant paradigm.

My sisters sport was badminton. Very little funding. Yep got up at 4 to train, the. Went to work all day, then more training. In between there were school visits, stadium vista to promote the sport. Raising funds to travel around the world for competitions etc. To be the best in Australia she had to live and breath it for about 10 years. Then she had to grow up, get a job and start her life, at the age of about 30! but it was worth it to her.

She was the first outsider ever to be invited to train with the Chinese and spent. 3 months at their academy for elite sports children. My parents had to find the travel money and expenses. But what an incredible experience.

I've tried so many sports, I went in every event at school, played netball for years, and got to A grade , and that was such a thrill for me. But it was the best I was capable of. I still dreamed, I still tried. Much like your average suburban footy player watching AFL and dreaming of kicking that winning goal.

What's the difference? You watch the Brownlow, that's meaningless to your average golf fanatic, or running star. But we want to see who is considered the best at the highest level of our favorite sport

Most of the funding comes from advertising such as nutragrain for most athletes. Only the very few are lucky to get enough funding to live. They are not living of the public purse. Yes they get their uniforms, air fares and food for the games, but not for things like world championships etc. That. Comes from private funding, advertisers, sponsors etc. I know a couple of netball Olympians, same story, mostly self funded.

Is it an age thing? It seems to be the younger posters bagging the games ( I have no idea how old you are Ronnie! Not even a ball park guess!)

I have no interest in the voice, but I wouldn't say I hate it it, I just don't watch it saying you hate the games, I just don't get it.

Why such strong emotion?

This attitude that "If I am not interested it must be garbage" shows a complete lack of tolerance, worldliness or life experience and is really a major byproduct of the selfish "ME" generation.

Love the one you are with, apperciate and enjoy what you have and show tolerance to others are what khama is all about.

You completely miss the point. I see you are quite happy to tolerate billions spent on an annual circus but I bet you oppose the NBN, funding climate change initiatives, and a host of other Government funded social initiatives for the public good. Most Olympic hopefuls are not funded by multinationals such as Kellogs and MacDonalds (only done to create brand acceptance btw), once they are accepted into the faux amateur Olympic system they are heavily funded with grants. scholarships, and funding from the AOC. Its all tax free and it all comes out of the public purse. After they are successful at whatever Olympic event they are in, they reap sponsorships, jobs in media and back within the Olympic gravy train also. Is any of the support they have received to achieve that wealth ever paid back? Never - its a tax free gift for being a circus performer. Meanwhile essential Government jobs and programs are cut . What is wrong with that picture?

Last edited by rocketronnie on Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
rocketronnie 

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:32 pm

That was her choice to make such sacrifices. Also her choice to play in an unrecognised sport really. She got some benefit out of it. That's good for her. If she'd been in a glamour iconic sport it would have been all laid on and if she could swim faster over a short distance in ideal conditions than anybody else she's be labelled a "champion", a "hero" - a hero for doing what really?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:45 pm

rocketronnie wrote:

That was her choice to make such sacrifices. Also her choice to play in an unrecognised sport really. She got some benefit out of it. That's good for her. If she'd been in a glamour iconic sport it would have been all laid on and if she could swim faster over a short distance in ideal conditions than anybody else she's be labelled a "champion", a "hero" - a hero for doing what really?

a "sporting hero"

why is that a problem for you?

we pay one hell of a lot of tax, and id rather it went to the games, than to building some new parlimnet, monument, plane for the ministers, overseas trips, fancy luncheons, crappy pictures to put on the wall. everyone has their own likes and dislikes,

7167 sums it up for me

Love the one you are with, apperciate and enjoy what you have and show tolerance to others are what karma is all about.

yes she chose it, yes she did get a lot out of it thankyou (so did i, think aussie gear with signitures that i will always treasure, even though i am a pom)

for someone who often rattles on about tolerance, you are showing surprisingly little here!!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:01 pm

rocketronnie wrote:
Member 7167 wrote:

You completely miss the point. I see you are quite happy to tolerate billions spent on an annual circus but I bet you oppose the NBN, funding climate change initiatives, and a host of other Government funded social initiatives for the public good.

Ha! Good point.

7167, there are plenty of things that I'm not interested in that I tolerate: ballet, country music, beer and the Liberal Party. The same goes for any Olympic sport you could mention, even synchronised swimming and downhill luge. Actually, despite the thread title, I don't even have an issue with the Olympics per se — why not, in theory, have a major international event showcasing the best of various sports?

The problem I have is what the Olympics is, or has become: a monumental PR exercise for the hosting country, combined with, as RR points out, the ugly commercialisation of the whole thing. For me, the incident that triggered this thread perhaps illuminated more than anything the hypocrisy and smug sanctimony associated with the event. That doesn't mean that I don't tolerate its existence, or that I have an issue with any of you guys watching and enjoying it; it just means that I'm going to give this year's installment a miss.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:02 pm

rocketronnie wrote:
Member 7167 wrote:
rocketronnie wrote:

Why such strong emotion?

You completely miss the point. I see you are quite happy to tolerate billions spent on an annual circus but I bet you oppose the NBN, funding climate change initiatives, and a host of other Government funded social initiatives for the public good. Most Olympic hopefuls are not funded by multinationals such as Kellogs and MacDonalds (only done to create brand acceptance btw), once they are accepted into the faux amateur Olympic system they are heavily funded with grants. scholarships, and funding from the AOC. Its all tax free and it all comes out of the public purse. After they are successful at whatever Olympic event they are in, they reap sponsorships, jobs in media and back within the Olympic gravy train also. Is any of the support they have received to achieve that wealth ever paid back? Never - its a tax free gift for being a circus performer. Meanwhile essential Government jobs and programs are cut . What is wrong with that picture?

Mate, I have little interest in the Olympic Games. At the same time I recognise that "Sport" is an important part of who we are as a nation. Over time our sporting activities and achievements in sport have bound us together as a nation. Freemans winning of the 400m was defining moment is a good example but there are many other examples across many sports that can be easily referenced

It is interesting that you referenced some other opinion that I have that differ to your own. You attempt to paint me as being ignorant in an attempt to undermine any opinions I may have. This is a common ploy on this BB. Seeing that you have referred to these – here we go.

NBN. I endorse a project that provides better communication especially for those in remote areas. At the same time I think that it is an expensive way of going about it and I believe that the advantages it provides will available at significantly lower cost as newer and cheaper technologies become available. Infrastructure projects are good for our nation but there are better choices in this area to be made. I integrated a computer for the first time into a business in approximately 1979. Since then I have played a significant role with IT in most of the businesses I have work in. I have rarely invested in cutting edge technology as the benefit of the additional costs is normally not there. I have found that in 12 – 18 months the 2nd level is 30% of the cost with the bugs removed with integration an easier path. An acquaintance holds a senior role in R&D with Telstra. He holds a similar viewpoint. Does this make him ignorant as well? Some of the wireless technologies they are testing show great potential.

Climate change. I am no sceptic. I personally believe that increases in CO2 are having a detrimental effect. I just do not believe that the best way to go about this is to tax everybody to the point that change will take place somehow. I prefer a more direct approach. We could easily convert our national car fleet from petrol to gas/hybrid over the next 20 years with the right approach from government. Conversion / replacement of our brown coal fired generators with gas fired technology of the next 10 years would be a good starting place and is potentially achievable. At this point in time there are no other real alternatives. Discussion on this is not new in my household. My son is a scientist and works full time for an international consultancy and works in their ecology area. Does this make me ignorant or just someone who holds a different opinion to your own?

One thing about scientific theory – it is just that. Pluto is an excellent example. How will some of the theories embraced by the Rudd / Gillard government be viewed in the future as our knowledge and understanding grow?

Enough for now – I’m off to the game

Go The Pies.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:11 pm

Well, I was hoping that most sensible people would agree with me here; hadn't quite counted on a lunatic's support. Ah well, from the mouths of Bobs...

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/olympics-2012/katter-comes-out-blazing-for-sporting-heroes-darcy-and-monk-20120611-2052d.html

Bob Katter wrote:
"Legitimate shooting organisations, law enforcement officers and defenders of our nation should quite rightly feel deeply offended when our sporting heroes cannot even be photographed holding a gun," he said.

"We need to stand up and fight against this overwhelming tide of political correctness. By trying not to offend anyone, we ensure that we offend nearly everyone."

Not sure 'political correctness' is quite the right term for this (although it's not entirely wrong, either), and Katter can't resist a homophobic dig, but otherwise he has more or less stated the obvious.

Interestingly, in the SMH poll under the article, 58% out of 16,000 voters consider this issue 'a lot of fuss over nothing', 17% consider the photo 'a little silly' or 'not that bad', and 25% see it as a 'very serious error of judgement'.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:30 pm

Sorry, off-topic Smile

Member 7167 wrote:
NBN. I endorse a project that provides better communication especially for those in remote areas. At the same time I think that it is an expensive way of going about it and I believe that the advantages it provides will available at significantly lower cost as newer and cheaper technologies become available. Infrastructure projects are good for our nation but there are better choices in this area to be made. I integrated a computer for the first time into a business in approximately 1979. Since then I have played a significant role with IT in most of the businesses I have work in. I have rarely invested in cutting edge technology as the benefit of the additional costs is normally not there. I have found that in 12 – 18 months the 2nd level is 30% of the cost with the bugs removed with integration an easier path. An acquaintance holds a senior role in R&D with Telstra. He holds a similar viewpoint. Does this make him ignorant as well? Some of the wireless technologies they are testing show great potential.

Climate change. I am no sceptic. I personally believe that increases in CO2 are having a detrimental effect. I just do not believe that the best way to go about this is to tax everybody to the point that change will take place somehow. I prefer a more direct approach. We could easily convert our national car fleet from petrol to gas/hybrid over the next 20 years with the right approach from government. Conversion / replacement of our brown coal fired generators with gas fired technology of the next 10 years would be a good starting place and is potentially achievable. At this point in time there are no other real alternatives. Discussion on this is not new in my household. My son is a scientist and works full time for an international consultancy and works in their ecology area. Does this make me ignorant or just someone who holds a different opinion to your own?

One thing about scientific theory – it is just that. Pluto is an excellent example. How will some of the theories embraced by the Rudd / Gillard government be viewed in the future as our knowledge and understanding grow?

Enough for now – I’m off to the game

Go The Pies.

So on the one hand newer and cheaper technology is just around the corner so we're better off not doing things properly (telecommunications), but on the other hand newer and cheaper technology isn't just around the corner so we're better off not doing things properly (carbon pricing). Brilliant!

This is the kind of nonsense you come up with when you're following the party leaflets and not thinking independently.

Everyone knows Australia only has one shot every few decades at proper infrastructure renewal, so you go with the basic physics (fibre-the science is already pushing terabits along it) and the established global standard and overlay that with any advances which may come along in the future. Otherwise you get a ridiculous patchwork of half-arsed efforts and all of the inefficiencies, poor service and inflation which accompany it.

Everyone also knows you don't get massive economic shift without price signal shift. But as I say, conservatives no longer comprehend economics, particularly now they realise competition in a world where you don't control everything actually means competition against yourself.

And no, science itself is not a "theory"; it's a field, method and body of practice, among other things. Unless you mean that thought itself is about shuffling around metaphors which bear some useful correlation to "reality", with the best metaphor or complex of metaphors then signalling the socio-economic system and changing pricing and behaviour. Then you might be right, but you obviously neither mean nor understand that.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:22 pm

Sigh

Well I for one am going to watch a fair portion of it

I hope to see many moments that make me cheer, laugh, cry, barrack, scream, and wildy clap!

I want to see unbreakable records broken

I want to see all different nations party like it's 1999!

I want to see the one from the nation that has no budget money to spare, I want to see him or her, up on that podium, with the most unlikely medal possible. And I will quite unashamedly cry my eyes out and scream at the telly with pure unadulterated joy!

I want to see Usain Bolt jog the last metre and win by two!

I never watch hockey, but I want to see the Aussie men's and women's team bring home the gold.

I can't wait for the track relays. ( though the devil in me hopes the Aussie women drop the baton, karma!)

I want to marvel at the diving, so unbelievable brave

The swimming 50 metre dash, one false muscle twitch and it's over.

I want to check out the daggy formal outfits at the opening ceremony.

Bring it on!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:04 pm

I've only posted so far about the two swimmers.

I quite like the Olympic Games. I'm not a fanatic about it but I like it none the less. I do get the argument about people getting tax payers money and not giving any back once they get endorsements but when I see the medal table and see how high we rank compared to our population I'll confess to being proud.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:18 pm

Sigh

Well I for one am going to watch a fair portion of it

I hope to see many moments that make me cheer, laugh, cry, barrack, scream, and wildy clap!

I want to see unbreakable records broken

I want to see all different nations party like it's 1999!

I want to see the one from the nation that has no budget money to spare, I want to see him or her, up on that podium, with the most unlikely medal possible. And I will quite unashamedly cry my eyes out and scream at the telly with pure unadulterated joy!

I want to see Usain Bolt jog the last metre and win by two!

I never watch hockey, but I want to see the Aussie men's and women's team bring home the gold.

I can't wait for the track relays. ( though the devil in me hopes the Aussie women drop the baton, karma!)

I want to marvel at the diving, so unbelievable brave

The swimming 50 metre dash, one false muscle twitch and it's over.

I want to check out the daggy formal outfits at the opening ceremony.

Bring it on!

And the best part of it all is that you and literally millions of other individuals will watch and enjoy the games. Celebrate the positives and enjoy. I for one will watch a number of events and will certainly enjoy them. At the same time I will not be reflecting on the cost, or world poverty or any other issues that detract.

For the others, wallow in you negativity and enjoy the outcome you pine for and deserve.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:20 pm

when I see the medal table and see how high we rank compared to our population I'll confess to being proud.

Now try seeing how high we stand compared to our standard of living - 'cause that is what actually determines our chances. Countries with lots of money per person do well. Countries that spend lots on training do well. Countries that do both do very well. Population doesn't have a great deal to do with it.

Ranked correctly - by our standard of living - we go OK. No better than just OK.

Which is fine. It's about athletes competing. It is not about nations comparing dick sizes. I like to see athletes compete. I cringe when Australians think they are slimeball yanks and go all stupid over national anthems and flags and carp like that. Makes me want to vomit. Real Australians are better than that.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:44 pm

Ah yes the yanks bagging!

I've been there twice, travelled around the west coast a fair bit, and totally loved it. Loved the people, loved the way they treated strangers, just loved the place.

Going back again this Xmas hopefully, and i can't bloody wait!

P's and I still wear my Aussie board shorts on Australia day! And green and gold zinc! Yep the Aussie day bogan that's me! And loving it!

Seriously, the world is too, well serious, mine has been lately anyway, I love a reason to have a bit of sheer harmless joy, celebrating with strangers, kind of like after a good magpie win! Hell I hug everybody!

I don't know why so many like to "wallow in the negativity" as so many seem to, life is short, life can be tough, we get one go, enjoy everything. Look for the fun in everything. Why not?

Last edited by think positive on Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:48 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:48 pm

Bloody poms.

Razz Wink

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:56 pm

Bloody poms.

Razz Wink
Laughing Laughing Laughing

I have a genuine pommy cricket warm up jumper, I keep meaning to get Collingwood written on the back! As in Paul!

Combine my great loves!!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 4 of 25