So. What's for Dinner?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119  Next

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2022 6:13 pm

Irish Stew in the crockpot, using lamb forequarter chops. It's been cooking since 11am, just added some peas and gave it a stir, the meat is literally falling off the bones.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2022 6:54 pm

Cereal, hot choc and maybe a Jimmy!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2022 7:13 pm

what kind of cereal? Coco Pops?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2022 7:26 pm

if only! all thats here is sultana bran!
that and a spoonful of peanut butter so far, for some weird reason i have 5 different peanut butters, and all of them are open!
chocolate would be nice, but i cant be bothered going out, ill have another jarrah! tomorrow im going to feed the chooks (!) so ill go to the shops!

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2023 4:24 pm

Today is Mums 84th Birthday. She said she didn't want any fuss, just a lamb chop stew for dinner and a glass of Sangria.

So when I went to the market this morning I bought her a bunch of flowers, got a bottle of Sangria chilling in the fridge and an Irish Stew simmering in the dutch oven. Smells grouse.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2023 6:31 pm

Up in Toc, weather is beautiful, down to 12 overnight and up to 30 by mid arvo. Spent the morning working, chilled for the arvo, got a small boneless lamb leg roast in the oven, serve with Greek salad and scalloped potatoes.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2023 8:39 pm

Up in Toc, weather is beautiful, down to 12 overnight and up to 30 by mid arvo. Spent the morning working, chilled for the arvo, got a small boneless lamb leg roast in the oven, serve with Greek salad and scalloped potatoes.

You mean caked potatoes for us Victorians Laughing
Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2023 3:13 pm

Friday night roasted turkey drumsticks in the Weber.
Coated with Chinese 5 spice, into a foil roaster and cooked for just over an hour.
Served with a simple salad of snow peas, brocolini, bok choy & spring onion with a light soy sauce & sesame oil dressing.
Paired with a bottle of Wolf Blass Makers' Project Reserve Pinot Three

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 8:02 pm

Keeping with the 'preparing the body for surgery recovery' theme.

https://myallamericancare.com/blog/2019/12/21/what-to-eat-before-and-after-surgery/.

Tonight I've just lightly floured some fresh blue spot emperor which I'll fry in a little butter, sliced some sweet potatoes for the air fryer and will add some peas and corn.

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2023 8:58 pm

Peas and Corn are both high in sugar, does that work?

Tonight was a Tbone steak with spud and sweet potato mash, mushroom sauce and steamed veg. Broccoli, carrot, cauili, beans, silverbeet.

Today i finished off the last of the Osso Bucco minestrone for lunch. Made Osso bucco a while ago, had one pice of meat left over that didn't fit in the pan, so after browning it kept it in the fridge for a few days then used it to make a minestrone soup. Bloody tasty.

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 12:30 am

Didn't have a heap, maybe a cup of each. Been mixing in all veggies. Mainly heaps of broccoli.
There wasn't a great deal to chose from.tonight.
Gilbert's for some stock replenishment tomorrow.

Peas and corn are full of good carbohydrates. Not only are they rich in starch to stabilize your blood sugar levels, they also pack lots of fiber into your diet

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 10:27 am

You're reading different stuff to me. Starchy carb veges don't stabilise your sugar levels, they can raise it, they're on the eat little of list because the body so easily converts it to sugar. It's the non-starchy carb veges you want to eat most of.

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 10:50 am

I mostly have been sticking to the leafy green stuff mate, but yeah, funny how different ideas are there.
Having said that, remember when eggs were good, then they weren't, then dairy was good, then it wasn't... all that stuff.
I'm just totally avoiding all the crap (biscuits, cake, chocolate, ice cream) that used to be in my diet a bit and no processed stuff as the basic rule.
My only cheat is a bit of honey in my tea.

We had a going away morning tea for one of the chicks at work on fly out day and they had all the usual; party pies, pizza, dimmys, chips and of course cake. I'd been really strict the previous 2 weeks and thought, ah, stuff it a couple of party pies and a dimmy won't hurt... boy was I wrong! The body reacted pretty quick and I was hitting the dunny bowl not long after eating that.

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 2:28 pm

Just eating a sensational scotch fillet. Haven't had a piece of steak for a while.

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2023 2:34 pm

You're a prick.

I cooked myself a nice healthy breakfast omlette with leafy greens, mushies, tomatoes and some sliced roast lamb, then went out to do some shopping. Walking out of Woolies I walk past a Charcoal Chicken shop and can see all the Dimmies and Potato cakes in the Bain Maree, remember your post and started salivating. Mad

Managed to resist, but I do love a nice fresh fried dimmie. Smile

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119  Next
Page 115 of 119