So. What's for Dinner?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 112, 113, 114 ... 117, 118, 119  Next

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2022 10:09 pm

I refuse to eat artificial meat. Just look at the ingredients list, it's frankenfood.

For tonight I put some beef meatballs in the slowcooker, after browning them, with some packet sauce and veges. Celery, Carrot, Onion, Zucchini, Beans, Cauli, spuds.

Never tried it, probably never would.
I'm guessing you're referring to the 'Plantagent' Pork?
It's not what you're thinking...

Plantagenet Pork is a WA family-owned company who make their pigs their primary importance.
The pigs on Plantagenet farms are all raised in their family social groups, free to roam the land and not locked up in stalls. This means all Plantagenet pigs are happy, healthy pigs.
Herman D’Souza, the executive chef for Plantagenet, can’t recommend pork enough. It’s extremely versatile, high in iron, has great nutritional value, and retains its flavour in the cooking process!

https://www.ourstateonaplate.com/story.php?id=382&hit=1

Tonight I fired up the BBQ.

Our local butcher is excellent.
Got a single piece of eye fillet which he sliced in half for me, probably about 100gms each for Kel 'n myself - it was succulent. Had 1 lamb loin chop and 1 rosemarry lamb snagga with the steak. Served with a pile of steamed; carrots, broccoli, cauli & beans.
Simple, yet very satisfying.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2022 7:32 pm

nah, not Plantagenic Pork, never heard of it before.

These artificial plant based "meat" products. If you want to be Vegan, great, eat vegetables and get your protein and other necessary vitamins from other Vegan sources like nuts or pulses. Beyond Meat and Impossible are just 2 of them.

This laboratory created fake meat is just garbage.

Last night had some chicken steaks with an airfryed vege medley.

Lebanese Eggplant, Zucchini, capsicum, onion, cherry tomato, Halloumi cubes,Green Beans, Choko, Butternut Pumpkin, all in bite sized pieces, tossed in EVOO and some seasoning, cook at 180 for 30 minutes in the airfryer, tossing around every 10 minutes. Fkn yum as a side dish.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2022 11:19 am

Turkey bacon isn’t bad, the plant stuff is ugh! Although there are some nice plant burgers, don’t taste like meat though!

I came to the beach house Friday arvo, hubby is too busy, so I’m all on my own! Bliss! No kids, hubby, cleaning, but I miss the dogs and coffee in bed!
Last night I cooked one of those slow cooked roast beef in a bag things, with zucchini swirls and beans,mushrooms and garlic, yum! Bought myself a bottle of honey bourbon, not the American one, this is Smokey and not so sweet. A little on ice, yum! Binged shooter series 3 on Netflix.
Took my drone out to practice, started knitting another jumper, porridge for brekky, I’m sitting here watching footy classifieds in my pjs! I really should get home! Soon!

Oh and I agree with Kane!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 1:27 pm

Sounds like a great relaxing time.

I don't mind those vege patties sometimes, they can be quite tasty for a change but they don't pretend to be meat.

Did a chicken chasseur in the crockpot last nigh, very tasty.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 10:47 pm

Lots

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 8:33 am

Hah, cute.
Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 10:32 am

I remember those days. Laughing

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 6:49 pm

Looks like he's good on the fang like his Grandfather . How old is he there?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2022 9:45 pm

Looks like he's good on the fang like his Grandfather . How old is he there?

5 & 1/2 months. He’s 6 months in the first week of July. They’re very lucky: eating++,sleeping++ and seems like a happy baby. We’re hoping they’ll come back to Melbourne. FaceTime is a fabulous feature to use. Mrs WPT & my daughter are on it daily if not multiple times a day.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2022 11:12 pm

Finally got an air fryer, absolutely loving it thanks to the great advice on here, just took a while. But was looking at something else, then started googling the air fryers they had and found it half price at Good Guys so jumped at it. Bit big for me as first time making wedges I put in way too many, but oh what a difference it makes, can’t believe I ever lived without one.

Even did a frozen pie the other day and turned out perfectly.
partypie 

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2022 3:10 am

Air fryer does the best garlic bread in a few minutes

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2022 5:50 pm

And fried chicken, KFC style without all the oil.

Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2022 5:51 pm

Tonight is Butter Chickpeas (like Butter Chicken but vego).

Dried chickpeas soaked then in the slow cooker with tin of tomatoes, tin coconut cream, vegie stock, garlic & ginger cooked with spices (ground cumin, ground ferungeek, garam masala, ground coriander, sweet paprika, fennel seeds & cinnamon stick). Also added half a sweet potato as I had some left over from earlier in the week.

Smells good so far.

To be served with rice, chapatis and a bottle of Dal Zotto Pinot Grigio.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2022 6:24 pm

Flavours sound yum, just hope the chickpeas hold their shape otherwise you'll get curry flavoured Hummus.

I'm just doing finger food tonight. Got some chicken satays and some beef shasliks, bit of crusty jalapeno and cheese bread with butter, maybe some assorted cheese and celery sticks on the side

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2022 7:39 pm

Irish Stew last night, using whole forequarter chops. Yum.

Tonight, sick of the standard steamed veges so making a vege stew to go onside different proteins over the next few days.

Onion and celery sauteed, add diced eggplant, zucchini, potato, sweet potato, choko, chick peas, large tin of tomatoes, some paneer cheese and a decent dash of Harissa. Serve tonight with some lamb steaks.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 112, 113, 114 ... 117, 118, 119  Next
Page 113 of 119