So. What's for Dinner?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 110, 111, 112 ... 117, 118, 119  Next

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 7:43 pm

Lebanese spiced lamb with eggplant, zucchini and sweet potato.

Small legs of lamb were on special at Coles yesterday, cheapest per kg way to get lamb so got a small one and cut all the meat off and diced it. Kept the bone with straggly meat to make soup later in the week.

Pan fried the chunks in EVOO and butter to brown them, throw them in the crockpot, add a decent whack of Lebanese 7 spice (I'll have to make some more), sliced Lebanese eggplant (they're the long skinny ones), Zucchini, onion, sweet potato, a vege stock cube, tin of tomatoes, tin of chick peas and a little water and cook on low for 8 hours.

Serve with Cauli rice.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2021 5:22 pm

Slow cooker brisket.

Coated it in dry rub, liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce last night and left it in the fridge.

This morning, seared the outside in a hot pan then wrapped it in 3 layers of foil and put in the crock pot. Dry. Serving with some mashed sweet potato and steamed silverbeet and beans.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2021 8:26 pm

Freezing cold shitty weather, I resurrected a childhood classic. I'd cook this myself for dinner on the Friday night before playing under 14's footy on Saturday morning.

2 hamburger patties, 2 Bacon rashers, 2 slices of toast, tin of baked beans, 1 egg.

Cook everything, assemble as follows.

2 slices of buttered toast on the plate
Tomato sauce on toast
burger on toast
top with bacon
pour baked beans over the whole thing
top with fried egg
season with salt, pepper and Worcestershire sauce.

Eat.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2021 9:28 pm

^ Makes fried dim sims sound like a healthy choice. Laughing

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2021 10:43 pm

Nearly went the unhealthy hamburger myself tonight before cricket but ended up cbf cooking so had a pastrami roll instead Laughing

But had a homemade chicken parma for lunch, was quite good Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2021 7:08 pm

Nothing wrong with Dimmies or burgers, provided they're the exception not the rule. Wink

Tonight doing another classic, braised steak and onions. Got some beans and baby spuds in the pan as well, gonna cook some shell pasta to have with it.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2022 4:46 pm

Going over to see the daughter and grandson tomorrow arvo so did prep for tomorrow night dinner this arvo after mowing the lawn.

Small brisket and short ribs, rubbed them with seasoning then let sit while I made some salads.

Seared/charred them both on all 6 sides in a real hot pan, covered in sauce and after cooling down, back in the fridge for the night.

Tomorrow late morning I'll put them in the slow cooker with some beef stock and more sauce and let them cook for 8 hours on low.

Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2022 9:56 pm

Made this during the week

https://www.goodfood.com.au/recipes/news/nats-what-i-reckon-gives-honey-mustard-chicken-a-makeover-20211214-h20lb1

Served with rice and blanched sugar snap peas & bok choy.
Very nice.

Thought it would be good as a pasta dish - fresh pasta and chop the chicken into smaller pieces.

Last edited by Dark Beanie on Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:02 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2022 1:17 pm

you bleach sugar snap peas??? not a fan of green?
Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:04 pm

Lol.
Sorry that was a typo, should check spelling before posting.

Should have said blanched - fixed now 😀

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:27 pm

Looks really tasty. I'm not a fan of Bok choy but plenty of vege options.

Ribs and brisket were brilliant btw.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2022 6:49 pm

Quiet morning at work, done everything the boss left for me and she's not back til tomorrow so made a Fritatta this morning.

Was planning on making Fritatta Muffins but couldn't find the nuffin tray that fits in the convection oven/air fryer so I did this instead in a cake tin.

https://recipesfromapantry.com/air-fryer-breakfast-frittata/

Added some cooked chopped bacon, milk instead of cream and grated the cheese on top before cooking rather than mix it in.

Didn't rise much, lots of potential reasons but don't care, came out like a pizza with egg base, but looks and tastes pretty damn good.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2022 9:45 pm

Dark Beanie wrote:
Lol.
Sorry that was a typo, should check spelling before posting.

Should have said blanched - fixed now 😀

Hehe, I realised! Couldn’t resist!

Post a pic Stui, it looked amazing!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2022 11:50 pm

So what are air fryers like? Fitting out the new kitchen and someone at work suggested one.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:21 am

I reckon air fryers are worth the bench space, I rarely use the oven anymore.

Mine doesn't have the drawer you slide in and out, it has a hinged lid. It has a rotisserie fitting so you can cook a small roast, a basket you can fit into the rotisserie fitting to cook chips.

I often buy the crumbed chicken portions at Coles and they come up really well, nice and crunchy on the outside and juicy (but cooked) on the inside.

I've done a roast dinner for 2 in it, with the meat on the rotisserie just put some spuds, pumpkin, whatever in the bottom and they cook while the meat does, just steam some veges for the side.

Benefits for me are you don't need to pre heat it so if you feel like some party pies from the freezer just whack em in and turn it on. It also doesn't heat the whole kitchen up.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 110, 111, 112 ... 117, 118, 119  Next
Page 111 of 119