#30,#3 Brent Macaffer

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums

kickit2me Taurus

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:16 pm

DaVe86 wrote:
I reckon Brent is actually a half back flanker. This is where he has played his best footy at VFL as well.

He bagged 7 one day in '08 playing for Willy, 45 for the year, 3rd in the league for goal-kicking that year I believe.

Why is it that two of our better medium-sized forward prospects in recent years (The Caff & Rusling) are now considered half-back-flankers?

Collingwood has now got half-back-flankers coming out of its ears.

Shaw
Harry
Rusling
BJ
Caff
Goldsack
Toovey
Daisy was tried there
Rounds and Blight play there in the magoos as well if I'm not mistaken.

FFS!!!

1eyedpie Virgo

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:20 pm

kickit2me wrote:
DaVe86 wrote:
I reckon Brent is actually a half back flanker. This is where he has played his best footy at VFL as well.

He bagged 7 one day in '08 playing for Willy, 45 for the year, 3rd in the league for goal-kicking that year I believe.

Why is it that two of our better medium-sized forward prospects in recent years (The Caff & Rusling) are now considered half-back-flankers?

Shaw
Harry
Rusling
BJ
Caff
Goldsack
Toovey
Daisy was tried there

FFS!!!

I vaguely remember a game we went into last year with half a team of half back flankers lol

BARRACK HARD!
blacknwhiteatheart 

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:31 pm

sharrod_theiceman wrote:
blacknwhiteatheart wrote:
Brent... haha wet out with him last saturday night...... off his chops!

Another quality night at splash no doubt

BAHAHA yes mate indeed!!!

hitting it this sat night also!
Macgyver 

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:35 pm

pure gold. sultan of splash
blacknwhiteatheart 

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:38 pm

i was suprised to see him there!!! after the footy i had to let off some steam !!! no way better than the local night club!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:54 pm

kickit2me wrote:
DaVe86 wrote:

Shaw
Harry
Rusling
BJ
Caff
Goldsack
Toovey
Daisy was tried there

FFS!!!

I hear ya!

Pound for pound Macaffer is probably the best contested mark at the club.

Along with Dawes would be a viable alternative to Anthony leading out of the square or as a half forward.

If he must play back he could be in line for Toovey's spot very soon.

To much of a talent not to be in the senior side IMO.

Someone find him a spot!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:55 pm

By the sound of it maybe he should stay out of the night clubs and get fair dinkum with his training first.

burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:34 pm

blacknwhiteatheart wrote:
Brent... haha wet out with him last saturday night...... off his chops!

I look forward to reading about te Caff's exploits in tomorrows Hun courtasy of Hutchy and his 'breaking news'.....

In all honesty though - should we be openly making these sorts of statements?

sharrod_theiceman Gemini

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:44 pm

It's not like it's a well kept secret players go out on the weekend.

In Brent's case i'm sure if hutchy was desperate for a story he could trawl facebook since his and many other players profiles are open to viewing to pretty much everyone, that includes photos he's tagged in from nights out. Also i'd rather hear about Brent going out back home since there is less chance of him getting into trouble down there then up in the city, his dad is a local policeman after all.

Back on topic.

Brent is an excellent trainer, put on a good amount of bulk over summer and he always looks like he's going flat out at training.

I had him pencilled in for Medhurst's spot in the pre-season as i was one of those people who didn't think medhurst would shake his injuries.

I hope he breaks into the team and plays a Tarkyn Lockyer like role but would be equally happy if MM plonked him in the goal square

Last edited by sharrod_theiceman on Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:48 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:48 pm

Mate, no problem with him going out, he's only young and he's not a monk. It's the description of him being "off chops" I have a problem with.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:33 pm

HB: Harry, Presti, Toovey
HB: Rusling, Maxwell, Shaw
HB: Thomas, Rounds, Buckley
HB: Johnson, L Brown, Goldsack
HB: Blight, Cloke, Macaffer
HB: Jolly, McCarthy, Lockyer.
Int: Sidebottom, Carter, Hunter, Reid

Cakewalk 

For a minute there I lost myself , I lost myself

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:08 am

There's maybe a crew of guys who have been at the club for a few years now , but haven't been able to balance the professional and social side of being an athlete.
Young guys , need an outlet , not robots and all the other hackneyed stuff , but at the same time they have to realise they live a different lifestyle from their mates back home.

In a football sense he has been OK from what I've seen this pre season , but hasn't hit the form he showed off half back last year , yet.

poo man 

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:16 pm

From what i hear Brent is one of the better behaved young blokes at the club, great dedication to his training and when he goes out its unusual for him to be home much after midnight, also stays away from beer to look after his physique. To the guys saying they went out with him do you really think its a good idea to be posting about how blind he got on a certain night, not doing his rep any favours

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:41 pm

poo man wrote:
From what i hear Brent is one of the better behaved young blokes at the club, great dedication to his training and when he goes out its unusual for him to be home much after midnight, also stays away from beer to look after his physique. To the guys saying they went out with him do you really think its a good idea to be posting about how blind he got on a certain night, not doing his rep any favours

some people just can't help big noting themselves, I mean, do we really need to know?

On another note, my eyes must be deserting me 'cos on Fri night I kept getting Ball and the Caff confused. Unfortunately, I have no idea how either of them played so I just averaged it out and they both seemed just ok Smile

uuuuu..... The LoneSTAR 

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:45 pm

^ The Macaffer/McCarthy call was killing me!

With JA out & The Caff coming in last week I just assumed he would've had a run as our FF. We know he can play the game - He just needs to show the world!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Player Forums All times are GMT + 11 Hours