What's the last movie you watched?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 206, 207, 208 ... 237, 238, 239  Next

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2021 8:32 pm

The Karate Kid (1984)

Had the place to myself on Saturday. Wasn't feeing the best so chucked on Netflix and thought... why not? Recently finished the Cobra Kai TV series.

Longest Yard is very good. Might get around to watching the sequel to Coming To America in the next few days, we'll see.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 9:00 pm

Bill & Ted Face The Music (2020)

Well what can I say. I friggin loved the first two films when I was a child. Bill and Ted were like my idols. Laughing So when I heard a third movie was on the way, well I had mixed feelings. I wanted this to be a good movie so bad, but I was honestly thinking this could be a huge disappointment.

Covid stopped this being shown in cinema properly and I missed the short period of time it was re-released. I wanted nothing more than a Bill & Ted 3 when I wasn't even a teen yet.

So many years later, here it is.

So we chucked it on (It's not quite 80 minutes Shocked ) and well... I actually liked it. I thought it was rather quick and I didnt like the ending, but overall, I liked it. It lacked the magic of the originals and it felt a little bit rushed, but you cant go into this expecting the academy award winner.

Would have liked more musical cameos and maybe a time travel trip to 1989. It has an 82% approval rating on rotten tomatoes.

I'm going to have to watch the originals at some point.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 9:59 pm

In Adelaide on Monday evening Mrs WPT & I saw Nomadland. Wow powerful, cinematography was brilliant, the acting too was something else. Not sure it’s my favourite film but damn good nonetheless.

The film like the scenery was desolate, powerful and worth watching.

Trailer:

https://youtu.be/6sxCFZ8_d84

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 10:17 am

^^ Haven't seen it but that Frances McDormand is a magnificent actor, overall.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 12:03 pm

It's a good film! Can't say I loved it without reservation, but McDormand's performance is excellent, and it presents the 'nomad' lifestyle in fairly raw, unglamorised fashion. It's up for the Oscar for Best Picture, and would be a deserving winner I reckon.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2021 2:24 pm

clearly im not in the mood for work, cos i googled it, She is good and that looks good, id love to live that life there for a year, (but without the money worries!!) its an amazing place to road trip around. not sure id be game but id like to see this place:

https://burningman.org/

all crazy nomads!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2021 9:14 am

Zack Snyder's Justice League

Wow.

Downloaded it on Foxtel last night. At 4 hours running time I figured I'd watch half last night and the rest tonight. Nup, couldn't go to bed, watched the whole thing right through.

This was the movie they should have made

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 9:31 am

Netflix bingeing

Unbelievable - I googled the first assaulted victim after, and she said her parts of the movie are. Pretty much as it happened, and she is so pivotal because had the cops believed her, they quite possible would only have been 1 victim. It’s hard to watch and interesting to see the different mannerist the various cops. Limited series, well worth the time. Toni collette is as always amazing. But the young girl playing Marie, blew my mind. I just wanted to hug her and tell her I believe you.

Trial by fire, another true crime, I won’t spoil it, but it is a devastating watch and you just want to throw the US justice system into the trash.

Yes day. Good for an easy Jennifer Garner laugh. I like her, this movie is easy to watch a few laughs, not bad, not brilliant. Messy!

I loved bill and Ted, have to look for the new one!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 7:15 pm

Accidental Hero (1992)
Starring Dustin Hoffman, Geena Davis, Andy Garcia and Joan Cusack. Chevy Chase also appears in this film.

A drama-comedy based around a small time criminal who anonymously rescues people from a plane crash. When a reward is offered to find the hero, another man gets the credit and it goes from there.

A little bit different. And I thought it was alright. Saw it years ago, but stumbled across it recently and watched it through.

48 Hrs (1982) and Another 48 Hrs (1990)
Buddy cop film starring Nick Nolte and Eddie Murphy.

Some say it's the first ever Buddy-Cop film. It's one of those 80's comedies that hasn't aged too well. I'd never seen either film before. I guess the first one isn't too bad, but the second one was not very good. My Mrs hated the first one and refused to watch the second one, so I did that one solo.

Housesitter (1992)
Starring Steve Martin and Goldie Hawn.

A typical comedy of the time. I thought it was crap. It's based around a woman who consistently lies, and lies about everything. He's been dumped and tries to get his ex back and uses the lying woman in a plot to make it all work. And predictably they fall for each other.... even though they are a couple of complete liars.

Annie (2014)
Starring Jamie Foxx, Rose Byrne, Cameron Diaz and child-actor Quvenzhané Wallis as Annie.

Well I must say I never had this on my "to watch" list. The Mrs picked it. I remember the original from when I was a kid and wasn't overly fond of that, so I went in with low expectations.

It was probably better than I was expecting, but I doubt I'll go out of my way to watch it again. It's different from the original in many ways. There's no Punjab for starters. It's set in modern times as compared to the depression era of the original.

Rose Byrne is an absolute babe though.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 8:17 pm

Mate, the original 48 hours was an absolute ripper.

Loved Eddie Murphy's version of Roxanne on the Walkman. Laughing Laughing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaz8A9Bu-pA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2021 11:38 pm

Mate, the original 48 hours was an absolute ripper.

Loved Eddie Murphy's version of Roxanne on the Walkman. Laughing Laughing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaz8A9Bu-pA

yup!!

i love all of them!!
and i absolutely love house sitter, i watched it recently for the, i dont know, 50 millionth time!!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 9:40 am

Not sure if anyone here is into silent films, but I've been watching some Buster Keaton films with Ingmar lately! The latest one was what's considered to be his last great film, The Cameraman – Ingmar loved it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=set8aZUDvIs

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:54 am

48 hrs i liked, i just didnt think much of the second one.

And housesitter, I dunno... I just didnt like the lying all the time.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:59 am

48 hours contains some of Eddie Murphy's greatest moments. I don't recall the sequel, I don't think.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:13 pm

ROXANNNNE! Ilove Eddie!! Beverley hills cop!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 206, 207, 208 ... 237, 238, 239  Next
Page 207 of 239