Collingwood Six Footer: Definition Question

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 12:14 pm
Post subject: Collingwood Six Footer: Definition QuestionReply with quote

Anyone know the origin or exact meaning of this term?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:09 pm

A friend of mine asked:

"Is it because they used to say in the old days that when you pulled on the Collingwood jumper the smaller guys grew an extra couple of inches, or was it because they used to overstate their height and say they were 6-foot when they were smaller, or something else?"

jack_spain Aries

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:13 pm

The former I think mate. Should always be that way. That's why I get annoyed when some players who are closer to 200cms play like they were 180cms and weigh 20 kilos lighter. Wink

Last edited by jack_spain on Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
raymond35 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:50 pm

well hammer, or may i call you m c?, as greg stated Collingwood had a lot of good players who weren't really tall enough to be playing key positions, so in the footy record and media they would claim they were 6 foot when they were really 5 foot 10 or 11.

cant touch this.

mc.jpg

Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 3:49 pm

or 5' 9"
jack 

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 3:53 pm

I think in the old days the club would describe a shorter player as being 6 foot (which was considered "tall" then) to intimidate the opposition. Of course, on the ground it was obvious the player was not that tall, so opposition supporters would describe shorter players as being "a Collingwood 6-footer" as a joke.
As an aside, Nick Maxwell described himself in The Age as a "6 foot 4 back pocket player". Is he that tall?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:46 pm

Nick's listed at 193cm, which is exactly 6'4".

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:47 pm

I thought it started after a quip from the late Jack Dyer who claimed that the vertical stripes made a lot of our blokes look like '6 footers' when they weren't.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:53 pm

jack wrote:
I think in the old days the club would describe a shorter player as being 6 foot (which was considered "tall" then) to intimidate the opposition. Of course, on the ground it was obvious the player was not that tall, so opposition supporters would describe shorter players as being "a Collingwood 6-footer" as a joke.
As an aside, Nick Maxwell described himself in The Age as a "6 foot 4 back pocket player". Is he that tall?

I reckon so. Leon Davis is just under 6 foot and he looks small compared to everyone else. Couldn't believe he was taller than me when I was standing next to him.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 9:32 pm

raymond35 wrote:
well hammer, or may i call you m c?, as greg stated Collingwood had a lot of good players who weren't really tall enough to be playing key positions, so in the footy record and media they would claim they were 6 foot when they were really 5 foot 10 or 11.

cant touch this.

Raymond wins.

And MG, stop stealing my lines. Any adult male under 6 foot is a munchkin. Wink

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 9:41 pm

I wonder if the same applies for the Collingwood six incher?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:13 pm

magpie greg wrote:
You must be a real short-arse David! Laughing

lol, I guess so... about 5'10 or 5'11. Dunno how that equates in cm, probably high 170s? Still, both my parents are way shorter than I am Laughing