Post match. Pies beat Blues - all comments please

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Steve86 Virgo

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 4:25 pm

For those of you who are interested...these are stats for players on the field last night... shows how good we are going. Also at a glance hawks team that belted saints today has an average games played of 111 and age of nearly 26.

Screen Shot 2014-05-03 at 2.24.35 pm.png

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 4:33 pm

NyahWestPie wrote:
The 'Tackle and Steal' move by 3 of our players was magnificent. It aint often you see a bloke wrap up his opponent, then rip the ball from him and dispose it to a mate. The one Goldsack 'produced' at CHB was legendary. He's a ripper that Goldsack, plays multiple roles, stops, goals, sticks abrasive TACKLES and just does the team thing.

And the rest of the boys were farkin' great.

Go 'Pies!!!

NWP

Sad Pity our ex coach didn't select him for the 2011 GF, could have made one big difference! Mackey would not have had it that easy coming out of defense!

Love the sack one of the hardest in the game, hope he has a good run with injuries.

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 6:54 pm

Steve that just proves Carlton are rebuilding. Oh, wait. Ha ha ha ha ha ha !!!!

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 7:06 pm

Steve86 wrote:
For those of you who are interested...these are stats for players on the field last night... shows how good we are going. Also at a glance hawks team that belted saints today has an average games played of 111 and age of nearly 26.

So we're shorter, fatter & less experienced than Carlton.

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 7:15 pm

Definitely shorter. At one stage, when we had all of Thomas, Blair, Elliott and Kennedy out there, we would have been the shortest team in history.
Steve86 Virgo

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 7:31 pm

Steve86 wrote:

So we're shorter, fatter & less experienced than Carlton.

lol that 1cm.. Razz height doesn't matter when elliot can jump over anyone Razz

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 7:33 pm

Steve86 wrote:

great stats - goes with Buckley's comments last year about the number of top ten draft choices Carlton has compared to us - now add Daisy to that list and the new numbers on that would be interesting.

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 8:11 pm

When I was much much younger back in the days when most footy was played on a Saturday I used to always work out the average age, height, weight of our team compared to the oppositions.

I recall the average height used to hover around the 184cm mark so like society in general a generation later football sides are getting taller.

Still thankfully it ain't at the extremes like basketball and there's still a place for the 175cm midgets like me.

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 8:42 pm

We won comfortably, Daisy had a shocker, Malthouse was pissed off and Bucks was great in the post match interview. A back line full of kids.

What's not to like?

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 11:37 pm

Beast wrote:
Whoever came up with a saying a win is a win probably had this game in mind.
Langdon, Elliott, Beams and The Sack were great, Clokey and Blair improved, the rest were simply going through the motions.
Not as concerned about last 1/4 fadeout as I am about our lack of ruthless streak, especially against the scum that had a far weaker line up on the night than the one that lost to Melbourne....
So yeah, a win is a win.

You reckon Pendles was going through the motions? I must have been watching some other game.

matrix10 

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 7:49 am

We won comfortably, Daisy had a shocker, Malthouse was pissed off and Bucks was great in the post match interview. A back line full of kids.

What's not to like?

^exactly what he said.

Watching replay that last quarter was DISGUSTING!!

I don't care that we let scum kick a bunch of goals.

I do care about non-bias commenatry- and Bruce was as pathetic as Dale Thomas. He was consistently talking up Carlton players and putting down pies, calling for frees that werent there and at the end sooked as he abruptly ended the broadcast.

Also, Leigh matthews is now offically out of touch with the game- for such a hard man- he sure does find a lot of soft stuff to complain about.

Go PieS!!
buzzlightyear 

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 8:57 am

I understand the commentary regarding the last quarter but the level of angst about the last quarter is not comparable to the commentary about the first quarter of ANZAC day. We lost that by a greater margin than we did on Friday night.

In both games we dominated 3 qtrs and were dominated in one. This just reinforces that there reaction to the game is different depending on when you have your best quarters, even though the net result is unchanged.

Irrespective of the differences between our opponents in the last week, the ANZAC game is probably a more exciting result, but both games showed we were clearly better than our opponents.

Now to raise the bar against the other top 4 teams/contenders.

obleex 

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 9:51 am

Are there any links to Bucks' and Mick's press conference?

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 10:37 am

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2014-05-03/postmatch-blues

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/2014-05-03/enormous-growth-still-there
Beast 

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 4:44 pm

[quote="Neil Appleby"]
Beast wrote:
Whoever came up with a saying a win is a win probably had this game in mind.
Langdon, Elliott, Beams and The Sack were great, Clokey and Blair improved, the rest were simply going through the motions.
Not as concerned about last 1/4 fadeout as I am about our lack of ruthless streak, especially against the scum that had a far weaker line up on the night than the one that lost to Melbourne....
So yeah, a win is a win.

Neil Appleby wrote:
You reckon Pendles was going through the motions?

Have a bit of coin on him for Charlie but he was nowhere near the votes, his only motion in the second half was putting Daisy on the arse.
Neil Appleby wrote:
I must have been watching some other game.

Nothing new.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 7 of 9