Post Match. Pies rumble Roos - all comments please

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:14 pm

maggies2003 wrote:
Doc63 wrote:
maggies2003 wrote:
What the hell was Mick Malthouse thinking when he said North Melbourne would definately make the 8??

He must have been taking the piss out of them...

I dont think he actually said "top" eight, did he?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/mick-malthouse-says-roos-will-play-finals/story-e6frf9jf-1226089877519

Well, he's either taking the piss, or dementia is starting to set in.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:17 pm

^^Just a joke mate. Massive Sidey fan. I've had no issue with his form this year, as to me, he is always putting in the work.

He does seem to love the wet though.

The lad loves an occasion, I reckon. His 50th today.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:24 pm

I can understand Swan getting BOG if your only criteria is SC points or counting possies, but that was not Swan at his best today. He was better for sure, but he's coming from a fair way back. His niggles were definitely affecting his performances pre-Arizona. Many of Swanny's possessions were ineffective today; 54% in fact.
Pendles was back to his best and so were Daisy, Blair and Heater. Reid, Tarrant and Harry were great again too.
Swanny is on the way back.......hoping he gets there by R22 or so.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:45 pm

Chris Scott should sleep with one eye open tonight.

Brad is coming for him.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:49 pm

Swan was much less SC points than pendles. SC does mark heavily on efficiency.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:15 pm

Interesting we broke a record from 1937, the last time Collingwood went back to back Wink

As for the Mick talking up the Roos, lets not forget he talked up Hawthorn last week Laughing

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:15 pm

The good thing about Swan's game today was that he got to a lot more contests than he was earlier in the season. He just wasnt getting to as many stoppages. Now he is getting to them like he was last season & early this season.
Monco Matt Aries

Do it to THEM before THEY do it to YOU

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:23 pm

Well, that was a brutal annihilation. I think we all saw it coming, except for Brad Scott and the delusional North membership whom thought their team was improving...oh...and Boomer was also delusional thinking they can match it with the best.

We needed a 20 goal win I reckon. I wanted to see us terrorise and tear apart an inferior opposition, I was starting to bore of these 7, 8, 9 goal stock standard victories.

On another note, just want to give a massive wrap to Daisy who was BOG until he got subbed off. He was doing everything everywhere and really showcased the gap between excellence and averageness.

Oh yeh nearly forgot. I found out where North get their supporters from. In my row at the game today was full of collingwood supporters except for 2 North, one of which was wearing North colours, but was actually a Bummers fan supporting North for a friend....pathetic! Nice of him to do that but still.

Cuthbert Collingwood Aquarius

Once was on fire, now all at sea

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:24 pm

Haven't seen the game yet as I'm in London and it wasn't on ESPN Sad

just double checked swanny's stats. A fair proportion of his 132 supercoach points would have come from his 5 clearances, 2 goals and 2 assists. 39 possies at 46% is probably his worst in years - though the great thing about Swanny has always been about how he wills the ball forward, regardless of how immediately effective that happens to be.

Looks like Pendles had another superlative game too

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:27 pm

the ru is on fire wrote:
Haven't seen the game yet as I'm in London and it wasn't on ESPN Sad

just double checked swanny's stats. A fair proportion of his 132 supercoach points would have come from his 5 clearances, 2 goals and 2 assists. 39 possies at 46% is probably his worst in years - though the great thing about Swanny has always been about how he wills the ball forward, regardless of how immediately effective that happens to be.

Looks like Pendles had another superlative game too

Some of his disposals, in those conditions, were just a joy to watch.

Last edited by Doc63 on Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:27 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:27 pm

What a privilege to watch a game without having to be stressed about it at all. The best game the Pies had played all year. Even friends of mine who don't barrack for Collingwood are saying that this team is better than Geelong 2008 when it comes to their home-away performances.

From start to finish the intensity never faded and the boys played a style of football that only other sides could dream of playing. It was great to see Swan, Thomas and Pendles dish up their usual fantastic performances and it was great to see the likes of Blair, Sidey and even Brown get some form.

It's also fantastic to see that the youngsters such as Fasolo, Keefe and Rounds are getting the opportunity to prove themselves. Another 3 fine recruits from the great Derek Hine. We must sign that man ASAP.

It will be interesting in who will be dropped from this side. I think Johnson and Macaffer are ready to be in the side after another good performance on the weekend and J Mac even had a good game. Gee we have lots of depth despite what others say.

GO PIES!!!. Cannot wait to kill Carlscum Twisted Evil

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:56 pm

Just got home, very cold but very happy, FB and her merry clan are a riot to watch a game with in M32, enjoyed ourselves immensley in real old fashioned footy barracking and yelling and singing, took me back to Vic Park, grassy end, circa 1968-1990, great days amongst real footy characters. ! And 21 snags to 3, Norf are shite, Brayshaw has a big migrane now. !
Our Pies are unstoppable now, look out you Blues suckers, we are gunning for youse, and this time we will play four quarters, not one like last time. BE AFRAID BLUETURDS, BE VERY AFRAID. !!!!!!!!

Good to catch up with you again mate, you were looking fairly merry . Wink

Very Happy Nice to see you too again Stui, I think a few pre game nips of Chivas in the car did the "merry" trick- no i wasnt driving of course. ! Hope to see you next time mate, either Dons or Liions game for sure. Wink

mgbourne Aries

Mike

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:23 pm

I'll never get bored or tired of watching 100+ point wins, great effort from everyone, I wonder if boomer will slag himself on the radio this time?

eddiesmith wrote:

As for the Mick talking up the Roos, lets not forget he talked up Hawthorn last week Laughing

C'mon Mick, start talking crapton up now as a definite top 4 team!

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:56 pm

eddiesmith wrote:
Interesting we broke a record from 1937, the last time Collingwood went back to back Wink

We lost the GF in 37

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:58 pm

London Dave wrote:
eddiesmith wrote:

We lost the GF in 37

We went back to back in 35 and 36.

Still though, we broke a record against these losers. Cool

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Match All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Page 6 of 8