Pre-Match. Pies v. Giants.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 13, 14, 15  Next

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:43 am

The damning stat for the Giants is just how few shots on goal they have had this season. They really have struggled to keep the ball in their forward line.
Finlayson has fallen out of favour and Riccardi played his first practice game after coming back from injury. Hogan is still a fair way off, so I expect every Nicksters “ must watch “ player, Jake Riccardi, will be selected this week.
Greene is an obnoxious twat but he’s a serious jet. If he gets off the chain, he could beat us off his own boot. You don’t need to tag him, you don’t need to belt him, you just need to win the ball before he does.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:51 am

The problem for us is that they are still kicking accurately and we don't seem to be able to score much, so we're going to struggle to break them, even if we're on top.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:23 pm

^ ^ ^

I hear you, we are hardly prolific ourselves and that’s why I added Greene into the post. In the last two games he has kicked 7 of their 18 goals.
He’s just so damaging when he has control of the footy.
He has been playing more as a forward this year, so the injury to Coniglio may yet force them to use him further up the ground. They still have plenty of talent around the ball, so I’m not overly confident but at least we don’t have any Daniher / Hipwood / Cameron combinations to contend with this week.
Magpiefan3 Cancer

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 1:31 pm

GreekLunatic wrote:
if we dont win this match then we wont get a better chance to beat these guys. They are nearly playing their reserve side.,

Well we are due for a win we have not beaten GWS since the Semi Final of 2018.

GWS have won the last 3 matches against us.

2017-2019 Player Sponsor for Lynden Dunn
Rosolino_Leone 

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 2:03 pm

Magpietothemax wrote:
Thanks RL. just watched Finlay McCrae's highlights...fantastic. Exactly the kind of line breaking leg speed we could use right now. Fantastic ball handling skills in a pack as well. He is a really exciting prospect.
He was listed among the best against Richmond in the practice game. However, no mention in the "key takeaways" about his play. Perhaps they want him to get more VFL time before he makes his debut ?

I like it, your spot on MTTM. McGuane all over!

speaking of which did Mick McGuane have a nickname?

Rosolino_Leone 

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 2:04 pm

Sorry it was Think Better who made the comment about Macrae and McGuane

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:48 pm

I would like to see Macrae debut. I think he is the pick of the 2020 draftees.
Alex 

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:58 pm

I would like to see Macrae debut. I think he is the pick of the 2020 draftees.

I dont want to rush our young players, the club has a better view on it then we do. Remember what happened in Round 1? We all wanted Ollie Henry to debut, and he did, but he wasn't ready to. If he is ready to come in then I would like to see him play over players such as WHE, Thomas, Cal Brown, Mayne etc. Im hoping to see Kelly to come in if he is fit for Mayne (Concussion), and Ruscoe in for WHE. I wouldn't mind McCreery in for Thomas too, but losing that much experience for young players might not be the right decision just yet.

Ronnie McKeowns boots 

Ronnie Mckeowns boots

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 5:29 pm

shawthing wrote:
slangman wrote:
Expecting Mumford to make his usual “for one night only” appearance to give Grundy another bath.
If English is Grundy’s bunny, it’s fair to say that Grundy struggles massively with the physically aggressive Mumford.

It’s time that he turns the tables.

Mumford's retired!

I was gonna say...
Ronnie McKeowns boots 

Ronnie Mckeowns boots

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 5:33 pm

shawthing wrote:
slangman wrote:
Expecting Mumford to make his usual “for one night only” appearance to give Grundy another bath.
If English is Grundy’s bunny, it’s fair to say that Grundy struggles massively with the physically aggressive Mumford.

It’s time that he turns the tables.

Mumford's retired!

At least twice - but he's on their playing list on their web-site, for whatever that may be worth.

Really? That shocks me.... although he appears to be on the rookie list, according to this weeks footy record

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 7:22 pm

Out: Thomas, WHE
In: dunno but we have to make a statement

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 7:59 pm

Out: Thomas, WHE
In: dunno but we have to make a statement

Two fast, young swift, kids, look what the Swannies are doing, tearing the place apart with kids, we can learn from them, i reckon. Idea Surprised

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:36 pm

Yeah with you on this Piesnchess. We need pace, pace and more pace. Our running game with accurate passes can complete with the best, compared to our stop start boundary hugging short passing game. Still heaps of improvement left but we need to move the ball much quicker than at present.
burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:01 pm

In: McCreery, McCrae, Henry.
Out: WHE, Cal Brown, Thomas

Play some kids FFS.

Charlie Oneeye Scorpio

charlie oneeye

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:40 pm

burnsy17 wrote:
In: McCreery, McCrae, Henry.
Out: WHE, Cal Brown, Thomas

Play some kids FFS.

I'm in 2 minds

A. Thats exactly what I'd like to see.

B. Perhaps this newbie bunch would be better off in the ressies for a few more weeks.
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 5 of 15