Post Match. Pies down Sydney. All comments, please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10, 11, 12  Next

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:52 pm

I watched the great Peter Daicos & enjoyed all of his career
Now he was definitely a freakish goal kicker but another part was his build up to those goals
The ability to find space and keep the ball in front of him as he got ready to kick it

What we saw tonight was exactly the same from Josh

On the March 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:56 pm

Don't want to get too excited but THAT goal reminded me of this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdCertzm8t0 Very Happy

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:56 pm

masoncox wrote:
People need to watch Grundy performance tonite.
His attitude was completely different than the last few weeks.
He was absolutely determined.
Without him tonite we would have easily lost.

Spot on. He had his second efforts back tonight.
Played a bit angry too. Must have watched the Nic Nat tapes before the game.
On the March 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:57 pm

Grundy was excellent second half but Cox must play

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 8:59 pm

BazBoy wrote:
I watched the great Peter Daicos & enjoyed all of his career
Now he was definitely a freakish goal kicker but another part was his build up to those goals
The ability to find space and keep the ball in front of him as he got ready to kick it

What we saw tonight was exactly the same from Josh

Yeah, I noticed that too. And when he celebrated, he looked just like his father.

makri Capricorn

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:00 pm

Comparison with the old man:

https://twitter.com/conmakri/status/1291320971958263808

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:03 pm

Wasn't able to watch the match this evening, so I'm hoping to catch a replay soon.

Just read that Daicos kicked a brilliant winner and that IQ went down with a serious leg injury.

At least we won, even if it was a struggle.

Don't Bother watching the Replay. The Highlight Package be enough

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:03 pm

[quote="Raw Hammer"]
ThePieMind wrote:
WarrenerraW wrote:
Not many clubs like ours who go out of their way to try and screw it up quite like ours. We dominated every facet of the game and only just got over the line for a win. Coughed the ball up time and time again with overuse and poor decision making. Our kicking for goal is disgusting and there's far too many players going through the motions. Surely they're intelligent enough to know that Buckley's game plan (whatever that is) is garbage. I long for the day when one of them says f*** it we're taking the game on; time to play fast free flowing football. Instead we stop, prop, chip and turnover; or handball ourselves into a whirlwind of pressure. The swans had all the momentum in the last qtr and if it weren't for a moment of brilliance by Daicos, who knows what could've happened. If the injuries are as bad as what they looked then it's unlikely we'll see treloar, WHE or quaynor anytime soon. I'm done with 2020.[/quot

The brilliant Rich game plan only managed 4.10 against the Swans.

It was torrential rain and they were missing half their team.
Confused

WE had several out tonight to, like our bloody Captain, best backman, and best goal sneak, plus we lost guys during the game itself did we not ? Confused

alexjvillani Pisces

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:07 pm

Still think the Bulldogs game was our best by a street. Reminded me of the dominance in the PF 2018.

We had our full squad to throw at it and it payed off.

So hopeful when we get the full team together

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:07 pm

On the March wrote:
Grundy was excellent second half but Cox must play

Agree, at least Cox can give Grundy a spell in the ruck, hes a passable ruckman, and when he does get the pill, near goals, hes a pretty accurate kick, i reckon hes worth another shot. Sorry, but Camerons CV of one game in three yrs at Sydney, did not impress me, not like Roughead, who played many games for the Doggies.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:08 pm

Stinga wrote:

Let them play Bucks, let them play!!

I'm sorry, but the lack of flair and dare has nothing to do with Bucks not letting them play that way!!! Do you think he would've taken young Daics aside after the game and told him not to play on his natural instincts ever again???? Do you think he's instructing the players to handball to a team mate under pressure? To kick it at random into the forward line???

Sheesh... so few footy supporters have any understanding of the mental side of the game. As several posters here tonight have tried to point out, the player's confidence in themselves and their team mates was massacred by the bloody Eagles from the second quarter of that game!!! Like missing goals, a lack of confidence spreads through a team like wild-fire, hence playing ugly football.
The only way the boys can get their confidence and belief back to take risks is by winning games under adverse circumstances - like tonight.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:14 pm

It was a courageous victory from our team. Down two men for a long time, and then 3 men in the last frenetic minutes, it took grit and desperation to win that one.
But the injuries are catastrophic for us now.
Adz, WHE and looks like IQ is out for the rest of the season.
A team can't lose so much talent and expect to stay in contention.
Agree with those who are attributing our form slump to shattered confidence. This game will restore some belief, but I fear the injuries are denying us too much talent on the field.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:18 pm

The Boy Who Cried Wolf wrote:
we got the chocolates but we certainly dont deserve them...

Oh yes, we DO.

Gutsy win, with 1 left on the bench and the Swans looking for all the World like they'd beat us in a close finish.

The boys dug deep and Daics sealed it - emphatically. Very Happy

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:23 pm

CCFC Twitter: "NB on Quaynor: Isaac has split his shin, 6-8 inches… completely open".
So gone for a few weeks as long as it heals well and some chance of coming back before the end of the season.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:23 pm

Donny wrote:
The Boy Who Cried Wolf wrote:
we got the chocolates but we certainly dont deserve them...

Oh yes, we DO.

Gutsy win, with 1 left on the bench and the Swans looking for all the World like they'd beat us in a close finish.

The boys dug deep and Daics sealed it - emphatically. Very Happy

Yes,we certainly did deserve to win.Three men down,nine more scoring shots,17 more inside fifties.We really should have won by a lot more than we did.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Match All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 5 of 12