Trade Targets ~ Free Agency & MSD player movements

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 139, 140, 141 ... 148, 149, 150  Next

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 11:23 am

^ He's a good size and in the right age bracket - and Adelaide didn't get as much out of Frampton as McRae has, either.
Gerry Cooper 

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 12:01 pm

^ He's a good size and in the right age bracket - and Adelaide didn't get as much out of Frampton as McRae has, either.

Surely he will go to GWS to be with his brother won't he?

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 12:06 pm

^ Who knows? I don't have a crystal ball. He would fit a need for us. Whether he fits a need for GWS is a matter for them.

And, of course, whether he's dumb enough to want to live in Parramatta is a matter for him.

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 2:01 pm

Gerry Cooper wrote:
Surely he will go to GWS to be with his brother won't he?

Quite possibly.
I'm just thinking he's a much better option than Lobb. He fills a position we are in desperate need to fill and is far in front of Begg, Steene and quite possibly an ideal replacement for Cox. Are there any other KPF's that will be available? And as a UFA, it's ideal to get a guy without trade.

If he wants to play with Bro, then he's gone. But if he wants to play in a side where his career can really bloom, then its Collingwood.

Edit: Just realised he is a restricted free agent.

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 2:18 pm

Toby Murray is in the MSD, younger brother of Sam who we had but he had an unfortunate issue with the sniffles. Toby is a 200cm ruck forward and I think only 19. Anyone seen him?
Brynn Teakle, who trained with us preseason is also available. I thought he looked all right in the pre season training.
Arlo Draper who we tried to turn into a full back then delisted is playing FF for Carlton's VFL team.
Geelong Falcons Ruckman Joe Pike is another tall option
Other tall forwards in the mix include Noah Howes (South Adelaide), Jasper Scaife (West Perth) and Remy Maclean (Eastern Ranges).
From what I read, Scaife seems a prospect but may be going to Norf.

Anybody got any intel on any of these boys?

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 2:26 pm

Adelaide
Unrestricted: Ben Keays, Brodie Smith, Taylor Walker
Restricted: Elliott Himmelberg
Non-free agents: Sam Berry, Hugh Bond, James Borlase, Chris Burgess, Brayden Cook, Lachlan Gollant, William Hamill, Ned McHenry, Patrick Parnell, Lachlan Sholl

Brisbane
Unrestricted: Darragh Joyce, Ryan Lester, Dayne Zorko
Restricted: Jarrod Berry, Hugh McCluggage
Non-free agents: Noah Answerth, Shadeau Brain, Kalin Lane, Jarryd Lyons, James Madden, Lincoln McCarthy, Carter Michael, Jaxon Prior, Bruce Reville*

Carlton
Unrestricted: Matthew Cottrell, Sam Durdin
Restricted: David Cuningham, Caleb Marchbank
Non-free agents: Domanic Akuei, Jordan Boyd, Jack Carroll, Matt Carroll*, Alex Cincotta, Corey Durdin, Lachie Fogarty, Elijah Hollands, Jack Martin, Alex Mirkov, Rob Monahan, Hudson O'Keeffe, Matthew Owies

Collingwood
Unrestricted: Jack Bytel, Joshua Eyre, Oleg Markov, Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom
Restricted: Jeremy Howe, Will Hoskin-Elliott
Non-free agents: Aiden Begg, Josh Carmichael, Charlie Dean, Nathan Kreuger, Reef McInnes, Joe Richards, Oscar Steene, Lachie Sullivan*

Essendon
Unrestricted: Todd Goldstein, Dyson Heppell
Restricted: N/A
Non-free agents: Kaine Baldwin, Jye Caldwell, Nik Cox, Jayden Davey, Sam Durham, Matt Guelfi, Lewis Hayes, Nick Hind, Jaiden Hunter, Harrison Jones, Jake Kelly, Jye Menzie, Archie Perkins, Will Setterfield, Dylan Shiel, Jake Stringer, Vigo Visentini*, Tex Wanganeen, Sam Weideman

Fremantle
Unrestricted: Bailey Banfield, Ethan Hughes, Matt Taberner, Patrick Voss, Corey Wagner
Restricted: N/A
Non-free agents: Josh Corbett, Tom Emmett, Odin Jones*, Max Knobel, Sebit Kuek, Nathan O'Driscoll, Liam Reidy, Ethan Stanley, Sam Sturt, Conrad Williams

Geelong
Unrestricted: Mitch Duncan, Tom Hawkins, Jake Kolodjashnij, Gary Rohan, Rhys Stanley, Tyson Stengle,
Restricted: Patrick Dangerfield, Zach Guthrie, Jack Henry, Mark O'Connor, Brandan Parfitt, Zach Tuohy
Non-free agents: Jed Bews, Jack Bowes, Jhye Clark, Ted Clohesy, Phoenix Foster, Joe Furphy, Mitch Hardie, Oliver Henry, Emerson Jeka, James Willis

Gold Coast
Unrestricted: Levi Casboult, Sam Day, Nick Holman, Sean Lemmens, Jack Mahony, Alex Sexton,
Restricted: Ben Ainsworth, Darcy MacPherson
Non-free agents: Sandy Brock, Sam Clohesy, Alex Davies, Brandon Ellis, Oskar Faulkhead, Lloyd Johnston, Ben King, Ned Moyle, Hewego Oea, Will Rowlands*, James Tsitas, Bodhi Uwland

GWS
Unrestricted: Nick Haynes, Lachlan Keeffe, Adam Kennedy, Callan Ward
Restricted: Isaac Cumming, Harry Perryman
Non-free agents: Ryan Angwin, Josh Fahey, Cooper Hamilton, Jesse Hogan, Nick Madden, James Peatling, Braydon Preuss, Conor Stone

Hawthorn
Unrestricted: Luke Breust, Jack Gunston,
Restricted: Blake Hardwick, Harry Morrison, Conor Nash
Non-free agents: Joshua Bennetts, Sam Frost, Denver Grainger-Barras, Changkuoth Jiath, Lloyd Meek, Jack O'Sullivan, Ethan Phillips*, Jack Scrimshaw, Cooper Stephens, Clay Tucker, Chad Wingard

Melbourne
Unrestricted: Marty Hore, Lachie Hunter, Tom McDonalad, Jake Melksham
Restricted: Joel Smith
Non-free agents: Jed Adams, Ben Brown, Kynan Brown, Kyah Farris-White, Ed Langdon, Bailey Laurie, Andy Moniz-Wakefield, Josh Schache, Oliver Sestan, Adam Tomlinson, Daniel Turner, Will Verrall

North Melbourne
Unrestricted: Toby Pink, Liam Shiels
Restricted: Cameron Zurhaar
Non-free agents: Jackson Archer, Kallan Dawson, Blake Drury, Eddie Ford, Hamish Free, Brayden George, Hugh Greenwood, Robert Hansen, Cooper Harvey, Charlie Lazzaro, Finnbar Maley*, Will Phillips, Tom Powell, Bailey Scott, Tyler Sellers*

Port Adelaide
Unrestricted: Travis Boak, Quinton Narkle
Restricted: Charlie Dixon
Non-free agents: Francis Evans, Jeremy Finlayson, Hugh Jackson, Lachlan Jones, Kyle Marshall, Tom McCallum, Trent McKenzie, Jackson Mead, Thomas Scully, Ivan Soldo, Xavier Walsh*, Brandon Zerk-Thatcher

Richmond
Unrestricted: Noah Cumberland, Dylan Grimes, Dustin Martin, Kamdyn McIntosh, Sam Naismith
Restricted: Jack Graham, Toby Nankervis, Dion Prestia
Non-free agents: Liam Baker, Seth Campbell, Mate Colina, Matt Coulthard, Thomson Dow, Steely Green, Mykelti Lefau*, Rhyan Mansell, Ben Miller, Marlion Pickett, Hugo Ralphsmith, Maurice Rioli, Jack Ross, Samson Ryan, Kaleb Smith, James Trezise

St Kilda
Unrestricted: Riley Bonner, Tom Campbell, Tim Membrey, Sebastian Ross, Liam Stocker, Jimmy Webster
Restricted: Josh Battle
Non-free agents: Matthew Allison, Dan Butler, Ryan Byrnes, Jack Hayes, Max Heath, Olli Hotton, Dougal Howard, Zak Jones, Isaac Keeler, Angus McLennan, Ben Paton, Cooper Sharman, James Van Es, Mason Wood

Sydney
Unrestricted: Harry Cunningham, Joel Hamling, Sam Reid
Restricted: Robbie Fox, Will Hayward
Non-free agents: Harry Arnold, Jack Buller, Will Edwards, Aaron Francis, James Jordon, Jacob Konstanty, Jaiden Magor, Lachlan McAndrew, Logan McDonald, Caleb Mitchell, Cooper Vickery

West Coast
Unrestricted: Liam Duggan, Andrew Gaff, Jamaine Jones, Zane Trew, Elliot Yeo
Restricted: Josh Rotham
Non-free agents: Jordyn Baker, Harry Barnett, Tyler Brockman, Coby Burgiel, Jai Culley, Tyrell Dewar, Harry Edwards, Loch Rawlinson*, Jack Williams, Alex Witherden

Western Bulldogs
Unrestricted: Lachie Bramble, Jason Johannisen
Restricted: Tim English
Non-free agents: Dominic Bedendo, Jedd Busslinger, Charlie Clarke, Taylor Duryea, Harvey Gallagher, Riley Garcia, Alex Keath, Buku Khamis, Lachlan McNeil*, Bailey Smith, Rhylee West

LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2024 7:02 pm

^Freo's Sam Stuart is a 2024 NFA we should be casting our eye over. (2018 National Draft #17 - Dandenong Stingrays)
While completely unfounded, given Stuarts stunted career, might Freo look to secure Allan as a straight swap?
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-fremantle-dockers--sam-sturt

Cracking Draft profile (then again, when aren't they...) -
https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/sam-sturt/#:~:text=He%20recorded%20a%20blistering%202.966,the%20ball%20in%20multiple%20ways.

Pies2016, don't suppose you've come across him while he was in the junior ranks?

Last edited by LaurieHolden on Fri May 24, 2024 7:28 am; edited 1 time in total
LaurieHolden Aquarius

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 7:08 am

Chad Warner becomes a NFA at end of 2025. Every Club in the land will be contacting his agent.
Sydney will surely be coming up against some salary cap constraints through resigning their top tier (Heeney, Warner, Papley, Florent, Blakey, Gulden, Hayward, Parker, Mills), with pressure from other Clubs offering $1m contracts off the back of the new CBA Time to review their list.
Frightening if WCE lure Warner to back to W.A. and pair him up with Harley Reid for the next decade) or Fremantle.
WCE have a major Trump card when it comes to Draft negotiations, come and play with Harley Reid for the next decade. Shocked

Last edited by LaurieHolden on Fri May 24, 2024 8:31 am; edited 1 time in total
SLORT 

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 8:04 am

LaurieHolden wrote:

WCE have a major Trump card when it comes to Draft negotiations, come and play with Harley Reid for the next decade.

...who then ends up at Geelong because lifestyle / homesick / graft.

Agree with your Warner assessment, that would be a scary combo.

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 9:15 am

Toby Murray is in the MSD, younger brother of Sam who we had but he had an unfortunate issue with the sniffles. Toby is a 200cm ruck forward and I think only 19. Anyone seen him?
Brynn Teakle, who trained with us preseason is also available. I thought he looked all right in the pre season training.
Arlo Draper who we tried to turn into a full back then delisted is playing FF for Carlton's VFL team.
Other tall forwards in the mix include Noah Howes (South Adelaide), Jasper Scaife (West Perth) and Remy Maclean (Eastern Ranges).

Stui, I posted elsewhere about Pike and McLean both being 19 year olds, both playing as ruck / forwards and having had very good seasons to date. Collingwood seem to like giving 19 year old talls a chance outside of the main draft ( Begg, Steene ) and they do it on the basis of getting in early in their belief they would likely be selected in the next N D. If Collingwood think either of this two have plenty of upside, I wouldn’t surprise me if they choose one at the MSD ( assuming they haven’t gone already ) Pikes name has been thrown around a bit this year, while McLeans profile has been kept more in the background. Supposedly McLean is more a key forward, than ruck and a lot of that is because he has the reputation of being a very reliable kick at goal.

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 9:20 am

^And Begg and Steene are 21 and 20. WTF do you expect from tall blokes that age? Forget years on the list, they're babies as far as tall guys at AFL level go.

Don't shoot the messenger. They'll be judged on impact made and opportunity cost of what else is out there.

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 9:36 am

Draper at Carlton Reserves is simply incorrect. He is back at South Adelaide in the SANFL hoping to get re-drafted.

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 9:37 am

^ Who knows? I don't have a crystal ball. He would fit a need for us. Whether he fits a need for GWS is a matter for them.

And, of course, whether he's dumb enough to want to live in Parramatta is a matter for him.

GWS won’t have loads of cash to splash around on him
Being and playing with your brother is nice but the cost of living in Sydney costs a extra 10/15% so our offer would only have to match there’s to be appealing
He certainly fits our needs and is right age as mentioned
Would he be worth 4/5 years at around $650/$700k a season ?

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 9:41 am

LaurieHolden wrote:
^Freo's Sam Stuart is a 2024 NFA we should be casting our eye over. (2018 National Draft #17 - Dandenong Stingrays)
While completely unfounded, given Stuarts stunted career, might Freo look to secure Allan as a straight swap?
https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-fremantle-dockers--sam-sturt

Cracking Draft profile (then again, when aren't they...) -
https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/sam-sturt/#:~:text=He%20recorded%20a%20blistering%202.966,the%20ball%20in%20multiple%20ways.

Pies2016, don't suppose you've come across him while he was in the junior ranks?

Laurie, the only time I saw Sam Sturt ( not Stuart ) play as a junior was in the Stingrays premiership victory ( 2018 ) He was one of the best on the ground and I think that rocketed him up the draft order. As an aside, that game against the Chargers is still mainly remembered as the best game anyone has ever seen played by an U18 player in a losing team. That player - Matt Rowell. He virtually beat an entire team off his own efforts.
I’ve seen Sturt a number of times playing for Freo and he straight he strikes me as a player who relies on others to bring him into the game, rather than create his own opportunities. He’s got some tools but I’m not sure you look at him and say he would make us better.
When I look at the free agency list and you weigh it all up and look for what’s genuinely gettable, what doesn’t cost us and what makes us better, I’m a Josh Battle fan. Like Murphy, he punches above his weight every week, reads the game so well and gets a fair bit of the footy for a key defender. I reckon he would make us better and I also reckon we would make him better also.
That’s also why Deans promotion back to the seniors becomes important. If he looks like he’s up to the level, then obviously other areas of the ground could be prioritised over a key defender.
LaurieHolden Aquarius

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2024 9:49 am

^Appreciate the considered reply.
When I look at the free agency list and you weigh it all up and look for what’s genuinely gettable, what doesn’t cost us and what makes us better

As a side note and echoing your comments, I'm admiring how Sydney have gone about their list build. Their Round 1 picks have some real talent, but it's what they've done outside of this to compliment that group has to be equally applauded, whether it be via the draft or free agency.
Everyone seems to bemoan Geelong's ability to lure players in on lifestyle, but Sydney quietly goes about their business.

Round 1
Errol Gulden Drafted: Round 2, Pick #32 2020 National Draft by Sydney Swans Academy
Tom McCartin Drafted: Round 2, Pick #33 2017 National Draft by Sydney Swans
Chad Warner Drafted: Round 2, Pick #39 2019 National Draft by Sydney Swans
Luke Parker Drafted: Round 2, Pick #40 2010 National Draft by Sydney Swans
Tom Papley Drafted: Round 1, Pick #14 2015 Rookie Draft by Sydney Swans
Robbie Fox Drafted: Round 2, Pick #34 2016 Rookie Draft by Sydney Swans

Callum Mills Drafted: Round 1, Pick #3 2015 National Draft by Sydney Swans Academy
Logan McDonald Drafted: Round 1, Pick #4 2020 National Draft by Sydney Swans
Drafted: Round 1, Pick #5 2020 National Draft by Sydney Swans Academy
Nick Blakey Drafted: Round 1, Pick #10 2018 National Draft by Sydney Swans Academy
Oliver Florent Drafted: Round 1, Pick #11 2016 National Draft by Sydney Swans
Isaac Heeney Drafted: Round 1, Pick #18 2014 National Draft by Sydney Swans Academy
Will Hayward Drafted: Round 1, Pick #21 2016 National Draft by Sydney Swans

(if this spirals into a Sydney discussion I'll move it to other AFL)

Last edited by LaurieHolden on Fri May 24, 2024 10:48 am; edited 1 time in total

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 139, 140, 141 ... 148, 149, 150  Next
Page 140 of 150