'Pies in the All-Australian Squad

23 YIPPEE!!! 

YIPPEE 23!!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2023 9:35 pm

Moore not picked as either captain or even vice stinks
Instead we have flog in green captain
This stinks
Green has no leadership qualities at all

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2023 11:13 pm

Well done to Daicos x 2 + Moore.

Highlights:

https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/1419924/darcys-year-to-remember-all-australian-highlights

https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/1419928/nicks-first-blazer-all-australian-highlights

https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/1419926/joshs-all-australian-honour-all-australian-highlights

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 4:31 am

90 nice wrote:
This stinks

That's bizarre. No one with the slightest clue about leadership would select Greene over Moore as captain, whatever Greene's role at his club. That's not to insult Greene's ability, but captaincy is a very different matter to footballing talent. That would be like choosing Peter Daicos over Tony Shaw or Dids over Pendles. It's a very particular role.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 6:26 am

pietillidie wrote:
90 nice wrote:
This stinks

That's bizarre. No one with the slightest clue about leadership would select Greene over Moore as captain, whatever Greene's role at his club. That's not to insult Greene's ability, but captaincy is a very different matter to footballing talent. That would be like choosing Peter Daicos over Tony Shaw or Dids over Pendles. It's a very particular role.

Peculiar thing to say given Greene is GWS's Captain. I actually thought he was going to be awarded the AA Captain. No disrespect to Moore, but Greene has had a sensational year this year.

Clifton Hill-Billy 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 7:08 am

De Goey not making the final 22 stinks more than Greene as captain
LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 10:39 am

Clifton Hill-Billy wrote:
De Goey not making the final 22 stinks more than Greene as captain

Objectively though, the gap JDG left between round 12 and 17 effectively ruled him out.

Greene has played sublime footy this year and been a great leader. I'd take him in a heartbeat.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 10:44 am

I actually like Toby, one of my favourite players to watch.
Should have been VC to Darcy.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 11:14 am

I can accept that Greene might have had a better year than Moore, but is he a better captain? As Joe Biden might say, "c'mon, man".

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 12:32 pm

I can accept that Greene might have had a better year than Moore, but is he a better captain? As Joe Biden might say, "c'mon, man".

Well if you judge a captain based on winning a game off your own boot, then Greene has Darcy well covered.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 12:46 pm

Greene is a better match day captain imo.

Moore, is a better captain, in terms of representing the club thru the media.

If Greene was at Collingwood, I'd be rapt to have him as captain.
lazzadesilva Virgo

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 12:49 pm

Care factor for captain of.a fictitious team? None.
Care factor about recognising players for a fabulous season? Heaps!

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 1:28 pm

Tru dat Lazza.
Harrysz 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 1:55 pm

David - "c'mon man" is Barack Obama, not Joe Biden.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 2:06 pm

Greene is a better match day captain imo.

Moore, is a better captain, in terms of representing the club thru the media.

If Greene was at Collingwood, I'd be rapt to have him as captain.

Yep, you have clearly delineated their different, respective captaincy qualities and I agree entirely Smile
Clifton Hill-Billy 

PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2023 2:10 pm

DP

Last edited by Clifton Hill-Billy on Thu Aug 31, 2023 4:03 pm; edited 8 times in total