Where are we at?

BHPIE 

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:39 pm

We r back where we were in 15 , 16 ,17

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:45 pm

BHPIE wrote:

And 2014 was another W8/L3 at the turn, until another charge into oblivion

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:47 pm

BHPIE wrote:

The June swoon

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:59 pm

If we managed to get a team on the park then maybe we could do something. But listening to a few panic merchants here you’d be confused into thinking we should just pack it in and start again. So explain to why we should delist Murphy who hasn’t played a game all year and the two Irishmen who are having their first go at Aussie rules. We do have a few aging players who are retiring at the end of the season and a couple won’t be getting contracts for next year. Fortunately the club won’t be panicking and making rushed decisions like some of the supporters want to see.
shawthing Virgo

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:05 pm

MatthewBoydFanClub wrote:
Fortunately the club won’t be panicking and making rushed decisions like some of the supporters want to see.

Mate their decisions over the past 8 years hasn't really given us more reason for confidence. It's not like we'll turn into the next Hawthorn any time soon.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:07 pm

MatthewBoydFanClub wrote:
If we managed to get a team on the park then maybe we could do something. But listening to a few panic merchants here you’d be confused into thinking we should just pack it in and start again. So explain to why we should delist Murphy who hasn’t played a game all year and the two Irishmen who are having their first go at Aussie rules. We do have a few aging players who are retiring at the end of the season and a couple won’t be getting contracts for next year. Fortunately the club won’t be panicking and making rushed decisions like some of the supporters want to see.

Yeah I feel the same. I expected a loss tonight, we just don't have the players on the park. Compare our first half of the season when we had most of our players available and on the park. We were winning. Injuries, suspensions (and Beams) has bitten deep and we haven't been able to right the ship. It's a fact, not an excuse.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:08 pm

BHPIE wrote:

The June swoon

Didn't we have Cloke's contract and a couple of scandals that year? It all feels so familiar!
Monco Matt Aries

Do it to THEM before THEY do it to YOU

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:13 pm

I really wish we had a team that was fast. A team that could break lines and actually run away from opponents. A team that when someone kicks the footy way out onto the wing and two players are chasing, one from each team that our player would actually win the race. This is my dream.

Kill for Collingwood 

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:18 pm

30% down on our best 22.
Kill for Collingwood 

30% down on our best 22.
Kill for Collingwood 

30% down on our best 22.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:54 pm
Post subject: Re: Who should never play another game!Reply with quote

masoncox wrote:

We have a massive massive problem in the midfield.
And Sidey is part of that problem
Move him forward or back ....but in the mid field he is a liability

You've got it right with this I reckon masoncox.
Why not have Sidey spend more time in the forward line and JDG more in the middle? Jordan is far more effectual in the middle and seems to be getting better match fitness. I know Sidey doesn't haven't the brute force and speed of JDG in the forward line, but he surely has the smarts after all these years.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:01 am

Monco Matt wrote:
I really wish we had a team that was fast. A team that could break lines and actually run away from opponents. A team that when someone kicks the footy way out onto the wing and two players are chasing, one from each team that our player would actually win the race. This is my dream.

"To dream, the impossible Dream...". Laughing Laughing

You're right though I reckon. Don't know where we could get such pace from atm. Treloar may give us a bit of pace if we could get him out of centre bounces and running more on the outside. But then, he needs to be more effective with his kicks.
Sigh.... we're a completely unsychronized team between the arcs.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:05 am

I don't think we need to undergo a major rebuild to be a strong side in the near future. We went through a major rebuild from 2012-2016, so most of the players we drafted from those years should be the cornerstone of our team now and I don't think we need to go through that again this soon.

Though, I do believe some tough decisions need to be made with respect to some of the older players. We cannot be afraid to make some tough but necessary calls for the betterment of the club.

The following players positions at the club are under threat:
- Daniel Wells (34 years old - final year of contract)
- Jamie Elliott (27 years old - haven't got enough out of him this year, and how long can we keep persisting with him?)
- Tyson Goldsack (32 years old - great servant but he's fallen out of favour with the selection committee).
- Lynden Dunn (32 years old - two knee reconstructions, but does provide leadership)
- Travis Varcoe (31 years old - too slow for the modern game)
- Ben Reid (30 years old - great servant, but too injury prone)
- Josh Daicos (20 years old - third season and hasn't progressed much this year).
- Rupert Wills (26 years old - fourth year player and not a regular)
- Ben Crocker (22 years old - has a go, but he's not AFL standard)
- Tim Broomhead (25 years old - lucky to still be on an AFL list)

I'm sure there are others I've forgotten, but some big calls need to be made. A major rebuild isn't essential, but replenishing the list and the injection of younger players in the mould of 23-26 year olds to lower our age profile is necessary.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:12 am

We are a Joke

Page 2 of 7