Friday scratch match versus the demented - in pictures

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:21 pm

Thanks for the pics TP. Highlight for me was the Two F18's and C7 flying over.
it was pretty exciting! and no worries!! Wink

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:23 pm

TaylorMade wrote:
Did you change the colour of the Duck's eye aswell. Or is it originally Red?

As well as?? This is pretty much straight out of camera, I tend to shoot under exposed, so i slightly adjusted the exposure and luminosity to how the pic looked to me when i took it!

thats not to say i dont photoshop photos, you bet i do, i figure the camera adds 10 lbs so i take it off (if i like you) with a little GST! But i aint got the time or inclination to photoshop a duck at all, let alone its eye colour! so short answer, yes the ducks eye is red!

Is the water really pink or are you messing with my mind?

its pink!!
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-02-21/why-does-this-melbourne-lake-turn-pink/10833186

sorry i thought you were having a crack at me! but FYI if i photoshopped something like this, id turn the sky pink like a sunset!! thats more believable!!

The pink and blue in my pic are nice and bright because i had a circular polarizer on my lens, which is like a pair of sunglasses, and i had the dark part dialled to the top to stop the bright sun glare. if you take shots in bright sunlight at midday without a polarizer the sky blows out to pale blue/white, its basically like wearing a pair of polarizing sunglasses. cheers

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:28 pm

Thanks TP. Great photos although the pink algae is disturbing.

is all algea bad though? at least the water is oxygenated enough to be alive! not green and cacky, or grey like the yarra!! i wouldnt swim in it though. come to think of it there were no warning signs saying its a problem!

and thankyou, cheers

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:30 pm

It looks like a female chestnut teal. Their eyes are that colour naturally although they may have been reddened up a bit by reflection off the pink water.

http://www.gma.vic.gov.au/hunting/duck/duck-species

Nice Pics Jo, has Billy lodged the anti stalking AVO yet? Razz Wink

hehehe!! it was for medicinal observation only, promise!!

( junoir was working so i couldnt try to marry them off, damn it!! hey think of the finals tickets!)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:31 pm

Fabulous photos TP. Much appreciated.

cheers Rudeboy, thankyou Cool Wink

TaylorMade 

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:27 pm

TaylorMade wrote:
Did you change the colour of the Duck's eye aswell. Or is it originally Red?

As well as?? This is pretty much straight out of camera, I tend to shoot under exposed, so i slightly adjusted the exposure and luminosity to how the pic looked to me when i took it!

thats not to say i dont photoshop photos, you bet i do, i figure the camera adds 10 lbs so i take it off (if i like you) with a little GST! But i aint got the time or inclination to photoshop a duck at all, let alone its eye colour! so short answer, yes the ducks eye is red!

Is the water really pink or are you messing with my mind?

its pink!!
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-02-21/why-does-this-melbourne-lake-turn-pink/10833186

sorry i thought you were having a crack at me! but FYI if i photoshopped something like this, id turn the sky pink like a sunset!! thats more believable!!

The pink and blue in my pic are nice and bright because i had a circular polarizer on my lens, which is like a pair of sunglasses, and i had the dark part dialled to the top to stop the bright sun glare. if you take shots in bright sunlight at midday without a polarizer the sky blows out to pale blue/white, its basically like wearing a pair of polarizing sunglasses. cheers

Lol wow cool, thanks for info and pics

winpies Scorpio

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 11:10 pm

Thanks for the pics TP, they are great. Very well done indeed.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:18 pm

Great pics TP. I've had the 70-200mm 2.8L for years & it's a go to lens for anything sport related for me. I also have the 1.4 x teleconverter if I need any extra range with this lens.

https://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au/canon-14x-iii-extender-lens
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:36 pm

Thanks, TP, good pics, especially that first one.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:41 pm

You really do take spectacular pictures. You should consider making this more than a hobby (assuming that i am correct on that assumption). You capture the spirit of the contest so well. Age/Sun/magazines would do well to get you working for them.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:53 pm

winpies wrote:
Thanks for the pics TP, they are great. Very well done indeed.

Thankyou so much, cheers xx

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:55 pm

woftam wrote:
Great pics TP. I've had the 70-200mm 2.8L for years & it's a go to lens for anything sport related for me. I also have the 1.4 x teleconverter if I need any extra range with this lens.

https://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au/canon-14x-iii-extender-lens

OMG I’m in love with it! I was wondering if the extenders were any good! Thanks for the info, you know I want one now! Cheers

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:55 pm

Woods wrote:
Thanks, TP, good pics, especially that first one.

Thanks Woods, I was really chuffed with that one too! Cheers

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:00 pm

You really do take spectacular pictures. You should consider making this more than a hobby (assuming that i am correct on that assumption). You capture the spirit of the contest so well. Age/Sun/magazines would do well to get you working for them.

Cheers mate, Thankyou, high praise indeed. I am thinking of entering some competitions soon, and lve had a few offers of paid work, but then that’s what it is, work! I just love it! It gives me so much pleasure, if I shoot for an hour or two and get one great shot I’m happy! I just finished sorting and editing 400 pelican shots I took in just one hour recently, it was hard to cull because most were so sharp! And I love pelicans! It just really made me happy! Thanks again. Xx

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:18 pm
Post subject: Re: Friday scratch match versus the demented - in picturesReply with quote

This (the left 40%) I think is the best footy shot.

On paid work, TP, if you want to work without working, mightn't freelancing be a good option?