Pre Match. Pies v. Port. All comments please.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 3:54 pm

Buckley said a few weeks ago that Port like to just hack the ball forward and trust their players to win the contest. Brutal but effective.

So Collingwood will need players like Varcoe who can get to the contest quickly, and players like Greenwood who might not be first on the scene but can hurt when he arrives with a crunch.

And all the others that play had better be prepared for an aggressive game. This will not be won by cream puffs not going in hard and not sticking tackles.

I reckon Taylor Adams will love it.

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 4:00 pm

And don’t think this game will be the only aggressive mate —we have a season of them stretching from here to the end of September

My suggestion is we treat every game as a threat to life and limb

Hit first hit hardest

LaurieHolden Aquarius

Floreat Gymnorhina tyrannica

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:10 pm

Key match-up's
Thankfully R Gray out.
Aish back in to take on Rozee. Brown as back-up. Rough onto Paddy.
Interesting to see if the athletic Hoff lines up on the wing again. Might upset our structures if Moore is forced to play up on the wing. Still, it's the position I've wanted to see Moore play for 2 years. I'm thinking 'Richo Man' mk2. In any event we need to explore the versatility he can bring to the team and the wing is where he may well be able to exploit his natural ability and height to,our advantage. He can also give Grundy a chop out in the ruck.

In : Reid, Elliott, Aish
Out : Cox, Varcoe, Thomas

B: Langdon, Roughead, Aish
HB: Crisp, Howe, Maynard

C: Moore, Pendlebury, Sidebottom
R: Grundy, Adams, JDG

HF: Stephenson, Reid, Beams
F: WHE, Mihocek, Elliott

Int: Treloar, Brown, Greenwood, Phillips

Last edited by LaurieHolden on Fri May 03, 2019 9:04 am; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:24 pm

Reid and Elliot in
Greenwood and Varcoe out

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:25 pm

Sorry I’m an idiot

Cox and Varcoe out

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:40 pm

Pretty sensible changes

I agree with LaurieHolden - Westhoff is unique sort of player, very much the barometer of the Power I reckon, when he fires they play well, when he flops the tend to lose.

Not sure of Moore should go to a wing to mark him though. Not sure who else would get him.

eureka 

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:41 pm

Both greenwood and JT very lucky

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:48 pm

The scenario facing Varcoe reminds me a lot of the situation that faced the likes of Lockyer and O'Bree in 2010.

Brown has played 50 odd games less than Thomas and is vastly less experienced than Varcoe but his game against Essendon was better if still flawed than those two.

He just won the ball for the side in more difficult situations IMO and was more consistent across the 4 quarters.

Thomas was poor last week and needs to lift his defensive work rate but he's still managed 7 goals for the season to Varcoe's 1 and on the back of his 2018 season pips him for a place in team.

Rd10.1998_11.1#36 

rd10.1998_11.1#36

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 6:51 pm

Teams have been announced https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/season/team-announcement

IN: Elliot, Reid

OUT: Cox (inj), Varcoe (omit)

Emergencies: Travis Varcoe, Isaac Quaynor Rupert Wills and Max Lynch

Last edited by Rd10.1998_11.1#36 on Thu May 02, 2019 7:34 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 7:16 pm

Play this Quanor kid. or Daicos. Magpies by 26 easy.

Crazypie 

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 8:05 pm

think better wrote:
Pretty sensible changes

I agree with LaurieHolden - Westhoff is unique sort of player, very much the barometer of the Power I reckon, when he fires they play well, when he flops the tend to lose.

Not sure of Moore should go to a wing to mark him though. Not sure who else would get him.

Mayne would of been perfect...

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 8:11 pm

They have to stop us. And they won't.

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 8:54 pm

Play this Quanor kid. or Daicos. Magpies by 26 easy.

Do you make this stuff up? Daicos barely touched the ball last week and watching him play was, frankly, depressing. Quaynor will be a footballer but he is a long way off playing senior footy.

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 9:09 pm

Think they got team right 👍

Daics doesn’t appear to have progressed as well as Cal Brown but there’s still
time

They have given Brown some continuity of play —he will be an asset wth more games

Benny has put a good VFL effort so its worth him getting a crack

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2019 10:03 pm

I agree with the selections. I posted initially that i would have replaced Levi with Jamie, but I think that replacing Travis Varcoe instead was the right call. JT has alot of upside and can kick goals. Also agree that we need Greenwood's physicality and hardness. I am very happy with Ben Reid in for Mason. Ben is a great footballer, and his talents and experience are still there.
Does Darcy follow Westhoff to the wing? Not sure, but he faced a similar kind of situation with Daniher last week. Last week, Darcy was at times brilliant, but overall I think Daniher beat him (kicked 4 goals on him). So hopefully Darcy will draw the lessons from this game ( I think Westhoff is similar to Daniher in many ways). Given Mihocek's incredible versatility and workrate, he could perhaps at times go to Westhoff if Westhoff goes up to the wing.
I like our team. The Essendon game has been great preparation for this game.
The fact that this game is at Etihad (I refuse to say "Marvel") is another variable of unknown impact. Not sure how the smaller dimensions of the ground will impact the factor of speed vs our efforts to control ball movement. It will be essential for us to bring our capacity for huge tackling pressure to this game.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 10 of 12