Evaluating the trade period: how did we go?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:52 pm

5 from the wing on debut wrote:
September Zeros wrote:
melliot wrote:
Meh.

I think it was average at best. But probably lower than I hoped. If Cloke = 76. Then most our remaining list = an average pick 60. Which is a blight on our list management team.

I think our list management stratagy is lost.

I think our list has gone backwards in 2017. I think we'll be around the 8 wins again. Only hope will be that injuries are significantly reduced and some of our existing low pick blossom.

But Hine our list manager is a genius.
I have read that for years and years and years.

Tbh I havn't read it anywhere except in your posts.

I give the trade period a pass at 6.5 - 7 / 10

We came to the table with very little to play with and came out ever so slightly ahead.

A win is a win even if it won't turn us into a premiership team it's a step in the right direction.

Some of you guys really need to find some happiness in life.

Don't worry about us SZ
I am a seasoned campaigner.
I can handle the swings and roundabouts.
I just finished a marvellous article on fishing that will be published soon.
Nix is just a side show to me.

Is it about trolling ?

No I am a bait fisherman.
Plenty of trout on here to play.
I will keep you in mind next time I post after one of your comments.

5 from the wing on debut 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:12 pm

5 from the wing on debut wrote:
September Zeros wrote:
melliot wrote:
Meh.

I think it was average at best. But probably lower than I hoped. If Cloke = 76. Then most our remaining list = an average pick 60. Which is a blight on our list management team.

I think our list management stratagy is lost.

I think our list has gone backwards in 2017. I think we'll be around the 8 wins again. Only hope will be that injuries are significantly reduced and some of our existing low pick blossom.

But Hine our list manager is a genius.
I have read that for years and years and years.

Tbh I havn't read it anywhere except in your posts.

I give the trade period a pass at 6.5 - 7 / 10

We came to the table with very little to play with and came out ever so slightly ahead.

A win is a win even if it won't turn us into a premiership team it's a step in the right direction.

Some of you guys really need to find some happiness in life.

Don't worry about us SZ
I am a seasoned campaigner.
I can handle the swings and roundabouts.
I just finished a marvellous article on fishing that will be published soon.
Nix is just a side show to me.

Is it about trolling ?

No I am a bait fisherman.
Plenty of trout on here to play.
I will keep you in mind next time I post after one of your comments.

You just took my bait.
And hook, line and sinker.

Are you any good at it?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:26 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.
Fishing is the biggest participation sport in Australia.
It is a wonderful occupation.
I love trout fishing in the mountains and whiting fishing in the sea.
I actually love fishing a lot more than football.
When I retire I am going fishing everyday and I will post on Nix a little more.
Now that will horrify a few posters on here.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:53 pm

The Club managed to do all the deals it wanted to do. It moved on the players it wanted to move on and brought in each of the players it had seriously targeted. The team working on those transactions has done another professional job and should be congratulated.

Great post.

But were they on the right track! I guess only time will tell!

Meanwhile my hubby is telling me all about the radio talkback shows, blah blah blah we got £$%$ed over chose badly and now bucks has eight not ten to prove himself! Which has me yelling back next time your $£$%^%%$ team, and I use the your lighly, is on its knees hopefully my team is smart enough to let you $£$%^%%$ die. You £$%$ed us on Moore, and your still collecting the equalisation fund paid by us, did you thank us for your $£$%^%%$ premiership?

It's my team, leave the bagging to me! And right now I really have no idea how I feel about that team, the coach, our chances! I'm pinning the positive thoughts on the effort in the Bulldogs/ Hawks games, and the knowledge that even the AFL acknowledge the umps are giving them more than a fair run. Strangely that gives me a peace I've never got re the Harmes thing!

It's going to be a long long long preseason, worse than waiting to find out who Negan swings the barbed wire bat at.

Who is Negan?

Not sure he's a good captain but he'd be a handy defender
https://youtu.be/4iefc8865Dg

Very dark that one TP.
Wished he jumped the fence and used his barb wire bat when Harmes came over the boundary line.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:09 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

Really?

I am surprised you're not hitting up the fishing forums a little more and complaining about what you caught here:

https://landangler.net/tag/fishing-at-buckleys-hole/

what you ate here:

https://www.facebook.com/HinesCornerCafe/

and where you stayed :

http://www.theblair.co.uk/

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:28 pm

September Zeros wrote:
Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

Really?

I am surprised you're not hitting up the fishing forums a little more and complaining about what you caught here:

https://landangler.net/tag/fishing-at-buckleys-hole/

what you ate here:

https://www.facebook.com/HinesCornerCafe/

and where you stayed :

http://www.theblair.co.uk/

Wow, so funny.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:06 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

OH goodie, can hardly wait with bated breath, maybe I should the buy a half size beer glass, with Glass Half Empty emblazoned on it. Razz

5 from the wing on debut 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:14 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

OH goodie, can hardly wait with bated breath, maybe I should the buy a half size beer glass, with Glass Half Empty emblazoned on it. Razz

I was waiting for someone to make a master baiter joke.
Boogie Knights 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:15 pm

I reckon some of the trolling that goes on here is pretty funny... some people just love a good debate... some like to debate with a large(ish) group of people, en masse if you will... personally, I just think they're mass debating...

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:31 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

Go on the comedy circuit.
I'm sure a big contingent of Nixsters would follow you.
Me ...I will be going fishing.

matrix10 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:41 pm

IN
Mayne- paid overs and gave too long
Wells- 2 years would've been preferred- 3 makes it a loss (be very happy to be proven wrong)
Dunn- no worse than Brown
WHE- good deal

OUT
Marley- sad but had to boot him
Brown- Dunn nullifies loss
Witts- we lost here
Frost- even

so in my estimations we've ended up about even.
All dependent on Wells body holding up- 15 games a year would make it a win and Mayne playing 4 years of football deserving of his wage.

WHE getting fit and firing could make this trade period exceptional

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:57 pm

The Club managed to do all the deals it wanted to do. It moved on the players it wanted to move on and brought in each of the players it had seriously targeted. The team working on those transactions has done another professional job and should be congratulated.

Great post.

But were they on the right track! I guess only time will tell!

Meanwhile my hubby is telling me all about the radio talkback shows, blah blah blah we got £$%$ed over chose badly and now bucks has eight not ten to prove himself! Which has me yelling back next time your $£$%^%%$ team, and I use the your lighly, is on its knees hopefully my team is smart enough to let you $£$%^%%$ die. You £$%$ed us on Moore, and your still collecting the equalisation fund paid by us, did you thank us for your $£$%^%%$ premiership?

It's my team, leave the bagging to me! And right now I really have no idea how I feel about that team, the coach, our chances! I'm pinning the positive thoughts on the effort in the Bulldogs/ Hawks games, and the knowledge that even the AFL acknowledge the umps are giving them more than a fair run. Strangely that gives me a peace I've never got re the Harmes thing!

It's going to be a long long long preseason, worse than waiting to find out who Negan swings the barbed wire bat at.

Who is Negan?

Not sure he's a good captain but he'd be a handy defender
https://youtu.be/4iefc8865Dg

Very dark that one TP.
Wished he jumped the fence and used his barb wire bat when Harmes came over the boundary line.

Hehe you should see 'his fishing method!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:44 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

A quick wit in the face of adversity and gloom always helps buddy, as for fishing, yeh, ive done a fair bit of it, does get a trifle boring if they aint biting though, then I start raiding the esky a bit too much, get distracted, I concede it can be relaxing though, if that's how you roll.

Cool

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:51 pm

Am I any good at it?
I am not too bad.

A quick wit in the face of adversity and gloom always helps buddy, as for fishing, yeh, ive done a fair bit of it, does get a trifle boring if they aint biting though, then I start raiding the esky a bit too much, get distracted, I concede it can be relaxing though, if that's how you roll.

Cool

Yes the old esky issue.
You look at it and it stares back at you.
There is always that whisper ...drink me ...just drink me!
That reminds me of the good old days.
Where my mates got in early to the Grand final match.
So they could set up their eskies and bbq in the standing area.
They still talk about how the crowd almost wept when the smell
of cooked snags, steak and onions drifted over them.
All washed down with an endless supply of cheap beer.
From the eskies!
Those were the days!

MJ23 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:57 pm

matrix10 wrote:
IN
Mayne- paid overs and gave too long
Wells- 2 years would've been preferred- 3 makes it a loss (be very happy to be proven wrong)
Dunn- no worse than Brown
WHE- good deal

OUT
Marley- sad but had to boot him
Brown- Dunn nullifies loss
Witts- we lost here
Frost- even

so in my estimations we've ended up about even.
All dependent on Wells body holding up- 15 games a year would make it a win and Mayne playing 4 years of football deserving of his wage.

WHE getting fit and firing could make this trade period exceptional

I don't see the overs for Mayne or Wells in dollars or length of deal. We'd have a bit in the cap available this year with Cloke and Swan off the list, I suspect we will front end both so they are not costing much in their final year/years.

This means only a spot on the list that if their form didn't warrant a senior game they'd at least provide leadership and coaching.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 10 of 12